Skip to content

Next Gen TV: Netflix’s Daredevil

February 4, 2015

Generally speaking, I am thoroughly enjoying the private network TV shows. Even Amazon has released some pilots that I would be very interesting in seeing developed into full blown series. I am also enjoying the flood of comic-based shows including Agents of Shield, and more so, the DC stuff like Arrow, The Flash, and Gotham. I do not say that it is good TV, as in high quality, because it isn’t. Some of the writing and acting is utterly laughable. One thing that surprised me, however, was my internal reaction to the non-revenge based story-telling in Arrow season two. After some great flicks in a very tired genre, I am satiated when it comes to “revenge”. I don’t need it any more. I feel like Jack Slater (Arnie’s character) from Last Action Hero, how much garbage (i.e., torture and unjust family killing) must the character go through so that he or she can be justified in bringing the pain. I don’t mean for this to sound prudish. As I mentioned earlier, I have loved many a good revenge flick. However, I cannot deny my surprise when I found it refreshing that Oliver Queen wasn’t going to kill any more. There is enough killing justified and even necessary in the real world. Do I really want to spend all my free time reven-gasming? Anyway, I was really looking forward to the power that Netflix might bring to the Daredevil series, but after watching the trailer, it just looks like it is going to be some 10 hour Man On Fire but with a much lesser actor than Denzel. Then again, maybe that is all there is to the Marvel character. I thought there was more. Here are some impressions from around the web.

6 Comments
  1. February 5, 2015 10:35 am

    I thought it looked surprisingly good. Also on Netflix (in just a few weeks) SEASON 3 of House of Cards!!!!

  2. February 5, 2015 3:43 pm

    It does look good for a revenge flick. I am just hoping for different, at least in a second season.

  3. February 5, 2015 10:28 pm

    By the way, in my searches I came across the (old) news that indeed, Ron Perlman’s Hand of God series for Amazon has been given the green light.

    http://www.thewrap.com/amazon-picks-up-steven-soderberghs-red-oaks-and-ron-perlmans-hand-of-god-pilots-to-full-series/

  4. April 9, 2015 2:22 am

    PSA

    Starts on Friday, April 10th. Full season release for those who want to binge.

  5. Herandar permalink
    April 9, 2015 9:06 am

    Thought I’d pimp a show for a minute, since all the cool kids are doing it. Personally, I don’t watch anything that isn’t a comedy. Drama bores me, especially when drawn out over a television schedule. And on that note, Yahoo! will very soon be airing a new series from Paul Feig: Other Space.

    My understanding is that it will be a workplace sitcom set on a starship. Check out the trailer. Also, Yahoo Screen has an app on the Xbox 360, but not the XBOne.

    • April 9, 2015 9:13 pm

      Comedy is definitely more difficult to do than drama. I didn’t know you avoided the latter.

Comments are closed.

