Skip to content

For the Love of the Game

January 22, 2015

WilsonNFLTackified1

This is exactly how NOT to inspire confidence in a person’s integrity:

Reporter (speaking to Tom): “Is Tom Brady a cheater?

Tom Brady: “I don’t believe so.

What I would expect someone with integrity to say, “You can call me a scrub, an idiot, you can say I throw like a girl, run like I have hemorrhoids. You can say whatever you want about me, but one thing I will not forgive is calling me a cheat. Winning fair, according to the rules, is of greatest importance to me. It speaks to my integrity and my skill. I may be a lousy quarterback, or a good quarterback, but one thing I am not, is a cheater!

It is like I was telling Kenny the other day, our North American societies (not limited to just them, but I will only speak of what I know), simply do not have the moral character any more to be trusted with policy and law change at the national level. With this, it would seem that we don’t even have the character to fill a ball with air.

Roger Goodall is almost certainly just gonna let these guys continue do their thing, maybe giving them a fine, and maybe taking away a draft pick. These guys make up that fine by pawning one of the Rolex watches they were gifted. It isn’t even petty cash. Those fines for these guys are just change in the ashtray when they get home. And a draft pick can be bought or traded for later – especially if you have the resources of having won a Superbowl. Roger needs to watch the movie Eight Men Out. How he and the NFL handle this is far more important than how they handled the Ray Rice case, which should have been a straight forward case of assault handled by the police and the victim.

Asterisks should be placed by the Patriots previous three Superbowl wins, and they should be disqualified from playing in Superbowl XLIX. Give their spot to the Ravens or the Colts. For the love of the game.

6 Comments
  1. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    January 23, 2015 5:18 am

    Agreed. They should have an asterisk in all their stats from now on . Supposedly lots of teams do this but it’s how they handle it once they are caught that multiplies the effect of disdain this brings to the sport.

  2. January 23, 2015 7:03 pm

    The thing has snowballed, and Mr. Goodall may find himself forced to do something.

    http://www.boston.com/sports/football/patriots/extra_points/2015/01/brady_bashing_reaches_an_all-time_high_across_the.html

  3. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    January 26, 2015 9:50 am

    • January 26, 2015 5:31 pm

      What was the video, Frenik. (It has been removed by the user before I could watch it.)

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      January 26, 2015 5:33 pm

      SNL parody of the press conf. from Brady and Bill including “A few good men” references

  4. January 26, 2015 9:46 pm

    Here it is from the source.

Comments are closed.

