Skip to content

The Division

December 25, 2014
by

Merry Christmas

The holidays had me thinking about The Division, and upon checking the official site, I discovered an update and some stuff I hadn’t seen.  Blankman is probably up on all this stuff, but it is new to me.  It looks like Red Storm is doing a lot more than just weapons, too, and from the perspective of get-this-thing-done-and-into-our-hands it is probably a good thing.  As far as I know, the gameplay, level design, and rendering engine are all still in Massive’s hands.  It is just content that is getting farmed out.

Fan Made Doll Figurine (Dec 2014)

Creating A Character Model (Nov 25, 2014)

Weapons Workshop (Aug 2014)

Speaking specifically to the article on the character models, I am not afraid of anticipating this game.  I have very low expectations for the “MMO” and “RPG” features of the game.  My excitement is all about the beauty of the environment, characters, and a fascination with the narrative.  Blankman was talking to me the other day about AC4 and the fact that it is difficult for him to enjoy the game because the “Pirates” theme isn’t his thing.  I respect that, and it is the same way I feel about all of the Assassin’s Creed games, the eras, the abilities, the weapons, the clothing.  Ironically, because I love water and boats, they only AC game that looked even half appealing to me was AC4.  Conversely, everything about The Division is my thing, the modernity, realism, practical, functional clothing, cool, detailed weapons, all done in art that is just stunning, in a city that I know.  Unless this game comes out looking very differently from what has already been shown, I will be satisfied with just that, and my money will have been well spent.

By the way, the embedded banner was posted by a Massive employee on Reddit.  That is to say, it is real concept art, not fan art.

Hope you all are enjoying the holidays.  As they say in Africa, “May you be fat!”  My nine day romp in vacation land starts in about 5 hours.  Can’t wait to spend a day or two in my PJs!

3 Comments
  1. December 25, 2014 9:26 pm

    Interview Nov 2014 (There are tiny sequences of gameplay that I hadn’t seen before, though I never did get to see the Gamescom closed-doors footage.)

  2. December 25, 2014 11:54 pm

    Just got back from watching the Hobbit. Good. Not great. Was happy to be in the Tolkien world though.

    Now…. Let’s see if Xbox live is working. Damn those lizard trolls…. Get a life.

    • Herandar permalink
      December 26, 2014 8:51 am

      Heh. Sounds like my gaming experience last night, though I ended up playing Lego The Hobbit. Damn North Korea and their hackers.

Comments are closed.

