Skip to content

Halo 5: “It’s All I Wanted CoD:AW To Be!”

December 20, 2014

That is a quote from 4GN.

 

Update:  Vid embedded, a taste.

As soon as we finished dinner, I put the controller in Cornie’s hand and told him to play Halo 5.  And play it he did.  As Zos, Grymm, Blank and I had all previously agreed, Cornie immediately felt that Halo 5 was unlike any of the Halos before it.  After two round, he realized that was a good thing.

The rest are my own opinions and observations.  First of all, I can’t play this game for shit.  I went positive only 1 of 8 rounds.  In fact, in two rounds, Cornie got almost exactly the same amount of experience as I did in my previous 8 rounds.  To my credit, I did get some recognition for well deserved assists.  But assists are not kills.  And if your teammates are dying before they finish the job, then it means you might have someone flanking you while you are trying to finish your own job.  In a game of “Slayer”, k/d isn’t just an interesting statistic, it is the literal difference between winning and losing.  Collectively, if your team doesn’t kill more than it dies, then you lose.  You are the Loooozzaaaa. (Zos and Grymm need to be sincerely thanked for their graciousness as they were branded with the big L on the forehead several times, all for my sake.  It is one of the many reasons I love ’em.)

Second, this game is very much the fresh new FPS that many have been looking for.  As Zos put it, “It scratches that itch I have had for a long time”.  Though learning to navigate the maps using the Master Chiefs special moves takes time, the results are spectacular – not in a Titanfall wall-running, smooth animation sense, but in a lightening-from-my-belly-button Street Fighter button combo sense.  Indeed,  the sky stomp, jet-pack melee, and mid-air slow-scope are just three examples of moves which challenge gamers to see what kind of spectacular move they can pull off next.  For instance, looking over a ledge, Cornie saw an enemy running towards him one floor below.  He jumped into the air, stomped behind the enemy taking out his shield, and then fired two bursts, one into the guy’s back and the second into his head.  Lights out.  In another move shortly after, he earned the medals Airborn and Snapshot.  As he himself was running, he no-scope headshotted (Snapshot) a jumping (Airborn) enemy.  In the world of football that would be similar to an out-of-reach, double-coverage catch in the endzone.  Those are just two of the jaw-dropping, game-changing scenes I saw unfold before me.  And that leads me to my final point.

Halo 5 has both 60fps and dedicated servers*.  Lag is minimized, and smooth, “fair”, thrilling gameplay is delivered.  In spades. This is the moment when a developer/publisher has finally stood up to Activision/Infinity Ward/Sledgehammer and said, “This is what true, online (as opposed to just LAN) competitive, FPS gaming should look like.”  What you see is what you get, and all that that implies.

13 Comments
  1. December 20, 2014 2:46 pm

    OT Twitch does work with it. One entire session was recorded.

    I am not going to link it it because death. LOL

  2. December 20, 2014 5:35 pm

    Reblogged this on Inkabod's Reverie.

  3. December 20, 2014 5:37 pm

    From what I’ve played of the Halo 5 beta so far, it is such a breath of fresh air. I have been surprised at how “new” it feels. Most importantly it’s FUN!

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    December 22, 2014 7:29 pm

    I have seen the gameplay and it seems they are trying hard to incorporate some of the moves and ideas from other games without breaking the Halo 2 mold.

    The thing is, like COD:AW, it might seem “New” and “Fresh” within the franchise bubble, but it can show wrinkles and tired gameplay over time.

    Also, COD:AW is this year. Halo will be going against Treyarch’s COD next year. Those are two different games, and franchises.

    Plus, since us Guardians in Destiny, are already ground pounding, unlimited sprinting in ADS for a while now, it feels less “new FPS experience”, and more Halo playing catchup. No need for 343’s Guardians. : P

    • December 22, 2014 8:02 pm

      Frenik, did you play it? Because if you didn’t, … 😉 lol

      That quote is from Cornie who has played Destiny extensively with you. He loves Destiny, and hopes to do some Nightfalls with you tonight, even. However, he recognizes the depth, polish, and sheer smooth of Halo 5. You really do have to play it to feel the difference.

      Good point about next year releases. But unless Activision embraces dedicated servers, they will continue providing a half-baked last-gen experience regardless of the “features”.

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      December 23, 2014 2:20 am

      I got the refund for MCC, so I don’t think I can play the beta. Definitely not going to buy that back again. If that’s the only way to get in the Beta, then I will have to until the game comes out, to test it out.

      That’s if… there’s the void in gaming by then, because we are getting the Destiny’s PS4 Exclusives by next fall, and all of that put together is almost the size of a third DLC.

      But in reality I don’t hate what I see on the new gameplay, I think it’s great they are making a bridge to make people go back to Halo 5, providing things that are already a staple elsewhere. Not completely sold on their use of ADS though, haven’t played it but I wouldn’t welcome losing that ability while being shot.

      If I ever bought it, it would definitely make it easier to get into it, than if it wasn’t there.

      I would presume however it would be much worst for some of my friends who left Destiny because the Crucible was too hectic, aggro, etc.

      because of what I have seen that’s how Halo 5 plays as well, and that’s my kind of pvp for sure.

      The question will really be if Cornie will miss his “Plan C” from Destiny. He has gotten 44kills in a game mostly with that weapon. As well as when he fully upgrades his Gjallarhorn. Or whenever he gets Last Word, etc.

      If he says he will not miss any of the weapons from Destiny, and any Customization from Destiny, I will hands down buy the game and show up to play.

      If he doesn’t then I will definitely question the “depth” of it.

      Dedicated Servers still not a big deal for me. Lag is not a persistent recurrence in any game I play that doesn’t have it.

      However I do remember watching Johann and Cornie play and see shots have a delay every single time, so I do get why that’s a big deal in general, and much more if the party is stretched out across the world.

      I would be more concerned though wether they are showing a tighter Halo 5 experience because it’s a limited open Beta experience, and when the real things comes out they go to the hybrid system of dedicated/peer that a lot of games use to this day.

      I don’t know. MCC certainly didn’t inspire confidence on the network side of things for me.

      But hey worst case scenario if I ever do buy it, is holding out long enough so that if it’s not what I want I can get another full refund out of it.

  5. December 23, 2014 5:08 pm

    Frenik, was is ADS? (I am sure I will go doh! once you tell me, but for now I can’t place the acronym).

    As for Betas, Cornie pointed out that the Halo betas have consistently been more enjoyable than the game proper. Its for several reasons: 1) the best maps are usually on display, 2) the weapons after the beta get over-nerfed, and 3) the excitement of playing something new and for “free”. All those factors work towards making the beta seem better than the game proper when it releases later.

    Glad that Destiny is solid fun, and innovative at that. Gamers win.

    • Herandar permalink
      December 26, 2014 8:46 am

      Aim Down Sights. Using a scope in FPS. D’oh!!

    • December 26, 2014 11:08 am

      Thanks, Herandar!

  6. Average permalink*
    December 30, 2014 10:20 pm

    Average is in love.

Comments are closed.

