Skip to content

“The Force Awakes” Teaser

November 28, 2014

It may well be that I do go to see this, and I do enjoy it. But the stench of JJ Abrams, and cutesy robots a la Jar Jar Yippee is strong with this one! See, the magic about R2D2 was not that he was Wall-E, but that he was totally bad ass and cool looking, for example. LMAO at the trailer.

EDIT: I have changed the title because I neither want to be a hater, nor do I want to be trollin’. I don’t hold the original trilogy up as the best sci fi ever, so I am not still trying to “protect” that. I was happy when Disney acquired the IP. I think there is lots of potential. I just don’t trust Abrams, with his pull-stuff-out-of-my-ass, red herrings writing. I don’t care whether or not they have original cast, or original vehicles, planets, etc. The universe is large enough to support a completely new adventure in the Force, and it is also fun to go back and see our old friends. What I am hoping for, is for someone to understand what it is that made the first two Star Wars movies so entertaining: the mystery, adventure, technology, exploration, politics, religion, war, with a tiny dash of comedy.

19 Comments
  1. November 28, 2014 12:02 pm

    I actually really enjoyed the teaser. I am not sure where you are getting the jar-jar vibe, but the small rolling android was akin to the spherical spherical androids seen throughout the original trilogy (i don’t think it is a main character).

    My take away was that this teaser was just meant to begin the year long hype train. I am interested to see the first actual trailer which will likely reveal plot etc. I was also bummed there was no showing of the original cast. But I thought the practical (real) set/props, mixed with very good CGI looked very authentic Star Wars (and great).

    I also think the teaser was hinting at a bit of a darker theme to the movie.

    I think it’s pretty early to say how it will turn out. So far, all they have shown is the new cast, and some locations (+ the MF which was awesome).

  2. November 28, 2014 12:20 pm

    So, the fellow jumping up in a Storm Trooper suit didn’t strike you as comedy from something like a Benny Hill, or Carry On show?! That just set the tone for the whole trailer for me.

    I apologize. It is so easy to be critical. So difficult to make something good, and defend it.
    Doh! I know what my problem is. I watched it with the sound off. I had to because of people sleeping beside me. That makes it more serious, as Picard tells us all about the situation.

  3. November 28, 2014 12:36 pm

    I have added an edit to the original post. I don’t want to be trollin’ or hatin’. I’m not really. Read what I wrote if you have the time. The rest I will say in party chat, for the same reasons.

  4. November 28, 2014 1:16 pm

    The sound definitely plays a big part in setting the mood! In terms of the silliness, there is a hint with the pop up of Boyega’s character in the beginning, but nothing outside of what was in the original movies as well. Lots of cheese in those films (intentionally).

    There is a difference between some cheese, and going full jar-jar. You NEVER go full jar-jar.

    The movie could end up sucking, but at this point I am optimistic.

    • Blankman permalink*
      November 28, 2014 4:18 pm

      “You NEVER go full jar-jar.” LMAO, Zos! I’m going to use that from time to time. “Did you see that dude? He went all full Jar-Jar on us!” Bwahahahaha!!!

  5. Blankman permalink*
    November 28, 2014 1:17 pm

    Who the hell was that black dude in the storm trooper’s suit?!? That better be Lando’s son because every storm trooper was a clone of Jango Fett.

    There just wasn’t enough there to really criticize. I didn’t get the Jar-Jar vibe with the spherical robot or the Benny Hill feel with the intro of the black storm trooper. It was more of a shock like, “WTF, what’s this black dude doing in a storm trooper get up?!?” He’s clearly using it as a disguise. JJ Abrams purposely didn’t show the original cast because they most likely look terrible since they’re old as ish. I didn’t even get a rise out seeing that new light saber revealed because after Darth Maul’s double-bladed saber, there’s not much else you can do. We’ll just have to wait for a proper trailer. This teaser was kind of ‘meh’ for me.

    • November 28, 2014 2:29 pm

      Apparently every storm trooper, was not a clone. People have made similar comments, and the hardcore star wars nerds have been coming out of the woodwork violently. They apparently started accepting elite people later on.

      I think it is a disguise tho, a little throw back to the original trilogy. Also little detail, when you see the “soccer ball” android, you can see old/destroyed pod racers in the background. Nice touch lol.

  6. November 28, 2014 6:22 pm

    I am almost positive the suit is a disguise, and with the tone of the music, it isn’t over the top, nor is it, as you say, the first time. Without the music and as a first impression, it is sheer comedy.

    Yeah, I am nervous about seeing the original cast. After what happened with Crystal Skull, I don’t see it ending well. However, I am open to the idea.

    As for the light saber, I was going to wait until party chat, but we are having a good discussion here so I will just say they are mixing their metaphors. Darth Maul’s double “bladed” sword was actually analogous to a staff used in Asian Martial arts. Goes well with the original “Katana” saber which was also “Eastern” in origin, as was all the Zen/Force religious stuff. This new thing with the hilt?! Dudes, that is European Broadsword type stuff, and the wielder better take care he doesn’t slice his wielding hand clear off. Also, it alludes to knights, and crusades, not Zen. Jar Jar Abrams.

    And yes, “Never go full Jar Jar!” LOL

    • Blankman permalink*
      November 28, 2014 6:36 pm

      I can understand the lightsaber hilt because there’s not much else you can do with the weapon. The Bo staff that the dual lightsaber that Maul used was the only other design that could be utilized. Tonfa or nunchaku designs don’t necessarily go well because it just doesn’t make wielding it exciting when you can cut off the balls or the head between your north & south of your body. Ha!

    • November 28, 2014 7:18 pm

      LOL!!!

      That’s the thing though. They don’t need to ever do anything with the light saber! Leave it alone. It is awesome in its simplicity! Do we ever want to see a Samurai wielding a broadsword?

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      November 30, 2014 6:36 am

      Asajj Ventress in Battlefront 2 had the nunchucks design (skip to 4:20).

  7. November 28, 2014 6:46 pm

    That trailer was a big meh…. Look, a black storm trooper. Look, a chick on a speeder. Look, the Millenium Falcon. Hey, look! A cool new light saber!

    Geeze……

  8. Herandar permalink
    November 29, 2014 5:14 pm

    Also meh. There’s no need to have the camera do a barrel roll while the MIllenium Falcon does a reverse one. It’s a 3D action movie gimmick, all about the style while neglecting the substance. They turned Trek into generic space action films with familiar characters, and they are about to do the same thing to Star Wars.

    Needs more lens flares!!

  9. November 29, 2014 6:53 pm

    Herandar, I am not saying you did, but it sure feels like you quoted me back to me regarding Star Trek! Couldn’t agree more.

    And, as if to punctuate the bullshit that I called on the Light Saber, you gotta love the Internet and teh meme!
    http://www.movieweb.com/star-wars-7-force-awakens-new-lightsaber

    Anyway, lots of fun!

    • Blankman permalink*
      November 29, 2014 11:26 pm

      Bwahaha, a Swiss Army knife saber!

    • November 29, 2014 11:35 pm

      I know right?!!

  10. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 30, 2014 6:29 am

    This is the first star wars since Empire that Lucas can’t mess up. So many decades in the making this is the only thing I care about.

    Waited most of my adult life for seeing a fresh take by someone else that by this point ANYTHING in live action is an instant win.

  11. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 30, 2014 6:42 am

    OT:

    GTA V recent update finally brough 30 players in free roam. There are rumors that Heists DLC is already included in this patch to be activated later. The 1gb size is too big for just network updates, no other big changes are noticeable.

  12. December 2, 2014 8:42 pm

    A review of the teaser by Plinkett, whose previous “reviews” of Star Wars and Star Trek made having watched all those movies worth it.

Comments are closed.

