Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!! – Help please….

November 27, 2014

First of all.   Happy Thanksgiving!!   Our 13 pound Turkey brined all night in salt solution and spices.  It just got “rubbed with spice and olive oil” and is now in my smoker.    Apple wood.     8 hours or so from now, we’ll see…   First time smoking a turkey.  If it turns out awesome, I’ll try smoking the 22 pounder for my “big” family dinner on Saturday.

Football, Family, Food, and Video games!

Now regarding video games.   Yesterday I bought my 2nd Xbox One.  Costco AC version – $334.

I hooked it up, and same problem as when I had two (for a short while last year).   My Xbox is Open, the New Xbox is Strict.

Last year, I was on the phone with MS and ATT for HOURS trying to figure out what to do.

I remember trying all these various setting changes (with the ‘help’ of ATT tech support and also MS):  port forward, DMZ, Static IP.   I forget now, but I tried Everything (you guys even tried to give me some direction), and eventually it was such pain I gave up and just returned my 2nd Xbox…..

The main problem (if memory serves me) is that the router I have can’t allow two open NATs at the same time.

What I have is an ATT provided (rental) – Modem/Router  –  2WIRE i38HG

Any suggestions on what to do next?   My thinking is to go to Best Buy tonight (they open at 5pm) and actually buy myself a modem/router.    Thoughts?   Does that sound like the right thing to do?

I want to do this for several reasons

1) ATT charges me $5 / month for renting.  Might as well buy one.

2) This modem sucks.  I’m supposed to be getting 20mb/s download and 2.5 mb/s upload.   I average must less when everyone is connected (iphones, Seth’s laptop, Ipads, Uverse TV, Xbox’s….)

Case in point.  Everything is pretty much shut down right now (kids still sleeping) while I download AC Unity on my new Xbox.  My download is 800 kb/s….    FYI: I’ve been downloading AC Unity on both machines since last night and I’m only 50% on each.   Earlier this morning I paused the download on my Xbox, so it would just “focus” on the new machine.   Still…  800 kbs

So…   That is my situation.   I’m no IT expert like you guys.   Can you help?

What should I buy?

Maybe you can take a look at the Best Buy website.  They seem to have some good sales.  Could you suggest a couple/few?

Obviously a router that can have both NATs open and run my home network more efficiently.

Also, once I buy one, I assume I’ll need some help “setting it up”.   Do I call ATT tech support?  Can one of you walk me through it?

Signed –  Desperate, but hopeful….

7 Comments
  1. November 27, 2014 5:53 pm

    Update. Was on phone for an hour with att tech support. They are coming out tomorrow to check my line and also replace the router and fix the NAT. We’ll see…..

  2. November 27, 2014 8:43 pm

    Glad to hear you are getting professional, provider help. Sounds like it is stuff that no expert here can fix, which is to say router hardware issues.

  3. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 28, 2014 3:56 am

    I am no expert on the subject but from what I understand, you have two hurdles:

    A) router provided, along with any distance, interference, etc.

    B) The Connection speed. Even with a open NAT it may have problems downloading stuff.

    I know for myself and my wifi situation, I ended up going back to a wired route because even with extenders and 100dl/25ul, were I live, theres a gazillion wifi signals. It was easier and cheaper to wire than buy a higher end router.

    I ended up with a better connection that way, and open on the xbox one and PS4, along with a PC and my Smart TV. Then just use wi-fi for less intensive devices.

    I know LAN are slower than wireless but it has worked much better, even on the xbox one which is right next to the router.

    I have gone the “Buy another Router” route but it didn’t solve my problem, even using both routers, with one as extender.

    Wired is just cheaper on ebay.

  4. November 28, 2014 11:40 am

    You bring up a good point, Frenik. I just assumed Kenai was trying wired. Wireless is definitely to be avoided, if possible.

  5. November 28, 2014 6:39 pm

    Both Xbox’s are wired. I’m not a noob. 🙂

    Att did solve my problem today. New router/modem. 21 mbs. That’s highest I’ve ever gotten and so far everyone is running their devices and things are smooth.

Comments are closed.

