Skip to content

The Evolution of Evolve –– Episode 2: The Iterative Process of Turtle Rock Studios

November 14, 2014

Turtle Rock’s assurances that the iterative process will continue long after the game’s release is probably the most honest (and rarest) approach to making a great game with lots of innovation. I am very curious to see to what extent 2K supports them in putting out free DLC (another thing they have promised). One thing that probably won’t change at all is the length of time for map loading. I was thinking about that again today and maybe, for me, it will be something I don’t mind so much, like the Valley of Death in Gears. Often dying early, I did a lot of watching and waiting, and chatting with others as they joined me. It was a welcome break from the intensity of the gameplay. Though, admittedly, spectating is different from staring at a loading screen. Anyway, the game is deep, intense, teamwork oriented, and full of narrative. Can’t wait!

And Blankman provided a link to some solid info on Cabot, the third Support Class Hunter.

6 Comments
  1. November 14, 2014 3:45 pm

    OT!

    Via PA

    More OT

    Sunset Overdrive has piqued my interest in this new genre. I might even consider Just Cause 3 when it is released.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/features/archive/2014/11/14/creating-the-sandbox-gameplay-of-just-cause-3.aspx

  2. November 15, 2014 1:56 pm

    2K sent out a survey which I am sure you have all received.

    For the what can be improved, I wrote:
    The matchmaking and level loading times were unacceptably long. I hope the matchmaking times can be almost eliminated and that the level loading times can be reduced.

    The Kraken seemed OP. For the brief Alpha, it seemed that if we didn’t choose Bucket as one of our hunters, we were almost guaranteed to lose.

    The maps seemed very alike, indistinguishable almost. The weather was very cool, but not enough to make one map feel different from the other. This needs to be addressed.

    General comments and feedback:

    I know that this is a business, but I want to encourage 2K to allow Turtle Rock to bring us some free DLC before you start pimping the premium stuff. It seems to be a difficult message for publishers to understand, but making the customer feel like they got something for free (not just the pre-order incentives, but real content like maps and characters) and that the developers and publishers appreciate and respect their customers goes a very long way in establishing goodwill that builds communities, and ensures future spending on DLC and sequels.

    Good luck, Turtle Rock and 2K.

    Of course, after I submitted the survey, I immediately remembered that I needed to ask them ensure that the Digital pre-orders got all the pre-order goodies going to Gamespot etc. DOH!

    Answer your surveys, people!

  3. November 15, 2014 2:09 pm

    And the official community page is pretty chalk full of news.

  4. Herandar permalink
    November 17, 2014 9:25 am

    This is where my mind went immediately when reading the name Cabot:


    Your appreciation may vary.

Comments are closed.

