Skip to content

Crappy Halo Day

November 11, 2014

EDIT: I had to change the title of the post from “Happy” to “Crappy”. Like a frog in warming water, we have become accustomed to shitty releases, but this one is kind of exceptional. This is Microsoft’s flag ship title, synonymous with Xbox, and they can’t even promise that we will be able to use matchmaking by the weekend!

If online release timing is as usual, 1GN will probably be playing some MC Collection tonight. It is expected to be good, and I expect that expectation to be met. I plan on watching the carnage over his shoulder.

One of the treats of purchasing the Collection is that owners also get access to a Halo 5 beta. Apparently, many, including Rooster Teeth, have already played H5. Kotaku and IGN have written about it, and Rooster Teeth has provided video (embedded below). It looks good, and I would be all over that ish, but it was the nature of Halo MP that drove me into the buff arms of Gears. In Gears, I quickly discovered that by just using my mouth, I could contribute more to my team’s victory than I ever could wielding any weapon in Halo. (I still remember random teammates yelling at my brother, who played with me in those days, to run and hide rather than “die again”. I knew that had he not been there, it would have been me they were yelling at.)

Still, good is as good does, and Halo 5 looks like it won’t disappoint Slayers.

21 Comments
  1. November 11, 2014 12:14 pm

    Impressions:

    – Remastered Halo 2 levels are very pretty.
    – 60 FPS Halo feels insanely good (it’s been needed).
    – Every Halo iteration has a facelift thanks to higher resolutions, better textures etc. (Halo 4 especially looks pretty).
    – I am WAY out of the game. Going to have to re-learn the “feel” of Halo (F U Grymm).
    – Servers were (and appear to still be) completely pooched. Sad that this is the new normal for game launches lol.
    – Lots of potential for “Custom Games” with stranded. Especially for Halo CE.

    Wishes:

    – 2 player COOP in Halo CE and Halo 2 should get bumped to 4 player.

    Been itching for a twitch team shooter for a while. Now I just need to setup my monitor gaming (Big HDTVs wont do). Pretty sure we are getting a new Xbox One this month. Lots of deals going around, especially Black Friday.

  2. November 11, 2014 3:01 pm

    Took my pooched controller to the Microsoft store today. They replaced it for FREE!

    Ready to be Master Chief!

  3. November 11, 2014 6:26 pm

    Thanks for the impressions, Zos!

    And good for you, Kenai! New Controller ftw! Gotta hand it to bein’ the underdog, Microsoft sure isn’t as arrogant as they would have been had things gone their way! Good for us invested in the system. Love me some service!

    • November 12, 2014 11:08 am

      Is Xbox Live Matchmaking even working?!! I tried this morning and Nothing……

      I see some chatter on the Internet about it, but figured you guys had some first hand experience with it.

    • November 12, 2014 11:12 am

      It’s been broke since launch. Just like COD, just like Assassins Creed Unity… every game these days.

      Shorter development cycles, unfinished releases.

    • November 12, 2014 2:03 pm

      Yeah, 1GN tried again last night and it still wasn’t working. It is pretty disgusting, really.

    • November 12, 2014 2:57 pm

      We were joking with Average last night, when you end a Custom Match round it says “You finished 1th”. Note, this is regardless of winning or losing. Even the spelling is wrong (should be 1st).

      How does this not get fixed before release? How does this not get caught in playtesting? It would have taken 1-2 games before somebody realized that everyone was finishing 1th.

      From the verbage M$ has been using, this appears to be a 343 issue.

      PS: Did you see the offscreen leaked Division footage?! I can’t find it now, but Grymm texted it a day or two ago. Looks amazing.

    • November 12, 2014 3:03 pm

      Title changed to “Crappy Halo Day!” LOL!!!!!

      That must be Suns!

      Made my day.

  4. November 11, 2014 10:20 pm

    OT

    ArCtiC on Halo 5

    And Abe in Evolve. It is much easier to watch these long videos now that I have played it, for me at least.

  5. Blankman permalink*
    November 12, 2014 8:00 pm

    Complete. Utter. Failure. On Monday, Zos, Grymmie, rED, and me were talking about Steve Jobs. We all agreed that if he was running this ish, you better believe that this would have worked on day one of launch. Unacceptable.

  6. Average permalink*
    November 12, 2014 9:40 pm

    Surprising that a remastered game from 10 years ago is more broken than the original.
    It seems, and I’m guessing, that 4 different studios worked on the halo games, another studio worked on the engine to run it all, another studio did the main menu, and they piled it all on the disk 2 days before it got printed. I cannot believe how shitty the party system is, you can’t even invite within the game like the original.

    Utterly terrible experience for what I thought would be the biggest game this year.
    Hopefully they get their shit together before we all give up on it.

    PS. I am so bad the first few games I played, I think what made Halo so good back in the day is the simplicity of the gameplay. Destiny is fun but very busy, so I tend to not work as a team as much as the more simple games.

  7. November 12, 2014 10:59 pm

    Doesn’t bode well for the potential Gears collection.

    I can see Rod F pullin’ guys off the Marcus Fenix Buff and Beautiful project going, “Um….we are going to put this on hold for a little bit [ – forever] because we need more bodies on Gears 4 to make the next miles stone [ – Shut that collection shit down as fast as you can, wipe it clean off all the computers!]. We’ll get back to this later [ – never].”

    • Blankman permalink*
      November 13, 2014 12:22 am

      You do know that practically every aspect of the Master Chief Collection was outsourced, right? 343i just made sure it was cohesive. So much for that. They would most likely do the same for the Marcus Fenix Collection.

  8. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 13, 2014 3:15 pm

    What a mess. It wasn’t only that Matchmaking didn’t work. The playlist selection and how long it actually takes to get a match going. It’s like going back in time to Pre-Halo 4 days.

    The kicker is there’s probably more people playing H3 and H4 right now on the 360.

    I shouldn’t have bought this game. My nostalgia isn’t as big, after playing H2 playlist I remembered why I happily left Halo.

    The massive collection of maps is null because you have to sit around on MM for a long time in order to see it all. That just feels like a waste on the busy season of gaming.

    Now all this content on the low season of gaming it would have been golden. Should have waited for the summer for this game.

  9. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 21, 2014 2:00 am

    I was poking around trying to find an alternate solution to Matchmaking, in order to justify this purchase and somehow either find a Community to play customs with, etc.

    Turns out Forge is broken in it’s own as well: http://www.grifballhub.com/grifball-impacted-by-master-chief-collection-forge-bugs-and-other-issues/

    I tested it, basically can’t do custom grifball forge maps on Halo 4 in MCC and can’t do ANY objective forge maps at all on Halo 3.

    So basically the grifball community is stuck in old gen, and any other forge Communities have to skip Halo 3 entirely, and only able to edit on what is provided with Halo 2 Anniversary and Halo 4. Which they removed some options.

    Can’t forge Halo:CE maps at all. So basically if Halo 3 is broken in customs. Halo 4 was gutted of all matchmaking progression and lobby system.

    What we really paid for was the online multiplayer for Halo: CE Anniversary and Halo 2 Anniversary. Halo 3 and 4 are much better online on the 360.

  10. November 21, 2014 3:23 pm

    The “patch” is out, and if anything, makes things worse. Looks like all they did is remove True Skill so that now when you finally get into a match (which still takes forever), instead of being very close, it will end say, 50-2. I think Cornie’s first game with the patch ended 50-1. It isn’t even my money and I am pissed. I will be encouraging Johann to phone this shit in to get a refund.

    Think about it, if we bought Monopoly and got home and it was missing the money, and the game pieces, would we just sit there, with our thumbs up our ass, trying to figure out how to play the game?!

    This isn’t just buggy, this is BROKE, and one match per 15 minute wait does not mean the game is playable. It isn’t. This is undoubtedly the biggest FUBAR game that we have ever purchased. Yes, this by far trumps BRINK. I hand over the crown.

    By the way, there is server migration in the middle of matches. I saw it happen. The game stopped, the message came across the screen, we waited 2 minutes, and then the game came back and play resumed minus a player. Draw your own conclusions. FUBAR, not just Crappy.

    • November 21, 2014 3:52 pm

      In other News…. BF4’s new map pack came out this week. Spectacular Snow Wars.

      And Suns, regarding Brink…. Its’ failure wasn’t about the horrible Lag and matchmaking. I mean “Yes, it was… but that was only the tip of the iceberg.”

      One Word…

      Parkour

      Bwahawahaha!!!!

      Parkour…. hahahahahahaha!!!

      Biggest swing and miss ever.

      Brink “I’m Still the King! Yeah!!”

      //giphy.com/embed/jCi66sK0E770s

    • November 21, 2014 6:12 pm

      Hahahahahaha!

      DANG! I try to get rid of the stink, and it sticks to me even through the Halo fiascos!

      LOL!

    • November 21, 2014 8:02 pm

      Sorry mbfam! I couldn’t help it. I lol’ for ten minutes after I posted it.

      Btw. Not your stink. Just some guys with a great idea that didn’t pan out.

      Parkour!!

    • Blankman permalink*
      November 21, 2014 8:35 pm

      Nice try, Suns. Pretty sneaky trying to ditch the Brink blame, but nope. You’re gonna be stuck with that for awhile. Brink never got fixed.

Trackbacks

  1. はげまし | The Stranded

Comments are closed.

