Skip to content

Overwatch by Blizzard

November 7, 2014
tags:
by

Blizzard, makers of WoW and Diablo, just announced their first ever, class-based FPS. Though I still think Valve’s TF2 was better on paper than in practice, Overwatch might be as good as it sounds. Then again, recent games are telling me that if there isn’t a story/campaign mode to pull the gamer into the world (e.g., Titanfall), the MP world had better naturally make its own narrative (e.g., L4D, Evolve). Still, I don’t see that happening with Overwatch. Also, for a company famous for its RPG elements, it looks like the classes/characters are without customization options, even just in appearance.

4 Comments
  1. November 7, 2014 7:27 pm

    And this is for Zos

  2. Blankman permalink*
    November 8, 2014 1:43 pm

    Yawn.

  3. November 8, 2014 2:37 pm

    Yeah, my heart always skips a beat when I read “class-based”, but that term has come to mean more “limitation” and “generic” than “teamwork” and “endlessly fun”. L4D had no classes at all, and yet no game promotes teamwork more effectively.

  4. Herandar permalink
    November 13, 2014 1:57 pm

    Reminded me of Gearbox’s next FPS, which name I’ve already forgotten.

Comments are closed.

