Skip to content

Gears of War To Return to Darker Themes?

October 23, 2014
by

Rod Fergusson tweeted a short article on IGN, where he and Phil Spencer discuss the next iteration of the Gears of War series. You can find the whole article here .

Here are some snip-its I found interesting/promising:

In the beginning, Spencer loved the “epic scale, the settings that I was in, the massive destruction moments. It was more what I would call soulful and maybe even a little dark.” The Head of Xbox told IGN that, in discussions with Rod Fergusson, who’s in charge of Gears of War at Black Tusk Studios, he’s talked about Gears of War becoming “a parody of itself” over time. “Not for any horrible reasons,” but because managing success over time is challenging.

“I think we can continue, but we also have a new team. Rod’s there to really help with the continuity. We can really invest in this thing for the next decade, which is how I want to think about it.”

Darker themes is one of the things that made the original Gears stand out so much. I believe Spencer’s insight is also very true regarding the series becoming a parody of itself.

So far, Spencer and the new GOW both seem promising.

6 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    October 24, 2014 12:16 am

    My body is ready.

  2. October 24, 2014 12:55 am

    I loved the “horror” aspect of Gears One. It was by far my favorite campaign of the three, including even the mine cart sequence.

  3. October 24, 2014 11:12 am

    The Division article added this morning. “More RPG than Shooter”

    • October 24, 2014 2:34 pm

      As awesome as it is to see this (for me at least), I still want to hold my judgements until we start getting some more concrete info about the game.

    • October 24, 2014 8:10 pm

      Here’s the thing. The art, setting, HUD, and what little they have shown of the gunplay, have so impressed me that I don’t really care how the game plays or what it is like. Unless it gets compared to Alien: Colonial Marines (i.e., total disaster) or something, it is going to be difficult for me to not to pre-order/download this thing.

    • Herandar permalink
      October 27, 2014 9:32 am

      I agree wholeheartedly with Suns on this… After watching the first trailer I told my brother, even if they only flawlessly pull off about 33 percent of what Massive intends for the game, the scope and ambition is so high, that it will still be worth getting.

Comments are closed.

