Skip to content

PvZ:GW Legends Of The Lawn Review

October 1, 2014
by

We don’t give scores here at The Stranded, but this new game mode based on single flag CTF, combined with unfamiliar maps (we never play the non-G&G maps), breathes huge, fresh, brilliantly colored, Pinata Busting, Sombrero waving life into the game. There really is a ton of new content, and the rounds never take more than 6 or 7 minutes. They cannot, because they are timed, and that means there is no hiding-the-flag griefing. Tim, Cornie, and I had crazy fun tonight. I even went so far as to make my first video. Watch and you will soon see how colorful and musical the game has become, as if it were possible to become more so than it already was (1:38 for the Mexican Taco Carrier track). The Cheetah (previous stand alone DLC) is a fantastic edition to the game, and the splash of bright orange was so funny, I didn’t even mind getting owned (0:50)! Thank you, Kenny, for hookin’ us up with those codes!

Note: we learned a bunch of strats. In this clip, it is just me playing as the Electrician taking out the defenses and running distraction. Turn up the volume and enjoy!

15 Comments
  1. October 1, 2014 1:39 pm

    I played last night too! And had me some Tacos! PvZ just continues getting better and better

  2. Blankman permalink*
    October 1, 2014 3:47 pm

    I really have to get back into the PvZ: GW mix. I have a lot of love for that game! Thankfully, Alien: Isolation comes out next week, so I’ll have a change of pace from D3. It’s just sooo addicting! Argh!

    • October 2, 2014 9:21 am

      Alright Blankman, I’m looking for You this weekend. Every time, I come on line, you are in “The Diablo Dungeons”. Join us surface dwellers for some PvZ!

  3. October 1, 2014 6:53 pm

    I didn’t have time to mention that there are a bunch of general fixes and improvements including a Queue for when you try to join your friends in a full server. I think that as Microsoft irons out the problems with their party system (and there are problems), the lobbies for these games will get smoother and easier to use. The queue worked beautifully yesterday.

    It is hope to be able to play again tonight. I woke up this morning whistling the Mexican tune. It is truly a cheerful game!

    • October 2, 2014 9:19 am

      What time will you be on?!! (My Thursday night) I want to play!!!!! I can stay up a late if necessary. Also, I’ll be home Friday night (but up at the cottage on Saturday).

    • October 2, 2014 5:49 pm

      How about your Friday morning?! LOL

      I have work on Sat again and won’t be home until about 3am your your time. My Friday night after work, I can play, but that will be early your Friday morning. I don’t expect you to be on, but that is my schedule. đŸ˜‰

      PvZ is really fun, though. This Mexican update is spectacular! SO cheerful!

      Hey, enjoy the cottage!!

  4. October 6, 2014 1:09 pm

    Awesome clip Suns! I saw you got the achievement in the Youtube app for uploading a video, but I didn’t know where it was, haha!

    I think we really need to get together for a weekend of this. I’ve been missing it hard looking at it in my pins. And with all of the additions it’ll feel brand new for a lot of us. I really want to give this Taco mode a try. Looks like crazy, chaotic fun, and a nice change from Gardens & Graveyards.

    On an unrelated note, after losing all the data on my hard drive due to corruption, I lost about 8 months worth of work I’ve made on music. Frustrated, I took a few months off making anything. Thankfully, I had a spark of creativity and decided to jump back in. After about a 12 hour music making session, this is what I made. (One main reason I’m posting this is because I know this is more what you all enjoy rather than my ‘fist pumping’ tracks.) Enjoy!

    • October 6, 2014 2:50 pm

      Really enjoyed this song. Agreed about PVZ. Also, do you have a good backup in place now? if not let me know and I can help you set one up.

    • October 7, 2014 7:28 am

      I don’t have a backup right now (lol), because I’m currently using my “backup” drive to run my OS and act as my main HD right now. I need to pick up another one eventually so that I can make this the backup.

      Unless, can I use my current HD as a backup as well? Just partition part of it or something?

    • October 6, 2014 8:25 pm

      Grymmie, back in the saddle! I like your new piece. Chiiko does, too! Thanks for sharing.

      And yes about PvZ. Highly entertaining! Had planned to jump back on later Saturday night, but Tim wouldn’t stop and he was playing by himself. (It had been so long since I had seen him playing that I didn’t even want to suggest that he move over to let me play.)

    • October 7, 2014 7:20 am

      Thanks for listening, Suns! Glad Chiiko enjoyed it as well đŸ™‚

      It made me think some of the guys you’ve shown me (Blackmill, Tangerine Dream). I really enjoyed making this, and will more than likely make some more of it in the future.

  5. rEDChief55 permalink*
    October 6, 2014 11:51 pm

    As a side note: I changed the banner but couldn’t figure out how to customize the colors without paying for some premium thing. Someone go for it

    • October 7, 2014 3:34 am

      Will do! (Changing the theme colors are in the Appearance=>Theme Options in case you don’t like what I choose. Just don’t change the theme because Vigilance is no longer available and if we ever change it out, we will never get it back!

      Hey, does that mean you are looking forward to Sunset Overdrive? (It does look fun, but it is missing an MPvs mode that *I* require in all my games. LOL)

  6. October 7, 2014 12:19 pm

    Quick Alien impressions:

    – Insanely pretty
    – Amazing art
    – Very scary
    – So far, really difficult.
    – Blank/Grymm/I were screaming a lot last night while playing it LOL.

    • October 7, 2014 4:41 pm

      You guys need to Twitch that stuff with full mics! I watched your clips last night, but you never showed what happened to you after the Alien can into the room while you were hiding under the desk. Safe to say you were “lunch”?

Comments are closed.

