Skip to content

Alien Isolation – No Escape

September 10, 2014
tags:
by

8 Comments
  1. September 10, 2014 3:56 am

    OT

    Microsoft would be better off buying a Basketball team than this! Truly, this is worse than the RARE acquisition!

    Maybe they should spend some of that money on developers for their One OS, or to help EA fix NHL 15, or about 2 billion other things more worthy than a company that is basically one man.

    Unbelievable!

    Unbelievable!

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      September 10, 2014 12:04 pm

      Minecraft is big as an IP. I don’t think they are buying it, just to acquire what is there, but basically what they can turn it into with more resources and manpower. Plus is an ip that is bigger outside of consoles than other ip are. That kind of leverage can be equal to acquiring Bungie pre-Halo. But it depends heavily and what they do with it. Either way it is already established in so many mediums, PC/Mac, Consoles, iOS, Android, I really don’t see any other IP that is as evergreen as that one right now.

      I am really not surprised at the price tag. You can make it a Windows device exclusive for PCs, Windows Phones, Xbox, etc.

      plus the other thing is Minecraft is limited right now by its manpower. It hasn’t exploded in mobile like other platform yet because they haven’t finished the multiplayer portion properly yet. So it’s not even at xbox 360 level yet in MP and is still one of the top sellers.

      Once they do the IP will be even bigger

    • September 10, 2014 6:41 pm

      Interesting. Thanks for your perspective. I just don’t get it. I love retro gaming, but to me there is nothing gaming about Minecraft, and the stuff that one can make is so ugly, it is hard to look at. But, I am in the minority on that opinion as sales prove.

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 12, 2014 1:44 pm

      I have to agree with Frenik & Herandar about Minecraft, Suns. The magnitude of gamers on that game is staggering. That game alone has players as young as five to seniors playing it. There aren’t that many games out there that reach that kind of wide demographic. Look, I understand that it’s not your thing and it’s not mine either. However, judging a book by its cover is selling it short. Tsk, tsk…

    • Herandar permalink
      September 14, 2014 12:12 am

      On that note, my eight year old son and all of his friends are extremely into Minecraft to the point that I made him a Steve head and pickaxe out of cardboard for Halloween last year. He loved it.

      Both of my twin daughters, aged 5, also play it, though not with the same fanaticism.

  2. Herandar permalink
    September 12, 2014 7:51 am

    Mojang employs at least 22 people. Notch hasn’t worked on Minecraft in a long time. I think your analysis is a tad shallow.

    • September 12, 2014 10:02 am

      Hahaha. Fair enough. Let me just say this then, if I had 40 billion dollars, I wouldn’t pay 500,000 for Mojang. Even after reading Frenik’s solid argument for the value, I still think there are many other places that they could spend that money to much greater effect.

  3. September 12, 2014 10:07 am

    You know, I don’t even like these guys as much as I used to, but they sure think the same as I do, time and time again.

    And at the same time, they agree with Frenik, too.

    http://www.penny-arcade.com/news/post/2014/09/12/the-god-womb

Comments are closed.

