Skip to content

Best of E3 Awards

June 18, 2014

best-in-show

I don’t go in for giving games numerical/alphabetical ranking in reviews, nor do I take seriously a journalist’s top choice awards. However, Game Informer just released their Best of E3 Awards list and there are four things that caught my eye. Destiny made the list for Best MMO. Is that game even an MMO? Is it anything more than Halo meets Borderlands meets ME3 (which admittedly is enough for many)? Second, Ori and the Blind Forest, the game that took the Best Platformer Award is being compared to Metroid and Castlevania? Third, Assassin’s Creed Unity didn’t win any awards, nor did Rainbow Six Siege, The Division, BF:Hardline, or even Sunset Overdrive, but Evolve did. Evolve took Best Multiplayer, Best Shooter, Best Multi-Platform, and Best In Show. Look at the list of games that didn’t win any awards and then consider what Evolve took.

What do you think about the Awards? Now that the dust has settled, what games are now on your radar? I would love to see the list of games people are looking forward to and especially plan on buying in 2014. I know that Zos and Blank even set up a Google document for the purpose.

16 Comments
  1. June 18, 2014 1:47 pm

    My 2014 purchase list is short:

    Evolve

    However, I hope to try Sunset Overdrive and BF:Hardline if 3GN picks them up.

  2. Blankman permalink*
    June 18, 2014 6:48 pm

    Those are just the Gameinformer E3 awards. The other outlets haven’t released their lists yet. It’s good to know that Evolve won the majority of GI’s categories. As far as Destiny goes, they pretty much locked up that MMO category by default because there was simply no other title that competed against the title (on the console platforms).

    • June 18, 2014 8:53 pm

      Yes, I am looking forward to the other Best of Show lists, not for fanboi argument, but to get a heads-up on some games I might have missed.

      As regards Destiny, I think it is the only multi(all)-platform MMO for 2014, but it certainly isn’t the only MMO, and some of the new ones out, or coming out are big in name and features, not just marketing budget. Anyway, as per your plans, I think you best stay clear of it Kenny, because if you open that bag of chips, like a fat man, you won’t be able to stop until the bag is empty. Knowing Activision and Bungie, that won’t happen any time soon.
      Some of the other MMOs: Everquest Next, Landmark, Wildstar, Elderscrolls Online, Firefly Online, even Lego Minifigures Online.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 18, 2014 9:09 pm

      Destiny is the only console-specific MMO. That’s why I placed parentheses in back of it denoting that fact. πŸ™‚ I am not even remotely interested in Destiny as I’ve stated countless times in my posts regarding the game. So that door will stay closed.

      The games that I’m looking forward to for 2014 are: Evolve, AC: Unity, Sunset Overdrive, & Alien: Isolation (possibly). For 2015, I’m looking at The Witcher 3, Batman: AK, The Division, & Rainbow Six: Siege.

    • June 18, 2014 9:33 pm

      Yes, I understood your point about consoles only. πŸ™‚ What surprises me is that Game Informer is a wider video games site that covers PC too, not just consoles. Still, they chose Destiny. (Don’t take my persistence to mean that I am excited about the game.)

  3. June 19, 2014 11:26 am

    I will form my list shortly! πŸ™‚ Regarding Destiny, is it even an MMO (i actually don’t know). From what I have seen, it appears to be more like Borderlands with Halo MP thrown in there lol. If it is an actual MMO (no compromises), than this could actually be somewhat compelling, as most MMOs combat systems are VERY boring to watch (and yet fun to play).

    Evolve is definitely going to win Game of Show in most outlets, mainly because they were playable, out soon and new IP. There are a ton of other games I am excited about, I will break them up by release year later.

  4. June 20, 2014 7:04 am

    My award goes to…. The Stranded!! For posting such great coverage of the event, from beginning till end. Been so busy lately, and had just enough energy to click vids, and read posts. Thank You my brotha’s! Heading up to the cottage with a friend (two cars of kids). Gonna “put them to work”. Ha. Haha. And swimming and campfires of course.

    Love to all. Kenai

  5. June 20, 2014 12:49 pm

    Even though it wasn’t shown at E3, my “Best of E3” award goes to Outlast. This game is seriously some of the most original fun I’ve had in awhile. I plan on at least recording my whole playthrough of the game for everyone to enjoy my girlish screams. (Episode 2 is where it gets good.)

    • June 20, 2014 3:45 pm

      So much fun watching this live. Steph and I want to watch your next stream session too

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 20, 2014 4:39 pm

      If you dug Outlast, wait until up you get a load of Alien: Isolation! That’ll really get your heart rate going. The dynamic “reactive & adaptive” AI of the alien (Big Chap) and the Ridley Scott 1970s Alien film set pieces are really something to marvel at. I’ve been following this game ever since Creative Assembly teased development of it & they haven’t disappointed since. CA has been hard at work on the game for close to four years, and like TRS, they play their game every night. No game is ever the same because there’s no scripted circulation/movement patterns for the alien. The alien can be anywhere.

      I want everyone to forget about that Gearbox debacle (Randy Pitchford will never see another cent from me) with Aliens: Colonial Marines because CA’s Alien game is gonna rock! It’s due out this Oct. 7th, and my wallet is going to be hurting! 😦

    • June 20, 2014 6:14 pm

      i’m on board for this for the “artichoke” dip

    • June 20, 2014 8:01 pm

      1st RULE: You do not talk about the DD CLUB.

      2nd RULE: You DO NOT talk about the DD CLUB.

      These messages will be erased shortly hearafter.

    • June 20, 2014 5:55 pm

      Hey, watching someone play on Twitch can be a ton of fun. Haven’t been there for the earlier sessions but would love to see some later today when I get back from work. Glad Outcast is a good game. Thanks, Grymmie!

      As for Alien:Isolation, I really feel sorry for Creative Assembly because Gearbox did considerable and perhaps even permanent damage to that IP. The Devs haven’t had a fair shake of their demos because people can’t get the stench of A:CM out of their noses (tt cost me fifteen bucks just to return that POS unopened). I will wait to watch you stream it, Kenny. I am pretty sure it will be good, but I am gonna wait and see with this one.

      OT I want to put it in writing, getting things for half price makes customers buy three times as much.

    • June 20, 2014 6:15 pm

      No doubt. This + Gold Member Deals (and free games) will literally get everyone digital. I know Steam Sales alone, are the reason I haven’t purchased a physical PC game in over 5 years

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 20, 2014 6:22 pm

      You couldn’t be any more correct about the bad hangover from Gearbox’s FUBAR, Suns. Creative Assembly hasn’t received any benefit of doubt due to all of the damage that’s been done to anything related to the Alien franchise (game-wise). And that is very unfortunate because what’s been shown and experienced of A:I so far has been impressive. Despite the fact that I’m an Alien homer, I can honestly say that Isolation looks very promising.

  6. June 21, 2014 12:43 am

    OT

Comments are closed.

