Skip to content

Battlefield: Hardline

May 28, 2014

Visceral is making the next Battlefield game. We knew that EA would be wanting to compete with the annual CoD diarrhea flow, but it wasn’t until this leak that we knew exactly what their plans were. Formerly named “Omaha”, which you will hear throughout the video below, Battlefield:Hardline is Payday with massive destructible environments, “Levolution”, and vehicles. I was almost hopeful until I saw that they are not scaling things back. As I mentioned in a previous comment, I am convinced that it is indeed tickrate that is causing the “netcode” problems for BF4, and that the current national and international Internet infrastructure cannot support the data transfer required to make these games “playable”. I suppose I have probably been wrong more than I have been right, so because I love BF, I am hoping that I am dead wrong on this. (And even that BF4 gets the server love it needs – for graphics, animations, and sheer scale, it is undoubtedly “next gen”.)

Gamespot’s copy is currently still live. If it gets shutdown, just search YouTube. Paste is out of the tube and can’t be put back in.

17 Comments
  1. Average permalink*
    May 28, 2014 10:32 pm

    Big nope from me sadly! Love me some BF4, but I think i’ll take a break and watch to see if the release goes well. (Or eat my own words and get it if it looks so fantastic)

    anyone pick up Watch Dogs?

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 28, 2014 11:02 pm

      Grymmie & Zos picked up Watchdogs. rED’s copy is in MS limbo due to a plethora of screw-ups starting from his bank flagging his purchase as potentially fraudulent. I’ll let him tell the rest of the story himself.

      rED Grymmie read an article indicating that Visceral was doing the single player campaign & DICE was handling the MP. If that’s true, you can most likely count me out. DICE is fresh from their FUBAR of BF4, and they’re handling both Star Wars Battlefront & BF: Hardline?!? Unbelievable.

    • June 2, 2014 8:50 am

      That was me who read that article, Blank 😉

      And it turns out the Visceral is ‘leading’ the MP development, with DICE “assisting.”

      I take it with a grain of salt, but if Visceral is in fact the Headmasters, it could take BF MP in a newer direction.

      EDIT: Just caught your comment at the bottom, Blank. I agree it is a sign in the right direction. I have no loss of faith in Visceral. Like I’ve said in Party Chat, I absolutely loved the Dead Space series.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 29, 2014 12:08 am

      DL’d my copy of Watch Dogs earlier today and played some before work. Seems pretty cool so far. The whole idea of using hacking as the main gameplay mechanic is very interesting. Gameplay is solid so far from what i’ve played. I hear it gets pretty complicated the further you get in the campaign. Looking forward to playing more soon.

  2. May 29, 2014 10:38 am

    Quantum Break won’t be at E3 this year… but the new gameplay they released today looks amazing.

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/05/29/quantum-break-release-date-slips-to-2015?abthid=5387430def4ecfd44800000e

    • May 29, 2014 2:14 pm

      This year’s E3 is a mystery to me. So many games have been announced to not be making an appearance at the show, and those that are, are for a release date in 2015, which means they might well be at E3 next year, too!

      One thing this does is ensure is that Evolve gets the attention Turtle Rock deserves. People are gonna be starving for something to see, play, and talk about! LMAO!

      Seriously, what have we got?

      Titanfall – cool but really lacking in content, and its already out.

      WatchDogs – Cool but that is already out, too, doods.

      CoD: Advanced Warfare – meh!

      Destiny – MEH, What are they thinking?!

      Halo 5 – meh with a slight chance of “cool”

      Black Tusk Gears of War – Very Cool but with intermittent flashbacks of abuse and pain and knee-clutching while crying in the corner

      Sunset Overdrive – Cool (but like cotton candy, fluffy with no lasting substance.)

      NHL15 – You know what, maybe we should all just get into sports games. Then we would always have a weekend, community game! At the very least, I will enjoy hearing rED and Grymm’s excited anticipation over the new footage…which just looks like hockey to me. 😉

      The Division – whatever they give will be watched 10s of times and questions of the veracity of even a 2015 release will float like bubbles in our thoughts to temper anticipation

      Evolve – Sunny, blue skies, with some gentle cool breezes till evening at which point we can expect thrilling thunder showers for storm chasers not afraid to risk their lives. WHEW!

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 30, 2014 12:09 am

      Batman: Arkham Knight, baby!!! You can’t forget about the Dark Knight! A bit of bad news was confirmed today that Remedy’s Quantum Break has been delayed until 2015. We all saw it coming, but it still sucks. It already stings that The Witcher 3 & The Division (even ’15 may be too optimistic according to Massive) have already been delayed. As rED said in tonight’s party chat, it puts a premium on the games actually releasing this year.

    • June 3, 2014 11:36 pm

      B:AK – pushed out till 2015, baby!!!

      LMAO!

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 4, 2014 12:22 am

      And you take pleasure in this, Suns? (smh)

    • June 4, 2014 2:29 am

      You misunderstand. I don’t take pleasure, but I do find it laugh inducing that the only additional game you could mention as something to look forward, has also been delayed.

      I found humor in using your words back in the reply. In fact, I am still laughing about it.

  3. May 30, 2014 10:04 am

  4. May 31, 2014 7:14 am

    OT

    Remember this guy? Bwahahahahaha Legendary stuff!

    And this is cool.

    And everything is broken.

  5. Blankman permalink*
    June 1, 2014 11:13 pm

    Some promising news about BF: Hardline was confirmed today. Visceral general manager, Steve Papoutsis, stated on Twitter that Visceral is responsible for both the SP & MP of Hardline, with collaboration from DICE. Hmmm, interesting…

  6. June 2, 2014 8:51 am

    I think this looks great. Not a true BF game, but looks sweet none the less. That said, if they don’t improve the refresh rate from 10 hz, I’m not going to be buying….

    Subnote: Missed you guys this weekend! But have a nice time at the cottage getting a ton of work done while my dad recovers from surgery.

  7. June 2, 2014 11:01 am

    Forza Horizon 2 (xbone and 360) and Mortal Kombat X (multi-plat) just got announced. At this rate, E3 is just going to be cycling through already seen previews -_-.

  8. June 2, 2014 6:43 pm

    LOL@Zos. It seems you and I take turns being pessimistic about E3. (Pessimism that is born out of the fear of dashed hopes, I think.)

    Anyway, several things are significant about Visceral taking charge of MP, and explicitly announcing such. First, I think it is Visceral trying to distance themselves from the netcode fubar that is BF4MP. Second, at the very least, it means fresh eyes on the code with perhaps higher standards and different goals that will allow for the necessary compromises/changes to be made so that gameplay (bullet detection, controls etc.) trumps whatever DICE has been making priority over gameplay.

    Now, if Visceral pulls it off, then with the features of Frostbite (destruction, vehicles, significant map changes during skirmishes etc.) this could be a SWAT game better than any that have proceeded it. SWAT actually isn’t my favorite genre, but then again, neither was “realistic” shooters. I would love to do a wait and see with this one. At this point, the only game that I am ready to “rush in” is Evolve.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 2, 2014 8:41 pm

      First of all, realistic shooters FTW! That was the genre that got me into PC gaming. Games such as Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, and Swat 3 & 4 were the cat’s meow.

      Secondly, you better believe that Visceral is distancing themselves from DICE. Anything that has DICE coding the MP is too hot to handle. Hot as in a steaming pile of sh!t. I could just imagine the chorus of groans when the trailer “leaked” and there were rumors floating around that said DICE was handling the MP. I, myself, let out a huge groan of disappointment.

Comments are closed.

