Skip to content

An Indecent Proposal

May 6, 2014

Playing, and writing about, Gears of War for the past couple of days has brought back some good times.  There was plenty of reason for us to have loved the game so much.  Still, it does come at a price no matter how we try to set things up.  So, I got to thinkin’, how can we scratch the itch without having it hurt so much?

Then, I thought of Judgment sitting on my shelf (bought used a couple of months after release) and after trying it, I can say with confidence that it really is GoW1.5 – sans dedicated servers and our favorite maps.  Most of you didn’t play the game beyond the Overrun demo and I respect that.  I think that one of the biggest barriers to buying Judgment when it was released was the idea of putting more money into Epic’s pocket.  However, now that the game has been out for a while, most of you can pick it up for 10 dollars used (with free shipping) and not a single cent will go back to that cash-grabbin’ blah blah blah company.  I was also checking out the lobbies, and private match options, and the host can rotate maps between matches, and we can go 4v4 or 5v5 with or without bots filling the slots.  For $50, it was the principle of the thing.  We had to just say “No”.  For 10 bucks, this game is an outstanding step up from the original Gears.  What do you say?  Are you in?

P.S.  This is my 999th post.

26 Comments
  1. May 6, 2014 12:02 am

    Zos, can you provide a link to the forum post you made so that I can “bump” it? I couldn’t find it earlier (I think it got buried immediately).

  2. May 7, 2014 6:48 am

    Houston, we have a problem.

    I had forgotten how incredibly lacking in content the original game is. In order for you to have the 10 Execution maps and the 7 Overrun maps, you need to buy the VIP pass (for whatever dollars).

    Having said that, I have been playing it whenever I get a chance this week and am thoroughly enjoying Overrun with 9 bots! LOL Still, that $10 is actually $15+, plus a VIP Pass for $20?! So you are lookin’ at $35 to “Jump in”. I would love it if you did, but I can’t blame you for not.

    With the VIP pass there are 10 Execution maps, and another 7 maps for Overrun.

  3. May 7, 2014 7:12 am

    OT

    THIS could be outstanding!

    Based upon characters published by DC Entertainment and produced by Warner Bros. Television, GOTHAM is an origin story of the great DC Comics Super-Villains and vigilantes, revealing an entirely new chapter that has never been told. Starring Ben McKenzie (“Southland,” “The O.C.”), Donal Logue (“Sons of Anarchy,” “Terriers,” “Vikings,” “Copper”) and Jada Pinkett Smith (“The Matrix” films, “HawthoRNe”), GOTHAM follows one cop’s rise through a dangerously corrupt city teetering on the edge of evil and chronicles the birth of one of the most popular super heroes of our time. Executive producer Bruno Heller (“The Mentalist”) wrote the pilot, which was directed and executive-produced by Emmy Award nominee Danny Cannon (the “CSI” franchise, “Nikita”). John Stephens will serve as an executive producer on the series.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 7, 2014 12:06 pm

      DEFINITELY looking forward to checking this show out! Also, if no ones ever watched 24, I suggest you take a look into it. The new season began on Monday, and it seems like its going to be just as good as the previous seasons!

  4. May 7, 2014 10:12 am

    I have already paid for the dlc (I think), but traded in my game. I can re-buy if it is something we are going to play.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 7, 2014 12:02 pm

      I can do the same as well. I’ll just buy it off of Games on Demand if its at a somewhat reasonable price. I’m kind of interested to see what kind of “competition” is still playing online, for lack of a better word.

  5. May 7, 2014 5:04 pm

    Don’t see myself purchasing now, if we get a solid group who will get the game/DLC, I will cave.

  6. May 7, 2014 6:31 pm

    With the cash requirement to jump in, I have no interest in persuading anyone. The Stink of Brink will never leave me and I will never have that kind of thing on my conscience again (even though most of you were able to bail before the game lost all its value).

    Having said that, this is what I want to be playing on the weekend. I think the boys will be picking up one more copy as well, because of the digital double dip DLC. I played a couple more rounds of Overrun with 9 bots and I had a ton of fun. It really is Gears 1 fixed, and the Overrun mode on seven different maps is very fresh.

    @RoBBins, there are very few “randoms” playing the game anymore. Like, I mean probably under a hundred. I knew that from the beginning, but I really wouldn’t want to play this with the public anyway.

    More than any other, Gears was our community-only game. If we wanted to get a community together so that we could have a full room (we only need 8 total) it wouldn’t be too hard to find some nice people from the forums if we ourselves couldn’t fill the slots.

  7. May 7, 2014 7:04 pm

    Robbins. First off. 24 is scheduled on my dvr. If we fold laundry tonight, we’ll watch episode 1. 2 hrs!

    2nd. Get Judgment. I am. I have the season pass. It’ll give us a chance to play together more. Even though I traded it in, I really liked it. Problem was, I played 90% with randoms.

    Suns. Agreed. I think we were/are just sore with the Gears franchise. Campaign was fun, and mp is solid. I couldn’t believe how empty the multiplayer was, even at the beginning. I kept thinking “word will get around how good mp is.” Never happened. Gears was off the radar, even from loyal fans.

    Gears 1 last weekend was horrid for me. I try and put on a good face, but it was unplayable. Guessing where I think the shot is going to hit is not a good time, no matter how nostalgic one may be. It’s like the lag got worse over time.

    But….

    Good choice on coming up with Judgement. We can get our Gears fix from time to time, but am still enjoying Titanfall and BF4. Btw, I still throw in LFD2 every few weeks.

    • May 7, 2014 9:31 pm

      Hey, L4D in any flavor is always a possibility. However, on a side point, that was never a closed community game to the same extent as Gears was. L4D became infuriating because a single mistake by a teammate could often be pointed at as the cause of all four dying. If I recall correctly, we enjoyed playing that one against randoms more, where if we screwed up, we could just switch to “speed run” mode etc. etc. Closed community 4v4 was too intense, if I remember correctly.

      And… I just ordered another copy (of GoW:J) so that Johann or Cornie (or Tim) can join us.

  8. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 7, 2014 10:36 pm

    You are correct about private vs public games in the past. BUT as you know, the only remaining players in the L4D community are RIDICULOUS. Not just skilled, but they know every possible shortcut, “castle point”, and any other possible exploit.

    As intense as private games were, they would at least be playable. The last few times we have tried taking on randoms it’s just brutal and there’s no chance of fun or winning.

    My two cents as far as that game goes

    • May 7, 2014 11:59 pm

      I agree 100%, which is why it is even more limited than Gears, because we don’t really like to play it closed, and open the competition is basically omniscient. Still, for a lark, I will gladly play with y’all anytime.

    • May 8, 2014 7:01 am

      When I play LFD2, I play campaign with randoms. It is fun, and less stress.

  9. RoBBins permalink*
    May 8, 2014 12:33 pm

    Played a little L4D2 on PC last night by myself, just running through the campaign. If you guys have it on PC add me on steam so we can play sometime! Steam name is RoBBins. ❤

  10. May 8, 2014 2:48 pm

    Sunset Overdrive looks crazy, very “Insomniac”

    • May 8, 2014 8:58 pm

      I like the cartoony art.

    • May 8, 2014 9:53 pm

      Me too! I just watched on my TV at home, and the game is absolutely gorgeous.

    • Blankman permalink*
      May 8, 2014 10:12 pm

      A lot of Jet Set Radio flavor in the gameplay!

    • May 8, 2014 10:53 pm

      Totally brings me back, nostalgia wise, to the innovations that they brought with Ratchet & Clank when it came out.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      May 9, 2014 12:37 pm

      Looks like a lot of fun. Gonna keep my eye on this.

  11. Johann Nishiki permalink
    May 9, 2014 5:57 am

    Hey guys. Sorry, this is totally off topic but I recently made my own YouTube gaming channel, and I thought I would post some random clips that I made. Some of them are from our previous gaming sessions together. In the Titanfall clip, notice how my health gets taken down to almost nothing before I finally start shooting my enemy. I couldn’t believe that I was able to take him out. Ha ha. Anyway, I hope you guys enjoy!

    • May 9, 2014 6:28 pm

      I believe the game is in VERY capable hands. I am looking forward to following it and learning more. I would like to read that full interview at some point.

  12. May 9, 2014 6:28 pm

    The stink of brink. Hahahah. Suns, you crack me up man. I’m in for gears.

Comments are closed.

