Skip to content

Evolve info from PAX East

April 14, 2014

imageFor those of us that were anticipating a slew of new information about our next big game purchase, Evolve, there wasn’t much to glean. Outside of the twenty foot Goliath statue that was in front of the Evolve booth, the only new info was the redesign of the monster’s skillpoint system. Turtle Rock Studios had originally implemented set skills as the monster evolved. The PAX build now allows people playing as the monster to place skill points as they desire during its evolutionary stages. Therefore, each monster that you encounter is different and reflective of the player’s play style. Goliath has four abilities: rock throw, fire breath, leap smash, and dash charge. From the very start, the player is given three points to assign as they choose fit. Many who had a chance to demo the game realized that monsters that didn’t balance out offense and defense met death quickly. Those monster players that placed all of their skill points into ranged combat were vulnerable to the four hunters as they figured that CQC was the way to go.

The only level that was playable at the event was the same jungle level that was made available to game journalists back in February’s reveal. In addition, the Goliath and four default Hunters were the only playable characters. That was disappointing for those who have followed this game closely. Evolve is on track for its September release, but the PAX event didn’t offer us anything new & exciting to talk about. Although E3 is several months away, TRS must be saving those reveals until then.

6 Comments
  1. April 14, 2014 7:25 pm

    That’s okay by me. I’m sold with what I’ve seen. Any more info and footage is bonus. We didn’t see much from L4D, and I liked how surprised we were.

    On another note, I am really liking the BF4 dlc. The carrier assault mode is really fun. Like a conquest / rush blend. The rush type ending on board a carrier is pretty intense. Had a squad of 5 with mics last night. We had a Blast, won 5 straight games before heading to bed.

  2. April 14, 2014 7:55 pm

    Thanks for the screenshot and info. I couldn’t find anything over the weekend.

    As far as I am concerned, I wouldn’t even mind if TR kept the rest of the game to themselves (i.e., I wouldn’t even mind going dark on this one). Because of the design of the game, I’ve no doubt that it will fit very well with my GAP.

    The only thing that I would hope to hear word about is server browsers, netcoding, and polish. I am sure we will hear more and that I will be all over every scrap, but again, I am already sold on the game. Now, if they will just offer pre-order bonuses for those who buy digitally.

    EDIT: Brought over from the previous thread (PAX 14 Impressions of Evolve)

  3. April 14, 2014 11:25 pm

    Here is an impressions article from GI, and another from Gamespot. Both are solid reads.

    OT For my own reference – every kind of consumer gaming related stat publicly available on Steam.

    http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2014/04/introducing-steam-gauge-ars-reveals-steams-most-popular-games/

    And OT a great article illustrating the difference between EA and Ubisoft. Now, if only Ubisoft made more games that I like.

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 19, 2014 10:14 pm

    • April 20, 2014 6:28 pm

      Nice!

      Those dr0p kills are harder to get than I thought they would be. Cheers!

Comments are closed.

