Skip to content

Titanfall DLC Incoming in May

April 12, 2014

imageThe first offering of DLC for Titanfall has just been announced at Saturday’s PAX East. It is titled “Titanfall Expedition” and will include three maps: Swampland, Runoff, and War Games. Swampland will have trees and vines acting as ziplines strewn across the map while Runoff will utilize pipes and a lot of water, respectively. War Games will be based on the training simulator at the beginning of the game proper. Apparently, War Games has a Tron-like flavor to the map.  The new maps will not be implemented into any “campaign,” but will have additional set-pieces to add background to the TF universe. The DLC is slated for a May release and will be priced at $10 or $25 for the Season Pass (three DLC offerings at a savings of $5). So, are we planning on picking this up as a community?

There will also be “free content” as well according to EA. The ability to customize decals onto your Titans and a spectator mode will be implemented. You’ve been forewarned about the bevy of immature insignias that will no doubt be created by the TF community. Additional Burn cards have also been promised. Since all game modes are part of the free content according to an earlier promise by Vince Zampella, the 2 vs. 2 mode of ‘Wingman LTS’ (Last Titan Standing) will be included. That last part is a huge “meh” (cue yawn). What is this, Epic Games’ Gears of War: Judgment modes?!? You’d think that Respawn would be more original. Sheesh.

9 Comments
  1. April 12, 2014 8:06 pm

    Thanks, Kenny! I just noticed a much briefer announcement of this over at Game Informer, so all the extra info is greatly appreciated! 😀

    I am not as hot and bothered about TF as I was in the beginning of March, so I not rushing out to give them my money. At the same time, I am enjoying the game and am hopeful that the matchmaking, server selection, and maybe even the framerates etc. will improve. Right now, framerates, server selection, and community participation with a 90 second count-down before matches, are my biggest concerns for the longevity of this game.

    TF’s current state isn’t much less buggy/problematic than BF4 and BF4 has one heck of a lot more variety in gameplay, maps, modes, guns, and vehicles. However, I am used to putting up with more crap (including my own lack of mad skillz) in all my games than some of you, so I am more tolerant with all those in-game issues. (Where I lack tolerance/patience is in the One OS itself. That I struggle with daily.)

    All this to say, I am in if everyone else is, but I don’t mind waiting until the maps are released and we get a good look at them. What else are we rushing to play/buy? LOL

    And yes to the MEH comment about the gametypes. In this regard, Respawn is demonstrating an embarrassing lack of creativity/innovation.

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 13, 2014 12:15 am

      My enthusiasm for Titanfall has also cooled. Nothing can maintain that kind of hype that TF generated. As rED mentioned the other night to Johann when asked if he had tried the new BF4 content, it’s pretty much TF or nothing. I will admit that I still enjoy playing the game due to the fact that there’s not much out there. However, I can only take it in doses. The highs are highs and the lows are lows. Sometimes, I get stuck in a rut where I’m dying when the kill cam clearly shows that I should have come out on top of confrontations. That’s simply rage inducing. The server selection issue of late are frustrating to say the least, and I can’t begin to think about what you guys are experiencing in Japan. Although I think the server issues started appearing when Respawn implemented their “improved matchmaking,” I have no doubt that Respawn is actively trying to improve overall gameplay experience at a progressive pace. If it weren’t for years accustomed to playing with lag, your boys would be raging and putting their fists through their display screens. Yet, they’re still able to overcome these negative situations and continue to lead the leader boards. That is true skill!

      I would have to disagree with your comparison of the problematic issues between TF & BF4, Suns. The bugs in BF4 were game breaking, and it’s still broken to this day! DICE knows it and tries to circumvent any real discussion about them by employing their smoke & mirrors strategy. There’s a reason why none of us have gone back to that game. Also, MS XBL customer support has offered little resistance in refunding us for BF4’s Season Pass. You know the game’s pooched when MS starts granting refund requests/demands! The fact remains that the game is still full of bugs that DICE can’t seem to fix. I seriously doubt that they ever will. Even though BF4 has all kinds of things happening like vehicles, guns, modes, etc., what good are those aspects when there’s no consistency? Broken is broken, no matter how they try to sell it.

      P.S. rED’s thirty second mode suggestion IS definitely better than the crap that Respawn cooked up.

    • April 13, 2014 2:04 am

      Understood. I haven’t played much BF4, and none of it lately, so I will take your word for it. The fact that I haven’t bought a copy of it shows where I stand with the game. BTW, rED, did you get your refund for Premium? I had heard that you weren’t bothering and I was wondering why, or if that has since changed.

      Agreed about rED’s gametype. It is perplexing that game devs always seem to struggle with such simple things. They can create these amazing games, but miss out on some of the simplest ideas. Idiot savants, all.

      Tons of fun grabbin’ those games with you guys! Great hearing your voices and sharing the highs and lows like old times. I am really diggin’ havin’ my weekends free again.

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      April 13, 2014 6:02 am

      I didn’t go after a refund because I still plan on playing BF4 more. No matter how good a game is it eventually needs a break, so I still have Battlefield on reserve for that break (which looks to be very soon)

  2. rEDChief55 permalink*
    April 12, 2014 10:18 pm

    Capture the Titan. My idea for a game mode that took about 30 seconds to think of and would be infinitely more fun/varied/creative than 2 v 2 titans

  3. April 13, 2014 8:36 pm

    Ok rED. Then, I will try some BF4 with you at some point in the future.

    • Herandar permalink
      April 14, 2014 10:37 pm

      I’ve been playing BF4 and enjoying Naval Strike maps quite a bit. But then again, the issues that others find game breaking have never really bothered me much. I’m used to losing firefights, so it doesn’t induce rage. The only issue that has affected me lately was some harsh rubber banding that made walking an adventure but I could still shoot people fine.

      I will still play BF4 for the foreseeable future. I just want them to make a new Bad Company…

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 14, 2014 12:58 am

    negative on my end. I haven’t reached “let’s get to generation 9” addictiveness towards the game and thus i feel it is right now just filling the xbox one void. However it feels like they are not done with putting more stuff in it in terms of game modes and improvements, so we shall see what it becomes. Until then i am just happy to have a game worthy of the one purchase and fun enough to replay over and over. BF4 was a major dud for me, we bought it twice and it quickly cooled down to the point of possible trade in on the ps4 and 360. but they give less than $10. which is the only reason we have kept it so far.

    just hope elder scrolls works well. Otherwise I will go back to the 360 full time again, GTA V and Diablo 3 are still way more fun after months of release.

  5. April 17, 2014 6:31 pm

    The Final Hours of Titanfall

    Excerpt here.

Comments are closed.

