Skip to content

Titanfall Launch Video

March 5, 2014

I embedded this video in a comment shortly after Herandar posted about Project Spark.  I am sure that everyone has already watched it, but I am finding that I can’t keep it off the front page any longer.  When you see the wall-running, “epic” doesn’t begin to do it justice.  This isn’t just some pretty, falsely-claimed, under-1080p Killzone Shadow Fall footage that looks great, but plays barely more innovative than Call of Duty 3.  We know, we’ve played it already.

What you see in the video is exactly what you are going to get when you play it.  And more, because Respawn has cut the strings.  The freedom of movement in Titanfall as compared with the movement in other games, is like the difference between Mr. Anderson at the beginning of The Matrix and Neo at the end.

You play Titanfall, you take the red pill, and you get to see just how deep the rabbit-hole goes.  To Sony Fanbois I say, “Dodge this!”

9 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    March 5, 2014 10:38 am

    You mean TitanFAIL. Hur hur hur… 1080P!

    I’m sorry, I’ve weaned myself from all other gaming sites, so I find the PS4 variant of fanboi-ism entertaining rather than exhausting. As if name-calling and a singular spec means anything.

  2. March 5, 2014 5:59 pm

    Details on the Season’s Pass etc.

    The original source interview is here (a Gamespot Video Interview).

    Articles summarizing the content of the interview, GameInformer , Shacknews, and Official Site announcement.

    Also, relevant to our crew, news on the timing of Twitch broadcasting.

    Finally, just a note about the common sense approach editorial from GameInformer:

      Our Take
      I’ve become more cautious about season passes, and I’ve yet to purchase one that I’ve seen all the way through (Mortal Kombat was the closest, with Injustice a close second). They tend to be foolish expenditures for me. As much as I like Titanfall, I’ll wait until the first DLC is knocking at the door before I make a decision.

    We have all bought Season’s Passes in the heat of the moment, before even the first map pack is unveiled. And I think most of us have regretted it at one point or another. It takes discipline, but I don’t think it is stingy or stubborn to wait until at least the first DLC map pack is unveiled, or better yet, on sale, before one makes the $5 savings plunge.

  3. March 5, 2014 6:36 pm

    First of all. Great video. Gonna watch it again.

    Second. I swear, I check our blog more than I do my phone or email…. Thank you Suns and Blank for creating The Stranded. How many years have we had this site? 4? Gearheads, masters… Gearheads again.. And we finally circled around to our core. And one more thing. I’ve been recruiting gamers to the site Because of Titanfall. This game is too sweet not to add a few new guys. We’ve met some cool ones recently, and there is another Gackeywacky out there somewhere. I hope we game chat sometimes, cause I’ve met a lot of cool people playing BF, and Titanfall beta.

    Lastly, after watching that trailer, I am so hoping we get good at pilot flying. That is the real reason I think Titanfall has captured everyone’s imagination. It’s not the giant robots (although they are very sweet, and I’ve only tried Atlas) It’s cause you almost don’t want to be in a Titan (put that sucker on autopilot), and do what you really want to do. And that’s Flying!

    For Training, we are gonna have our best flyers lead the rest of us in some “follow the leader”, so we can learn the terrain. I am convinced that most maps can be flown across without touching the ground. The are only a couple main paths to follow. Once we learn those, We Fly through this game. And this game was Built for flying. Whoever gets there first, and has the high ground, wins.

    THAT is what I want to get good at. Once we get that down, add that to our teamwork, and We are going to Dominate.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 5, 2014 10:36 pm

      Hello
      Sniffle… LOL In all seriousness, we all made this site. It took all of our individual personalities to make this place into what it is today. We had a void or ‘black hole’ to fill, and we filled it. Yeah, we’ve lost some along the way, but gained many more. However, the core has always been the same. We’ve gamed, laughed, and shared life’s adventures for over eight years now. That is a feat of not just our longevity as a group, but as friends. Thanks for the warm sentiments, Jimmy. The feeling is definitely mutual. 😀

    • March 6, 2014 12:00 am

      As Kenny said, it is everyone’s site, and the feelings are mutual!

      Lots of great times ahead of us, too!

  4. Blankman permalink*
    March 6, 2014 12:14 am

    So OT: I laughed so hard when I read this. I described this to Grymmie & rED during party chat, and we all laughed. Here’s the actual comic.

  5. Average permalink*
    March 8, 2014 12:37 pm

    JEEEEZ That video….

Comments are closed.

