Skip to content

Project Spark Beta

March 4, 2014

I know that most of you are entirely in with Titanfall, and the upcoming release. But for those of you that aren’t (or those that play multiple games at the same time) the Beta for Project Spark is coming to the Xbox One today. I signed up a couple of months ago and got my invite near immediately. I will be getting it today.

I’m honestly not sure what to expect. It sounds like an attempt to get the Little Big Planet crowd and it looks like you can pretty much make any common type of game. I suspect we will see a number of mediocre derivatives of popular games, but who knows what might be created? Check it out.

Major Nelson’s Post

8 Comments
  1. March 4, 2014 12:23 pm

    For those interested, this page gives some info on how to get in as well as the direct link to sign up to the beta. The beta is 1.44gb and can be located by saying, “Xbox… Bing -> ‘Project Spark.’ Anyone can download the beta, you just need a code to access the game’s content.

  2. March 4, 2014 2:53 pm

    Thanks, Herandar!

    I know that Cornie has been interested in this since it was first announced. I don’t think he signed up for a beta, so Grymmie’s link will be helpful for actually gaining access. Tons of potential.

    P.S. I took the liberty of embedding the YouTube video for the readers’ convenience. I hope you don’t mind.

    • Herandar permalink
      March 4, 2014 4:07 pm

      Was trying to get the picture to the top of the post, but couldn’t find a way to edit that easily on my phone.

      And I gave the game a spin during lunch. The default game is not going to win any awards, but it was interesting. Basically you procedurally generate a three dimensional landscape and then pick and choose the parts that make up your quest.

  3. March 4, 2014 3:22 pm

    Actually quite excited about this.

  4. March 10, 2014 3:22 am

    This is pretty cool and shows the power of the software and a child’s ability to learn.

Comments are closed.

