Skip to content

While We Wait

February 19, 2014

imageAfter the Titanfall Alpha, all I wanted to do was play Titanfall again, and I was surprised by my own dissatisfaction with everything else. Now the Beta has come and gone and we are still left with a two week wait. While it is no substitute, there is a pretty cool game coming out on the 25th, and it looks to have enough rum in the punch to keep us blissfully silly, having fun and playing together, ’till March 11th.

In case you don’t plan on watching the video, allow me to summarize some of the gameplay, and then urge you to watch. Popcap has borrowed from everyone and Garden Warfare offers asymmetrical, class-based, TF2/Conker’s Bad Fur Day/Battlefield/GoW OverRun type gameplay. Really, this game has WAY more on the disc that I was ever expecting. For those of you with daughters, this may be the game that you can use to get them into gaming. split-screening at your side. Again, at the very least, it should be fun enough to take our minds off what we really want to play, and tide us over until the 11th, and it is forty and not sixty bucks. As I mentioned in a comment before, Tim is buying it for Cornie for his birthday, so there will always be at least two of us playing come the 25th. Now, click play on that video.

P.S. It is possible that EA/Popcap will release a demo, and if it is similar in scope to the GoW:J Overrun demo, that may actually be enough for two weeks for those unwilling/unable to buy.

11 Comments
  1. February 20, 2014 10:14 am

    Wow. That looks a lot more fun than the previous videos I have seen. Also, gorgeous to look at.

    Another game coming out is Dark Souls 2, which is going to be absolutely incredible. The only problem is that it is not on Xbone (only 360/ps3). The PC version is apparently going to be out within a couple of months after that release, and that is likely when I will pick it up.

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 20, 2014 4:16 pm

      When Dark Souls 2 is available for PC, I wouldn’t be surprised that Namco Bandai announces that it will be making it to the XB1 & PS4. They’re already contemplating bringing it over.

      As far as PvZ: Garden Warfare, I may just have to pass on it. It looks like fun, but I have to pick and choose my games wisely since Sherri gave the go ahead for a new headset for the XB1. I decided on the Polk Melee headset which is compatible with both the 360 & the One. After all of the savings and subsidized cost of purchasing MS’ wireless headset adapter (not necessary now because Polk has a free upgrade offer), I wound up paying $38 on what was supposed to be $200. You guys know that I try to work the deals. 😉 I’ll give my review of how it works with the One when I receive my headset adapter from Polk Audio sometime in early March.

  2. February 21, 2014 7:03 am

    Major Nelson is gives it a go through.

    And that image, Blank, is hilarious!

  3. Herandar permalink
    February 23, 2014 7:59 pm

    I’m planning on picking up my copy late Monday night. Really looking forward to playing a cartoony shooter again. Just wish a TimeSplitters sequel would actually be made one of these days.

  4. February 24, 2014 1:11 am

    It is gonna be quite a bit of fun, with all the “addiction” trimmings. (the boys just sent me the link below)

  5. Herandar permalink
    February 25, 2014 9:07 am

    It is quite fun, and getting good reviews. Played for a couple of hours last night and while I only played the co-op mode against bots, I really enjoyed it a lot. Your team has to work together to survive the 10 rounds, but it never felt unfair. The one series that me and four randoms (no mics) finished were when me and one other guy focused on healing the team and our ‘turrets’. The two guys that focused on zombie killing eventually learned to stay with the rest and not run off unless the mission required us to destroy a spawn point. Tactics matter more than reflexes in this.

    I’m going to play this with my son this weekend if he keeps on top of his schoolwork. Will probably venture into full MP once I level up all of my plants to unlock the two extra abilities, which should only take me three more games. Personally, I can see myself playing this for a long time.

    • February 25, 2014 9:59 am

      Thanks for the impressions Herandar. I think I shall be picking this up as well.

  6. February 25, 2014 5:16 pm

    I watched Tim and Cornie play last night, and while the Plants seemed a little bulky/unwieldy, it looked like a TON of fun. It is definitely team-work focused, which makes it more a game that I want to play rather than one I don’t. The only complaint I have is that there is no assist points for kills – so it does feel like you are getting your kills “stolen” when someone places the final shot on a boss that you have been workin’ for 3 minutes. That is something, however, that Popcap may even be able to change if enough people complain about it.

    Otherwise, it is GREAT, and a fantastic alternative to all other “serious” shooters. Love the foil wrap packs for cards. It really does borrow all the best from all first and third person shooters thus far.

  7. February 25, 2014 6:42 pm

    Just started downloading it. Yes, I need this. That’s what I decided 10 minutes ago anyway.

    Wish it was $30, but it will get some use with the kids too.

    Will be on later this evening.

    Oh here is a good review

    http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/02/25/plants-vs-zombies-garden-warfare-review

  8. March 2, 2014 3:37 am

    The reviews are putting up all sorts of legitimate complaints, except that the boys love it. And love and pleasure win out over game design flaw. I guess that is why we played Gears of War almost exclusively for two years.

    And if I were playing it, I would probably be talking like the sunflower.

    Only 9 more days ’till Titanfall.

    • March 2, 2014 9:15 am

      We’re having some fun with It. Cartoon Battlefield.

      Level 18. Sticker stickers stickers

      Yes, Titanfall needs to Drop.

Comments are closed.

