Skip to content

The Broncos At The Superbowl

February 2, 2014
by

6 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    February 2, 2014 7:48 pm

    I expected Pete Carroll’s Seahawks to win, but that was pure domination. I couldn’t believe the shellacking that was handed to the Broncos. I can’t stand Peyton Manning or the Broncos, so needless to say- I’m overjoyed. They were completely outclassed in every facet of the game. It got so bad that I had to cringe even though I was clapping like crazy. Hahaha!

  2. February 2, 2014 11:59 pm

    The Seahawks played well, but the way the Broncos played, anybody could’ve won. They did it to themselves. Fumbles, interceptions – a disaster. In hindsight now, thinking about the first play when the hiked-ball went sailing over Peyton’s right shoulder – it is pure comedy gold now and will be in every football NG/Blunders video from this point on. At the time it was just, “Ok, first play jitters but you can recover from the lost points. Hope it isn’t an omen, but it doesn’t have to be.” But it was all downhill from then on.

    I always want the Superbowl to be close regardless of whether my favorite team is playing or not. But dang! I couldn’t remember a blowout like that since the Broncos lost in 1990. I don’t know the Seahawks from a hole in the ground, and while I like Elway, I don’t care about the rest of the Broncos. I was just hoping for a good game. Instead, it was the NFL blooper highlight reel all in one single 60 minute game.

    “Laces out!”

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 3, 2014 12:17 am

      You are incorrect that “anybody could’ve won” against the Broncos, Suns. Since you “don’t know the Seahawks from a hole in the ground,” let me educate you about them. There’s a reason why the Seahawks were the best defensive team in the entire NFL this season. They averaged 13.6 turnovers and had four in this game alone. This team creates mistakes because of their special teams and speed on defense. Every play is challenged. Pete Carroll had the USC Trojans’ defenses playing the same way when SC dominated college football. The Seahawks caused all of the fumbles and interceptions with the exception of the safety on the first twelve seconds of the game. With coverage and pressure in the pocket like the Seahawks were able to generate and maintain, it forces mistakes. To say that the Broncos did it to themselves couldn’t be further from the truth. The Seahawks did it to them. Look what they did to the 49ers two weeks ago. They forced two important INTs from Kaepernick, the second one with :22 left in the game to seal the win. That’s shutdown defense, brutha.

      I agree that I want the Super Bowl to be a close game no matter which two teams are playing. The complete dismantling of the Broncos was a foregone conclusion when Harvin ran the second half opening kick-off for a touchdown. I couldn’t understand why everyone had the Broncos as two-point favorites all week long. Speed kills, and Seattle has speed that simply could not be matched by Denver. IMO, the “Super Bowl” was the NFC championship game. Now that was an awesome game with the Seahawks vs. the 49ers!

    • February 3, 2014 12:46 am

      Thanks for the education. I will take your word for it, because I wasn’t able to watch even the highlight reels of the games this year. Missed out on the entire season.

      All I know is that the highlights that I watched (as NFL.com posted them – I didn’t watch the full game), the Broncos looked bad.

      I bet Kapernick is feeling better about his loss to the ‘Hawks now that they have won the prize!

    • February 3, 2014 1:52 pm

      “I always want the Superbowl to be close regardless of whether my favorite team is playing or not.”

      That’s another example as to why I love hockey so much. Since each round is a best of 7, any team could blow out their opponents, be it 1 or even 3 games, but the other team could rally to 4 straight wins and move on/win the Cup. It makes the playoffs, or even the Finals that much more nerve racking because it is never necessarily over in the first 3 games, no matter how bad either team loses.

  3. February 3, 2014 3:46 pm

    Good point, Grymmie, but football is too injurious for a best of 3 even. While there is no “fighting” as in hockey, there are serious injuries almost every single game. I am sure that is why the season is also only a fraction of that of hockey and basketball. Unfortunately, there is no chance to make up on squandered opportunities.

    Also, to Blank’s point, while there are a ton of armchair critics out there saying the same thing I as I first wrote, there are those who have a better understanding of the game and situation.

    http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000323419/article/richard-sherman-nfc-championship-was-super-bowl

    http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/story/0ap2000000323268/article/seattle-seahawks-dominant-defense-a-frightening-new-normal

    http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-super-bowl/0ap2000000323453/Sherman-Peyton-is-the-classiest-player-I-ve-ever-met

    Update: New article:

    http://www.nfl.com/superbowl/story/0ap2000000323673/article/seattle-seahawks-walloped-denver-broncos-with-simple-scheme

Comments are closed.

