Skip to content

I Call Hank

January 30, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I posted about Evolve as soon as it was announced, but then worrying that it was just a glorified “Juggernaut” game mode for $60, I didn’t follow up. Blankman continues to mention it in party chat and his posts, so when I discovered the Game Informer Evolve HUB, I decided to take a closer look. To my delight, I was immediately and pleasantly surprised by the art design. I immediately “called” Griffin but looking at his sniper-esque harpoon gun, and reading and seeing more of the others, I realize Hank is probably more my style. Kenai can rock the Harpoon and Blankman can be Val, the Medic. Of course, Grymmie, rED, and Zos can take turns terrorizing us as the Goliath and 3GN can fill in any and all open spots, or drag a bunch of us over to set up and fill another room. Evolve looks to provide solid class-based, asymmetric, MPvs gameplay, and that is my weakness. I set up an Evolve Page for more permanent, and quick reference access.

Game Informer has already written about their Hands On with Evolve.

This may sound like an odd comparison, but playing Evolve feels playing Mario Chase from Nintendo Land combined with Left 4 Dead. There were more and more strategies building up as we played, but the hook and thrill of the game is simple to grasp. If you’re playing the game with a group of friends, I can’t imagine not screaming and laughing throughout.

As a side note, it would seem that the Goliath is a combination of all our favorite Special Infected from L4D.
goliath_ability_effects

Videos (not gameplay) are embedded after the jump.



16 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    January 30, 2014 3:51 pm

    Er, no. Kenai can be the medic chick while I assume the role of Griffin! 😉

  2. January 30, 2014 5:05 pm

    Dude the med chick is hot! I dunno…. Don’t want Blankman checking out my ass the whole game.

    I’ll use my sultry voice, and call everyone “sweets”…. And “my funny little valentiiine…”

    Update
    Ok, just watched all the videos. Very. Very excited.

    Gonna be blowing lipstick laden kisses all over the jungle.

    And when its “that time of the month”, I’ll switch over to Super Bitch!!! And stomp you all into sanguinary blots on the jungle grass, then blow kisses of fire to signal to my forest friends, “Ummm…. Man, on the Barbie. Come. Share a snack. Nice n Crispy.”
    “Just Ow I likes em.”

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 30, 2014 5:38 pm

      Hahaha! You made my day, Jimmy!

    • January 30, 2014 5:44 pm

      Let’s play L4D2 tonight. I’ve been playing it for the past 2 weeks. Loving it!

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 30, 2014 5:52 pm

      Can’t. Still feeling under the weather. Haven’t been on for the past week.

  3. January 30, 2014 8:57 pm

    This game sounds great. Hope they can bring the heat. We need more different goodness on the shooter market!

  4. January 31, 2014 7:53 pm

    Lots of laughs, here guys!

    Hey, the final installment on the HUB just came up.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/features/archive/2014/01/31/life-after-death-the-story-of-turtle-rock-studios.aspx

    Watch it. Lots of insight to Turtle Rock, Valve, Gabe Newell. The best TV you will watch all week! (Youtube isn’t available yet, or I would embed it.)

    • Blankman permalink*
      January 31, 2014 8:46 pm

      Watching that vid makes you want to support these guys by buying their game. The sweet thing about Evolve is that it looks to be another homerun by TRS. These guys define passion & the love of co-op; kicking it with your buddies to have a great time. I’m sold.

    • February 1, 2014 1:09 am

      Hey, this looks to be as almost as fresh as L4D was back in 2008. The theme is fresher but the gameplay for L4D was revolutionary. This builds on that.

      I have considerable confidence in Turtle Rock’s ability to create a meaningful, emotionally charged co-op/MPvs game. Their art direction, their theme/story – hunting monsters with friends or being the monster (something right out of a 1930s giant monster movie), it is brilliant! I could see scenarios in my mind’s eye. Griffin drops the arena while his fellow hunters are still near the monster and they are trapped in there with the beast – laughter and swearing follows to wake the dead (and our wives!). I love the reason they chose to do it only for the new systems – so that they could make denser foliage and preserve their vision for gameplay.

      It is a “system seller” as they say. Reading the articles yesterday, I felt like I had just started a new and excellent thriller novel. I could hardly think of anything else.

  5. February 1, 2014 12:20 pm

    After watching the new videos, and actually READING my issue of GI, my imagination is running wild.

    I really hope they offer a beta. I think every game should. Build momentum. Allow a fan base to begin. Like they just did. We are now fans. We always were (L4D), I just didn’t know who they were. You guys knew, but I didn’t. I thought they were Valve.

    Really great 26 min video. I am In.

    They’ve got to be pretty grateful to GI for putting them on the cover, writing tons of great info, great web set up, links, and perfect timing. Launching 3rd qtr. I am now looking forward to this all most as much as my anticipation for The Division.

    Beta! Beta!

    One more thing. I am so looking forward to the story thread. I thought l4d had the most engaging storylines. I would really get stressed playing. Still do. Like no other tension cept Gears 1 mp. This is going to be surreal. Monster wins by taking down the Hunters, then destroying the shield generator, then finishes by eating all the villagers?!! Epic!! I’m imagining watching Suns, through my death cam, as sparks fly when the generator goes down, and then his howling belly laugh as he stomps from hut to hut, setting them ablaze, and gobbling up villagers as they flee the frying plan, and “gulp..” Into the fire…

    Here we go. 🙂

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      February 1, 2014 1:52 pm

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 1, 2014 3:31 pm

  6. Blankman permalink*
    February 1, 2014 3:36 pm

    For those that pre-order Evolve, they get: the Savage Goliath skin & a new Monster character.

    • February 1, 2014 3:49 pm

      LOL@Kenai!

      Is there anyway to pre-order digital copies?

    • Blankman permalink*
      February 1, 2014 3:52 pm

      Nope. There is currently no way to pre-order digital games on XBL. 😦

  7. February 2, 2014 8:04 am

    Just listened to the podcast.

    Lot of good questions and answers.

    Gameplay video coming this month!

    Can’t believe no one asked about a beta!

Comments are closed.

