Skip to content

Crystal Cove Oculus Rift

January 9, 2014

Continued injections of serious cash from rationally optimistic investors has taken release date pressures off Oculus VR and allowed their engineers and programmers to add basically any shit they can think up. Crystal Cove is the name for the latest Oculus Rift prototype and the two major improvements for the it over previous prototypes are the positional tracking and the lowering of the persistence of vision (reduction of motion blur and “jutter”) – features which they are confirming will be in the consumer product. I am still not very interested in this technology for my own personal use, but I cannot deny the potential and its almost inevitable popularity. It is something about which I want to continue to stay informed.

Thanks to Hollowcell for the heads-up in an e-mail.

2 Comments
  1. January 15, 2014 8:48 am

    I am SO ready for this. This got best in show for this years CES by a ton of press outlets.

    PS:

    This is pretty amazing.

    • January 15, 2014 6:40 pm

      Cool! Hey, apparently there was another update/patch released this week. Has anyone downloaded/tried it yet? I heard that last weekend Blankman was being rubberbanded like pinball. I want to know if that problem has been patched with this update, amongst others.

Comments are closed.

