Skip to content

BF4 – Spawn Killing!!

December 16, 2013

We had 7 or 8 of us playing on the same team during a good chunk of Saturday night (with JbirdRox and Johann going back and forth for MVP).    

All the previous comments about “these games are too big for us to have an effect on winning”, are Untrue.   With 7+ of us, we won every game.

We were laughing (even giggling), because for two straight games we pushed them back to spawn!

FYI:  I’ve already logged in 80+ hours in this game, and this was the first time I’ve seen a spawnkilling event.

That’s right.  On BF4 – 64 players, The Stranded were….    SpawnKilling!!!

WE ARE BACK!!

lol

 

15 Comments
  1. December 16, 2013 5:14 pm

    Bunch of random thoughts:

    That vid is actually full of real stuff. Very funny.

    Great to see that DICE got rid of the worst of the game breaking bugs (just in time for us to join in the fray). Lots more tweaking and patching to come yet, but it is now playable, and it helps bolster confidence that they care. Somehow, Zos managed to miss out on the benefits of that patch. I cannot figure out why he is getting such a bad go of it still.

    It was fantastic being able to party chat again, and very cool watching y’all take the maps. The game is pretty and with tons of variety. I still haven’t seen a match played on Paracel Storm or on Kenai’s favorite from the China Rising pack.

    Cornie’s One should be here for the weekend arrived!

    Johann was showing me the Battlelog features including the progress play button last night and it is very slick – and with Premium, it is even more fully featured.

    Joy. And with all that fun, we still have Titanfall coming in three months, and then The Division in another 8 or so after that. CRAZY time to be a gamer.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 17, 2013 12:07 am

      Woot! That’s two machines in the 4GN household! Is Tim even interested in getting his own? We can’t wait to start wrecking opponents with the entire crew back together. 😀

      As far as DICE getting rid of the bugs; don’t believe it. We’re still crashing to the dashboard & in mid-game. I crashed about five times on Saturday & four times on Sunday. In fact, two crashes happened within five minutes of each other. Ridiculous how broken this sh!t is. However, the DLC seems more solid than the regular maps. At least that’s some consolation for adopting Premium so early. DICE better get their act together because this is coming to a head. XP & M1911 scopes aren’t going to cut it. There will have to be some monetary compensation in digital games or partial refunds. The level of FUBAR is beyond alpha/beta levels. Grrr…

  2. Herandar permalink
    December 17, 2013 4:23 pm

    ’Microsoft’s goal with the XBox has always been to become the all-inclusive living room entertainment center. Which ultimately means it is not for me.’
    -Herandar, May 22, 2013 6:46 AM

    What a difference not being able to play with most of your friends makes… I’m pretty sure I later said I would wait at least until the price dropped too.

    My console shipped today. Should have it by Thursday, but my local delivery people love ruining Amazon’s guarantees. Be with y’all soon!

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 17, 2013 6:40 pm

      Good for you for “Jumping Ahead,” Herandar. See what I just did there? 😉 Glad to have you with us again!

      BTW: You would have been waiting for at least two years if you wanted a price drop because MS won’t be price dropping their bad boy until 2016 at the earliest. Even then, they might bundle it with games because they don’t necessarily like the price drop strategy. So it’s $500 now or $500 two years from now. That’s how this next-gen is going to play out.

  3. December 17, 2013 5:59 pm

    Good for you, Herandar. And don’t worry about caving, we all (or at least I) do that pretty easily around here, especially when it comes to our favorite franchises, or protecting the opportunity to hang with each other.

    Played about 45 minutes of BF4 last night, finally. I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to hold my own with the garbage guns and empty kits, but I did ok, and I had a lot of fun. Of course, the first two games I joined were just ending, so there was no stat boost there, and the last game I played I had to jump out of, and that was also not counted in my battlelog for whatever reason, so my stats are still virgin.

    It really is clear and pretty. I don’t particularly like the “shaking camera” effect when stuff happens around me. I find it less desirable than the “suppression” effect in BF3. But, I am sure I will get used to it.

    Having played the beta as much as I did is turning out to be of great benefit. I had much less trouble with the controller layout this time. Only pressed the “back” button once to spot.

    I think I will enjoy switching between the gametypes for variety, though I enjoyed playing Conquest on Firestorm last night (of all the maps, that is the one I played LOL)

    The engineer starter MX4 is a great gun, for me, anyway, and the MBT LAW is both easy to use and fun.

    The DRM has changed a bit from the 360. Anyone who plays on home machine for the game, becomes “premium”. Nice!

    Finally, I got a battle pack with a 200% stat boost. (I think it must be checking out my stats from BF3 and tossin’ me a bone or somethin’. I ain’t complaining.

    The Game DVR looks like ass. Pimply ass. Horrible! Darn near unwatchable. How is it that none of you have complained about it yet. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I loaded up some of the vids and had my first look at Kenai getting owned twice in 30 seconds by his nephew. Dogtagged! 😉 lol

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 17, 2013 6:37 pm

      Suns, I must be the voice of reason once again & call you on your sh!t. The Game DVR clips look far from “pimply ass.” Is it the highest fidelity possible? No. However, it’s far from near unwatchable. Stop with the hyperbole, brutha. Stop, step off the ledge. Blankie’s gotcha. Ha! Grymmie & rED have had the most experience with Upload & editing their clips. It’s very serviceable & will only get better through time as XBL fixes their screw-ups. That’s why we haven’t complained. I don’t know what you’re expecting, Onii-San. Now, take my hand & stay focused on my voice. There you go.

      As far as the MBT Law rocket, it’s now known as the new “noob tube” on the Battlefield forums. I would suspect that DICE will eventually be nerfing it down the line after they get their act together with the stability of the game. I would suggest starting to unlock the carbines ASAP. The default carbine (AK 5C) is one of the highest stability and fastest rate default weapons out there. At least DICE didn’t make the ability to be effective ridiculous like they did with BF3.

    • December 17, 2013 7:32 pm

      Hard copy.

      And thank you for the gun info. And yes about the USAS ubergun in BF3. Since I am not a big vehicle man, I don’t care so much how powerful the rockets are. More gravy for us infantry! LOL I think the best thing about Conquest in BF4 is that NO vehicle lasts very long. The ownage that was had (52 and 1 kind of garbage) in BF3 just doesn’t happen with that intensity in BF4.

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 17, 2013 7:46 pm

      On another note, I bet Cornie was over the moon when his One came! He worked hard for his money! I could never imagine when I was his age to ever afford anything remotely close to half a grand. I was selling avocados & mowing lawns for my comic book & bubble gum money. Bow down to Cornie! 😀

    • Herandar permalink
      December 18, 2013 9:13 pm

      Oh, I am not worried, I just wanted all who remember to know that I recognize my own hypocrisy. None of what I posted in May has turned out to be untrue. For whatever reason, it really bothered me to not know what my friends were doing on the BOne. That one miniscule thing probably pushed me more than any other fact in desiring a BOne.

      We do need a new BluRay player for the living room, and I figured, ”Why not one that accepts voice commands?”

  4. Blankman permalink*
    December 18, 2013 12:39 am

    Just a quick note in regards to the Game DVR clips, Suns. They are compressed in 480p when you are viewing it through that app most likely to keep the use of resources low. However, if you view it on Upload Studio, the resolution gets bumped up to 720p. Grymmie verified that when we grabbed a few games of BF4 tonight.

    • December 18, 2013 6:31 am

      Yep, that’s correct. Prime example is a clip I just recently uploaded to my SkyDrive. You can clearly see, and also read in the top right, that the clip is rendered at 720p, but if you view this same clip through the Upload app, it’s heavily compressed and muddy. Like Blank shared, I believe it’s so that the videos are buffered quicker and load faster, seeing as you can look through entire libraries in that app.

      And just to show off my newfound discovery of gif making, here’s the clip in gif form. *Since I know it’s tough to see from the gif, what happens is I kill Enemy A who was preparing to throw a nade, which then falls roughly 2 feet in front right on top of his teammate who then gets killed by the nade and giving me credit for Enemy B.*

  5. December 18, 2013 1:17 am

    Ha! you guys caved in! 😛
    We will probably be a house divided this gen. My son wanted the PS4 so that’s what’s arriving here first. I didn’t want the xbox one yet, already have recent games on the 360, Ghosts, Diablo 3, BF4, so will wait until there is a decent library on it and game prices drop.

    Titanfall is the target date so far, if not fall for when the bundles arrive.

    on a side note it was very very difficult finding a PS4. not sure if thats any indication of the console wars but plenty of places had dozens of xbox ones and no PS4.

  6. December 18, 2013 2:18 pm

    Bunch of things:

    Yes, I noticed that the clips have framerate issues etc. when first streaming. Upon second viewing (after the file is on my drive) that aspect is much better. As regards textures and resolution, what you say makes sense because I couldn’t match the quality of Grymm’s YouTube videos to what I was seeing on my screen. So, how should I watch them? In the Upload app, or some other way. (Grymm and Blank say two different things).

    Second @ Frenik, the One is going to lose badly in the initial sales…until Titanfall, the time (and game) for which people will be buying Ones or PC, some of whom may even be trading in their PS4s.

    Microsoft really needs to secure a solid, bump free launch with that game – and they need to put a gag order on Respawn so there isn’t all this “Titanfall 2 will be out in 18 months and will be better on the PS4” garbage.

    Sweet gif, Grymmie!!

    • Blankman permalink*
      December 18, 2013 4:32 pm

      Watch the clips from your friends on the Upload app, Suns. You will see a marked improvement because it’s in 720p.

    • December 18, 2013 5:42 pm

      Sweetness.

      By the way, thank you for the props to Cornie. He read it and was pleased (as is his father). The boys have worked hard in the fields and elsewhere whenever the opportunity arises and Chiiko and I find ourselves borrowing from them more than we care to admit! LOL

Comments are closed.

