Skip to content

Penny Arcade Discovers Chests Of Dollars And Dumps PAR

December 7, 2013

pinnyset01_bun_1024x1024Ben Kuchera just announced that the Penny Arcade Report is finished. On the Penny Arcade Blog, Jerry describes a change of heart. He and Mike are no longer interested running an Empire and have decided to eliminate PATV and the PAR. I never watched PATV though I did enjoy the Strip Search “Reality Show”. I have, however, kept the PAR RSS feed on the front page here. It was just the right amount of gaming news by people I “knew”. Anyway, I just wanted to say that a while back, Penny Arcade introduced Pinnys, and my speculation is that they are making so much money with it, they don’t even need site hits anymore. I am happy for anyone who is able to navigate the tricky waters of financial success, especially when ad-blocker software and the mobile technology (and its ad-less display) might cause a viable business strategy to fall apart. Anyway, those fellas have always been very humble in their thanks for donations, site hits, and any other support people thought of to give them. Were I living anywhere near a PAX venue, I would have been all over those collectible pins and full of anxiety and willing to pay premium dollar to acquire any that I might have missed. This is one of those times when I count myself lucky for being a “have-not”. I cannot help but smile at the genius of the idea of Pinnys though. It is like getting all of the revenue of Disneyland (which is where Mike got the idea) without having to pay any of the expenses! Talk about WOOT!

4 Comments
  1. December 7, 2013 4:22 am

    Heh. I was looking at PAR the other day and thinking that it was dying. It has definitely been going downhill since Sophie left. Ah well.

  2. December 7, 2013 7:31 am

    I haven’t kept up with PAR, but honestly, I’m a little disappointed these guys did this. Maybe if you’re looking at it from a business perspective it makes sense. From my end though, I’d want to keep pushing and forge incredible relationships with publishers and developers.

    Someone on EvAv said that there’s too many gaming sites out there. Honestly, I’d tend to agree. That realization caused me to shift my blog from regurgitating gaming news (which can be found anywhere) to opinion pieces, which are far more interesting in my opinion. That’s my rant though. I’ll certainly go to PAX if ever given the opportunity, but the more time passes, I wonder if Gabe and Tycho aren’t complete asses. I’ve read into the Dickwolf and sexist stuff. Some of that is just the internet being the internet. But it still makes ya wonder. Regardless, hope no ill will towards those gentleman. They’re obviously doing something right. Were I in there position though, I’d keep pushing and really try to make some splashes in as many areas as possible. But that’s just me.

  3. December 7, 2013 8:19 am

    Interesting reads. I followed Kuchera briefly on twitter but didn’t like him as he seemed too politically correct.

    http://www.somethingawful.com/video-game-article/king-ben-kuchera/

    I follow Eric Kain on twitter. FIne chap who’ll talk with you. I never even knew about all of this. Via EvAv.

  4. December 8, 2013 3:14 am

    Herandar, I didn’t even realize she had left (or I forgot), though I did enjoy her contributions for sure!

    ty, thanks for replying. Mike and Jerry, especially in the early years, really treated their blog and the Internet as if they were anonymous. In general, the use of certain words for hyperbolic effect in the gaming context is pretty ridiculous to begin with.

    As for the Erik Kain thing, I don’t know anything about that. Thanks for the intro. I will keep an eye on his Forbes blog for a while. If he writes well, he will become a regular stop. (Ben’s writing definitely decreased in quality within a couple of months of his move to PA, unfortunately.)

Comments are closed.

