Skip to content

Turning The “Story” Into Something Useful

November 5, 2013

Sex or DinosaursUntil the Xbox One launches, review embargoes are lifted, and people have had a couple of weeks with the One and the PS4, the Internet is going to continue to be ablaze with “The 720/1080p Resolution Story”.  The most recent spin on this is that the PS4 with their “1080p” is having some framerate issues in CoD:Ghosts. We don’t know the framerate for the One, but one thing is certain, 720p at a rock solid 60fps is more important to the FPS MPVS gaming experience than 1080p with stutters.

It got me thinking, fanboi banner waving aside, wouldn’t it be useful to draw up a list of capabilities/features of a gaming machine, and then put that list into a hierarchy that would help inform consumers as to what system would best meet their needs.  Of course, everyone is going to have their own priorities, but there are some features that are objectively more important. Even though I fully plan on going with The Stranded, and that means the Xbox One, I would still find it helpful (and reassuring) to do so with my eyes wide-open – knowing, to the extent possible, what benefits and sacrifices to expect.

Towards this end, I made a Ranker List called The Most Important Features For A Game Console. You can view it without making an account so be sure to check it out.  If, on the other hand, you make an account there (free and non-invasive) you can add your own items, re-rank the list, and make your own lists.  As far as I know, it also remembers your ranking of the items, so we could easily cross reference our ranked list with each others’ ranked lists.

Update: I turned off the voting because some goofball immediately voted Resolution to be the #1 most important feature! LMAO! I would love to see your lists.  The service really is slick!  It is so cool to see how easy it is to move things around in priority.

5 Comments
  1. November 6, 2013 7:03 pm

    Pretty cool. I’ll have to come around to making a post about it and what’s important to me as a gamer. Thanks!

    • November 6, 2013 10:31 pm

      ty, Ranker.com has a WordPress widget so you can add it to your site and embed the lists! I can’t do it here because we aren’t paying for customization and so far the widget isn’t available to all.

  2. November 7, 2013 6:13 am

    http://www.ranker.com/list/game-machine-_console_-features/grymm

    My list is a little biased based on my locale.

Comments are closed.

