Skip to content

BF4: Official Story Trailer

October 22, 2013

I actually enjoyed most of the campaign that I played in BF3 (lost my save and wasn’t going to play through the whole thing again).  If you have watched David Simon’s Generation Kill, and liked it, then it is hard not to enjoy the similarities, even if the gameplay isn’t like some of the flashier campaigns of Uncharted or Gears of War.  Anyway, this looks phenomenal, and the significance of punching the dog (1:36), a stab at the CoD series, wasn’t lost on this viewer.  lol  I really like DICE.

18 Comments
  1. Average permalink*
    October 22, 2013 6:18 pm

    I didn’t understand any of what the story was, but the video was beautiful!

  2. October 23, 2013 12:25 am

    I just spent some time watching some PC gameplay and the mouse controlling the tank turret is just WACK. I understand that mouse is more accurate, but being able to turn the tank turret 180 degrees in a single swish of the mouse is just garbage.

    In this particular instance, the joystick with their slow rate of rotation give the tank a more realistic feel. These guys are moving their main turret like it is an SMG in the hand.

    • Average permalink*
      October 23, 2013 12:35 pm

      Baxter sent this to me today, that guy is good and yep the mouse is way too fast.
      Gorgeous looking though. And wow he’s good at hitting Heli’s.

    • October 23, 2013 2:57 pm

      When you can spin the turret like a baton, then hitting helis is pretty easy.

      Actually, Johann pretty consistently gets a heli or two every time he drives a tank. It blows my mind. And he is using the controller with a turret that moves just slightly faster than the one that took out Private Jackson.

  3. October 23, 2013 7:55 am

    Looking forward to actually playing the BF4 Campaign. Played about 20% of BFBC2 and about 75% of BF3.

    BTW: Watched Pacific Rim with the family the other night (on demand). Pretty good. Not great, but it was entertaining.

    • Herandar permalink
      October 25, 2013 4:57 pm

      Point of pride for me that the SP disc has never been removed from the case on BF3. Making an SP campaign just takes resources away from the real game,

  4. October 23, 2013 3:02 pm

    OT

    You guys still sure you want to buy the One over the PS4?

    http://penny-arcade.com/report/article/call-of-duty-ghosts-may-show-the-extra-power-of-the-playstation-4-but-it-do

    I don’t care about Ghosts, and I suspect that games in the first year or so will be comparable, but in a couple of years, the disparity may become quite glaring, and that for a hundred bucks more. Regardless of what you choose, which will be what I choose, it pisses me off that the machine (as I predicted) isn’t even able to stand side-by-side with mid level PCs. Almost all for a peripheral I don’t want. lol

    • October 23, 2013 7:43 pm

      I will be surprised if COD does end up running at 720p vs 1080p (or I guess just different resolutions aroused the consoles). Scaling back things like texture quality and level of post processing would be less noticeable and more affective at reducing performance issues. Also, I am not sure if this necessarily means anything about performance. 360’s launch titles ran at below 720p, and were not lookers by any means. Not to mention DICE indicated 1080p on Xbox One.

      Regarding performance on paper, the gap between Xbox one and ps4 is closer than last gen.

      This article does a good breakdown from a non biased perspective. The Xbox has since added performance increases as well.

      http://www.itproportal.com/2013/06/11/playstation-4-vs-xbox-one-vs-pc-how-the-hardware-specs-stack-up/

      The PC industry is in a different space now than it was back in 05. Most basic pcs are gaming capable without even a dedicated GPU. The hardware in both consoles is not at all underpowered for this generation. Especially once developers begin optimizing for their specific hardware sets. (8 dedicated CPU cores (not hyper-threaded 4 core), lots of RAM, DX11 video cards). We are just seeing the tip of the iceberg this gen.

      Sorry for being long winded and probably lots of spelling errors. Typing on a tablet lol.

      -Zos

    • October 23, 2013 8:57 pm

      Thanks for the reply and link, Zos.

      Beauty doesn’t equal gameplay, nor is it as important. At the same time, I don’t like to actively pursue inferior graphics (or products in general) just because of brand loyalty or some other silly reason.

      Also, when the power differential is so great that one machine can run a game with the same effects/objects at a considerably higher resolution, that means later on, when features more important than beauty that DO matter to gameplay, have to be sacrificed because the machine is already maxed out even at the lower resolution, well, that is just disappointing.

      Apparently, DICE is giving up the 1080p (on at least the One) to ensure the framerate is a solid 60 per second. THAT hugely affects gameplay and is the right decision.

  5. October 23, 2013 8:29 pm

    I’m open to the discussion, but I need things explained in laymens terms. What should we be buying? I’m partial to Xbox, because of party, exclusives that I like (liked…), and also largely, because it is an American company. That is a big factor for me.

    I am no longer, married to any particular game. I could leave Halo, or Gears, but what would replace it on PS4? Is Division exclusive to Xbox?

    So if you guys have the time and will, then “sell” me, sell the group on which way we should go.

    No need to rush, write when you have time.

    • October 23, 2013 9:01 pm

      Kenai, the only two games I really must have next gen are the BF series games and The Division. They are both multiplatform (PS4, One, PC).

      Titanfall is, at least, a Microsoft/PC timed exclusive.

      As far as I know, the controllers and the party networking will be better for the Xbox One.

      The PS4 is 100 dollars cheaper, and potentially has more power which might become obvious a couple of years after launch.

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 24, 2013 11:14 am

      If you’re looking at platform exclusives, neither console really has the edge right now. Xbox One has Ryse, Dead Rising 3 (which I’m primarily buying an Xbone for), Forza, and Titanfall for a certain period of time. PS4 has Killzone, inFAMOUS, and The Order 1886. Both have 3 solid exclusives, but I’m sure in due time Sony will roll out Uncharted 4 and God of War 4, and possibly Last of Us 2. I’ll eventually get a PS4, but for now I’m sticking with the company whos console i’ve gamed online with for the past 7-8 years.

      The cheaper price is very intriguing but you have to look at which system overall will provide you with the best gaming experience.

      Also, we have Destiny, Watch Dogs, Dying Light, BF4, AC4, and CoD: Ghosts all which are multi-platform. So basically Kenai it depends on which exclusives you want to play more 😛 For now, anyways…

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 24, 2013 11:29 am

      Also just read on Gametrailers that PS4 will now support party chat for up to 8 people (just like 360) and Xbox One’s party chat is STILL only up to 8 people. You’d think with all of the power, and being almost 6 times more powerful than 360, we’d be able to have more than 8 people in party chat.

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 24, 2013 6:36 pm

      The main reason why I suspect that MS is sticking with a maximum number of eight in party chat despite the Skype coding is due to bandwidth. I wouldn’t want my graphics, number crunching, latency, or gameplay to suffer because of all the voice streaming that would be involved.

      As far as the exclusives on XB1 vs. PS4 goes, it’s a moot point for me. However, I cannot deny that the rumors that more games will run in native 1080 on the PS4 while most of the games on the XB1 will run on 720p isn’t worrisome. There’s only two games that I’m really looking at: The Division & The Witcher 3. I do NOT want the gimped version of those games.

  6. RoBBins permalink*
    October 24, 2013 8:03 pm

    @Blank – The Division will be soooo good. Cant wait to play that!

    • Blankman permalink*
      October 24, 2013 9:36 pm

      I. Can. Not. Wait. Unfortunately, it’s so far away in the future that maintaining that level of excitement is ridiculously exhausting. Not only that, but it will most likely suffer delays because it’s so ambitious. 😦

    • RoBBins permalink*
      October 24, 2013 10:23 pm

      I hear ya. Same thing happened to me with Watch Dogs. Got incredibly excited to play the game after it was first announced and gameplay was shown, and now instead of being a launch title for both next gen systems, it got delayed until June of next year. Hopefully that doesnt happen with The Division.

    • October 25, 2013 12:10 am

      Ubisoft is usually pretty good about meeting their released dates (AC and Tom Clancy titles have always been on or very close to their announced dates). However, they are attempting to innovate in a genre new to them while doing that on new hardware. Such is their record until now, I was confident that they would make their Division deadline, or at least be close within months. After the understandable Watch Dogs delay, I won’t be terribly surprised if The Division is still 2 years off. (I really hope not, but)

      The up side is that it gives Apple and Google a chance to make some really powerful Tablets so that Kenny can, for a fraction of the current cost, play in his classroom! LMAO! Kenny, after Payday 2, I worry for you. 😉 Even if you have an One, you will be buying a PS4 if One has the “gimped” version. And, while I don’t know if it is physically possible, you will have logged 200 hours of The Division in the first week. Better get the medical supplies (intravenous drip) ready so you don’t get caught like a Korean in a cafe, face down in his cereal after the first 72 hours. (I shouldn’t be laughing, I know.)

Comments are closed.

