Skip to content

Breaking Bad: The Series

October 4, 2013

breaking-bad-logoI watched the final four episodes of the series back-to-back. That wasn’t my original intent.  Episode blogging turned out to be a little disappointing: understandably – we are a small community and not everyone is watching. More than anything though, life was simply too busy and stressful to keep up with the show on a weekly basis. I wanted to savor each episode, not rush through them to get a post up.  It was worth the wait. Breaking Bad ends better than most books, and almost all TV.

Now, let’s move this discussion to the comments where we can do so in our tighty-whites (full spoiler mode).

UPDATE:  I tried to start a discussion of the show in the comments, but I found that can’t even dig into specifics at this point.  It is kind of like the show needs to bake in my mind a little longer.  I think part of my problem is that my appreciation for it clouds out coherent thought.  Breaking Bad isn’t always easy to watch, and it is very seldom uplifting.  But in writing, acting, filming, editing, and directing, it is truly outstanding.  There were many moments of awe, surprise, laughter, amazement, repulsion, anger, and fear that were a result of the all aspects of the care that went into creating this show.

And all my fears of a lousy ending turned out to be unfounded.  This was no Sopranos you-decide-ending, nor was it pat or predictable (at least not for me).  There were inevitabilities, but the way they unfolded surprised me and had me on the edge of my seat.

On the bookshelf of my mind, Breaking Bad will sit very comfortably beside The Wire, and for excellence in endings, Freaks and Geeks.

UPDATE 2:  Links!
http://penny-arcade.com/report/search/search&keywords=Breaking+Bad/

http://insidetv.ew.com/2013/09/30/breaking-bad-finale-vince-gilligan/

http://insidetv.ew.com/2013/09/30/breaking-bad-finale-bryan-cranston-aaron-paul/

 

3 Comments
  1. October 10, 2013 7:50 am

    Just came across this awesome video showing the similarities between the plot of Breaking Bad and the song “El Paso” about Felina (also the name of the final episode).

    “When Stephen Colbert talked to Vince Gilligan about the song El Paso used in the season finale of Breaking Bad, he asked if Felina was Jesse or the blue meth, and Vince basically said Felina was the blue meth.. Viewed that way, the song El Paso matches up with not only the scene it was used in and the season finale, but the entire series. Or at least I was able to shoehorn it all in, I have no idea if this is how the creators meant any of this. So I put together the rest of it, just the way I saw it, to the whole song before and after the actual scene from the finale.”

  2. October 10, 2013 3:27 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up, Grymmie!

    In the Gilligan interview linked in the post, he admits to the Searchers (but the thing is, Westerns are a genre because they have similarities so it makes sense that if it is similiar to one, it may be similar to many).

    “A lot of astute viewers who know their film history are going to say, ‘It’s the ending to The Searchers.’ And indeed it is. The wonderful western The Searchers has John Wayne looking for Natalie Wood for the entire three-hour length of the movie. She’s been kidnapped by Indians and raised as one of their own, and throughout the whole movie, John Wayne says, ‘I need to put her out of her misery. As soon as I find her, I’m going to kill her.’ The whole movie Jeffrey Hunter is saying, ‘No, we’re not — she’s my blood kin, we’re saving her,’ and he says, ‘We’re killing her.’ And you’re like, ‘Oh my god, John Wayne is a monster and he’s going to do it. You know for the whole movie that this is the major drama between these two characters looking for Natalie Wood. And then at the end of the movie, on impulse, you think he’s riding toward her to shoot her, and instead he sweeps her up off her feet and he carries her away and he says, ‘Let’s go home.’ It just gets me every time — the ending of that movie just chokes you up, it’s wonderful. In the writers room, we said, ‘Hey, what about the Searchers ending?’ So, it’s always a matter of stealing from the best. [Laughs]“

  3. October 22, 2013 9:05 pm

    LOL

    Check this out!

Comments are closed.

