Skip to content

The Wolf Pack

September 25, 2013

ty wrote a personal article discussing his current situation and his switch away from consoles. It is a great read, with hilarious art (hotlinked from his site).  Know this.  We are loved and missed.

I will add, it is ALL about the community for me.  Really, I almost don’t play video games if I can’t be doing so with my friends.  If it weren’t for the party chat and y’all, I might very well have gone back to my pre-Halo 2 days of little or no gaming at all – to the point that I wonder to what extent I really am a gamer.

Two more things, yes ty, it is all about playing against humans.  In the immortal words of Han Solo: “Good against remotes is one thing. Good against the living, that’s something else.“.  The thrill of victory is completely worth the potential agony of defeat …especially when you are playing with rED, Grymm, and 3GN. It is also all about the stories.  The way we play games is not unlike the way we live life, I think.  Our personalities (and skills) bubble over when we jump into our avatars and start shootin’ things up.  I have so many fantastic memories of playing Gears, L4D, MW, and the BF games, and, as I have said before, I can often tell who I am runnin’ with just by the way they move.  I am sure others identify me by my jammed reloads, my untimely glaces at the ceiling when there is an enemy right in front of me, and the fact that more often than not, when up against the enemy, I am usually the first to go down gun spraying in all directions.

I won’t retell any of our memories at this time, but there was one random I played against that I will never forget.  We were playing BF:BC2 Vietnam and we had the enemy pinned down in the river bed.  Still, one fellow on the other team never gave up.  He just kept running up and getting killed.  Until the one time he got through, pushed on to destroy both MCOMs and then follow through with a Rush victory.  Ronald Speirs immediately came to mind.  In reality, it was probably some 12 year old girl with pony tails,…and the name Hillary.

3 Comments
  1. September 26, 2013 6:11 pm

    Aw. Thanks Suns! Nothing but heartfelt, sir. Love the fuck outta all you guys and gals. 😉 Watched that whole clip. Time to revisit Band of Brothers!

  2. September 26, 2013 6:17 pm

    And that Han Solo quote… ever since ya started saying it, the thing has a whole new meaning for me now. lol.

  3. Blankman permalink*
    September 29, 2013 8:17 pm

    Good stuff, Ty! Very entertaining read!

Comments are closed.

