Skip to content

Blogging Games…As You Play Them

September 14, 2013

Eating PopcornBen Kuchera has just started that “Blogging TV” thing, but for games. The first in the tray will be GTA5.

I’ll be playing a few hours a night, and writing up some thoughts on the game as I go, and as things jump out at me. Don’t think of it like a review, think of it like a book club, although I’ll be ultra-careful to mark spoilers. This way we can play along with each other, and discuss the game in the comments. I think this is a better way to handle coverage of a game like this anyway, and everything that was written before that previous comma was made entirely of sour grapes.

It should be an interesting series!  I would suggest we do that here, but there are only two types of gamers here. Those who literally play all night and finish the Tuesday releases by Thursday, and those like me, who take two or three years to play through them (or never finish them at all).

12 Comments
  1. September 16, 2013 2:06 pm

    That’s super-cool. Just finished my first post for The Water Cooler. 🙂 I’ll have it up later today or tomorrow after some spit and polish!

    • September 17, 2013 3:59 am

      That is right! Your Water Cooler will be basically the same idea. I didn’t make the connection because Ben is going to “walk” us through his whole experience and it is in the context of being instead of a review.

    • September 19, 2013 8:16 am

      When is he going to do this? I read his article yesterday about his “Plan”. But have yet to see anything since…..

    • September 19, 2013 3:06 pm

      My impression was that he would start as soon as he bought his copy of the game upon release. I just checked and he hasn’t posted anything yet, though. I think he will still follow through, it just may take a little while. (Doesn’t matter to me. I will never buy the game so I am in no rush.)

    • September 21, 2013 7:05 am

      Yuppers. 🙂 First post is UP! http://www.saityrus.com/x-com-us-division/

      If anyone’s got feedback on tablet or phones, let me know. I’ve embedded music and slideshows for a more epic experience!

  2. September 20, 2013 4:47 pm

    OK, he just posted the first installment.

    Here it is.

    http://penny-arcade.com/report/article/grand-theft-auto-5-book-club-chapter-1-the-first-10-percent

  3. September 20, 2013 6:55 pm

    Thanks Suns. Just read it, and all the comments. He’s not exactly loving it. Surprising, thought he’d be gushing.

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    September 22, 2013 11:22 pm

    Read it. The game picks up so much more from what is described here, the characters depth is amazing, you can see the downward spiral on all 3 story arcs and you can’t help but just tag along for the ride. The city is simply amazing, they took the density of GTA IV into the big landscapes of Red Dead, and just threw a lot of details everywhere.

    Every other Open World sandbox game just feels empty in comparison. The true test is when they unleash online mode, it has a lot of potential. SP free roam is fun as it is with all the new things combined, MP will just be insane.

    All they need for dlc, is bring red dead zombies to MP, and it would be a lock as the best game of the console gen.

    • September 23, 2013 5:40 am

      Cool! Thanks for the impressions, Frenik!

  5. September 23, 2013 7:48 am

    Just had to find a place to put this link. I was Rolling as I watched this.

  6. September 23, 2013 10:58 pm

    Part two is up. He is enjoying it more.

    http://penny-arcade.com/report/article/grand-theft-auto-v-book-club-chapter-2-torture-trevor-and-25-percent-done-f

    Now I’m going to watch the vid! Thanks, Kenai!

  7. September 24, 2013 7:35 pm

    I am going to just add this comment in response to Conan’s vid.

    Wouldn’t you know it but one of the first tasks is to chase someone with a boat. I HATE those missions. I can NEVER catch up. It never even popped up on my radar, but the vid just confirmed why. lol

    Cheers!

Comments are closed.

