Skip to content

Lovers In A Dangerous Spacetime

September 5, 2013

This is a really fun post for me to write. I am double dipping here because I get to simultaneously introduce you to a game and a favorite singer-songwriter.

It isn’t a secret that I am a sucker for both platformers and Indies, and when they are combined, I am often left with no capacity to resist praise or purchase. Such is the case with the recently announced Lovers In A Dangerous Spacetime by Asteroid Base.

Before I go any further, however, I want to clarify something about another game I praised, Monaco. I heard through the grape vine that there was talk in the party chat when I wasn’t around, that I influenced rED, Grymm, and Kenai to buy it, and then never played it past the first day. Three things need to be addressed here. First, I am not offended that such open and honest discussions took place outside of my presence. We are like brothers, and laughter, and even some complaining, at each others’ expense is expected and even enjoyed by all, I think.

Second, since Stink Brink, I have made it clear on numerous occasions that I reserve the right to post enthusiastically about any game, without taking any responsibility for those who might, by my enthusiasm, have purchased the game. I am an optimistic person by nature and find myself gushing gleefully about things in the same capacity that some people have for complaining or ranting. It is a rare thing that you will find a truly negative post here, and when you do, it is almost certainly merited and full of proof. I hope that is a reason people like to read this blog. Anyway, I take no responsibility for anyone’s purchases regardless of what I have written here.

Third, I actually really like Monaco, just as I do Shadow Complex, Castle Crashers, and Rayman Origins, none of which I have spent more than a couple of hours playing. In the case of Monaco specifically, I actually did go back and spend a whole evening with Cornie playing it. And, at our own leisurely pace, and with no (self-imposed) pressure of letting others down, it was every bit the game I hoped it would be. I suspect I will go back to it, just as I have been desiring to go back to Castle Crashers.

Alright, with that behind us, let me tell you a little about Lovers. First, for the youngen’s and non-Canadians, the pun of the title may go undetected. Without confirmation I confidently declare that it is taken from Bruce Cockburn‘s (that is pronounced “Koburn”) popular song of the ’80s, “Lovers In A Dangerous Time“. Bruce Cockburn (pronounced “Koburn”) is a talented guitarist and an even more gifted lyricist. He released “Lovers” in 1984, inspired by the sight of “teenagers expressing romantic love in a schoolyard” at a time when the enemies of the U.S. weren’t hiding in caves clutching American weapons, but had silos of thermonuclear devices pointed at its major cities.

So that is the song and the singer, but did you see that Spacetime gameplay?! It looks just as Ben describes it: full of panic and fun, with its 2D shooter deeply dipped in platformer, and with a more than adequate story” to boot.

“Your role is based on what station you’ve sat down at, the wheel is at the center, with the turrets and the shield around the ship,” Tucker explained. “The yellow one is the ‘holy F’ button, you press that one and it fires the super laser.”

A “Holy F” button. Instant win!

Now, while you contemplate how nice it would be to have a “Holy F” button in real life, sit back and listen to three outstanding, and uplifting songs from the most unfortunately named, Mr. Cockburn (“Koburn”). Cheers!

6 Comments
  1. Herandar permalink
    September 6, 2013 7:14 am

    I will play Castle Crashers or Monaco with you any time. I never play the games at anything other than a leisurely pace.

  2. Blankman permalink
    September 6, 2013 1:04 pm

    I think that it’s fair to say that none of us want to let our teammates down. It’s human nature. I know that aspect about perceived stress had you worried about jumping onto the Payday 2 train. As long as we’ve been gaming with each other (many of us for around seven years & counting), we know each others’ tendencies. Last night, Kenai ran off on his own to drop a cash bag into the van without telling us. On the way back, there was a police assault that ensued & needless to say, Kenai was downed. We tried to reach him, but that would have probably led to our entire team failing the mission which equates to no XP, cash, & three card shuffle selection. In a nutshell; time wasted. Well, we were left with no choice but to let the cops drag his sorry ass into custody. Grymm had commented that it was ironic that I commented on why Kenai had extended himself so far when I’ve done the same during the first few days of heists. Ha! Talk about the pot calling the kettle black! However, we learn from our mistakes & try not to repeat them. Anyways, what I’m trying to say is that we shouldn’t feel like letting our teammates down is the end all & be all of everything. The social aspects of gaming is what makes our time shared so enjoyable. So, just jump in, brother.

    When we make comments about each other in party chats, the comments aren’t laced with any malice. It’s what a close-knit bunch of guys and girls do. Jokes & praise should and are taken with good intentions. There’s no reason to have to explain enthusiasm. However, we did have to talk you down off of the ledge when the Xbox 1 was announced, Suns. We haven’t forgotten. Ha! As far as Monaco goes, that game came out during a very hectic time for you, Mike. Trying to juggle teaching, basketball coaching, & family meant that learning the ropes much less, playing the game had to fall at the waist side. The Monaco talk was just us ribbing you! Much love, brutha!

  3. September 6, 2013 5:03 pm

    Thanks, Herandar. And good stuff, Kenny.

    Yeah, I was freakin’ out with the May/June Xbox One announcements. Luckily, since I wasn’t the only one, Microsoft reconsidered a bunch of things including region coding and the Kinect uplug. As it stands now, the policies for the One are tastier than they were for the 360.

    I will definitely try Payday 2, but I will wait with that experience until after our elimination tournament next weekend. If we win, then we will have secured a place in the Tokyo Winter Cup (at Christmas), if we lose, then that will be the seniors’ last game. (The school year here is from April to March.)

    Today, in the afternoon/early evening, we will be taking the team to the gym where next weekend’s tournament will be held – to get them familiar with the court and the space. So, I won’t be home until 7 or 8pm today. I hope to at least party chat tomorrow, though.

    Great to see everyone enjoying Payday so much. When I can, I pop into the Man Cave and watch the boys play. I love the strategy and teamwork.

  4. September 9, 2013 12:20 am

    Sweetening the Pot. I have added two more songs to the Cockburn (koburn) playlist.

    An old favorite that I had forgotten about, Fascist Architecture

    Fascist architecture of my own design
    Too long been keeping my love confined
    You tore me out of myself alive

    Those fingers drawing out blood like sweat
    While the magnificent facades crumble and burn
    The billion facets of brilliant love
    The billion facets of freedom turning in the light

    Bloody nose and burning eyes
    Raised in laughter to the skies
    I’ve been in trouble but I’m ok
    Been through the wringer but I’m ok
    Walls are falling and I’m ok
    Under the mercy and I’m ok

    Gonna tell my old lady
    Gonna tell my little girl
    There isn’t anything in the world
    That can lock up my love again

    And one I just heard for the first time, Pacing the Cage (TOTALLY AWESOME TITLE!)

    Sunset is an angel weeping
    Holding out a bloody sword
    No matter how I squint I cannot
    Make out what it’s pointing toward
    Sometimes you feel like you live too long
    Days drip slowly on the page
    You catch yourself
    Pacing the cage
    I’ve proven who I am so many times
    The magnetic strip’s worn thin
    And each time I was someone else
    And every one was taken in
    Hours chatter in high places
    Stir up eddies in the dust of rage
    Set me to pacing the cage
    I never knew what you all wanted
    So I gave you everything
    All that I could pillage
    All the spells that I could sing
    It’s as if the thing were written
    In the constitution of the age
    Sooner or later you’ll wind up
    Pacing the cage
    Sometimes the best map will not guide you
    You can’t see what’s round the bend
    Sometimes the road leads through dark places
    Sometimes the darkness is your friend
    Today these eyes scan bleached-out land
    For the coming of the outbound stage.
    Pacing the cage.
    Pacing the cage

    And the video:
    “Bruce Cockburn, Pacing the Cage”
    An intimate look at Bruce Cockburn, his life, his music, and his spirituality

  5. September 9, 2013 2:49 pm

    Just as you and Blank said it Suns, there was no intentional anger or disappointment about Monaco. I enjoyed the game and overcoming it’s challenges, as I’m sure rED can agree 100%. I just thought it was funny that you were all about the game and only played it for such a short time, that’s all.

    Payday is very similar in terms of having to think on the fly, so while I would LOVE nothing more than for you to join us, if you don’t enjoy the game I won’t hold it against you. I already know you’ll be hooked once you get your first Infamous Mask, though 😉

Comments are closed.

