Skip to content

Looking Back On BF:BC2

July 11, 2013

Battlefield 3 on the 360 is far from being a perfect FPS experience.  Among the common complaints are: inaccurate or non-existent hit detection, getting killed around corners, single digit framerates at critical moments, dominating vehicles, inappropriate spawn locations especially for defenders, obscenely large maps for a total player count of 24, and auto team-switching leading to party break-up.

With that in the back of our minds, nostalgic memories of BF:BC2, and a little spontaneity, (1GN got up off his ass and swapped discs and) 4GN took to the jungles and deserts for some Battlefield: Bad Company 2.

The first thing that struck us was the rate at which the enemy went down, requiring probably half the amount of bullets.  It wasn’t better hit detection, just more powerful ammunition.  I kept thinking we were playing hardcore, and the boys repeatedly assured me that it was normal.

The second thing we noticed was the incredibly entertaining map design.  I thought it was just the rich vegetation and the topography, but Johann quickly pinned it down.  The maps are much tighter.  The skirmishes were focused and intense, even with underpopulated teams in conquest mode.  At the same time, there was still adequate room for flanking and movement.   It makes sense.  BF:BC2 was designed for the console first, then ported over to the PC, which is the opposite of the design flow for BF3.

There was also considerable destruction.

Those things had us smiling and laughing for a while, but things quickly turned ugly.  It was mostly little things like the time limit on disarming MCOM stations, or the lack of stingers and javelins – tracer dart anyone?  Or the fact that you cannot go prone – no matter how dangerous your position is.  Wherever you go, you are Ron Kovic and Sgt. Elias running out into the plains and getting shot from all directions.  It is surprising how frustrating it is to not be able to stick your dick in the dirt, so to speak.

The variety of guns, accessories, and specialties is almost laughable.  You could equip C4 on at least two classes!  The smoke was almost uselessly thin for subterfuge.  I felt naked running into my “cloud” of smoke to arm the bases.

It wasn’t, however, until the Apachi flown by an enemy “50” made an appearance that we fully remembered the humiliation.  Suddenly, it was junior high school again, and the jocks were bangin’ the nerds against the lockers as they walked down the halls.  A little pee came out.  It made all our complaints of vehicle domination in BF3 seem trivial.

So, that was it for me.  I need never go back.  I loved that game long time.  In fact, I believe I have still put more total hours into BC2 than I have BF3.  Also, I will never forget that it was a game I could play without my triple A gamin’ bodyguards.  I could actually affect a difference in the outcome of the game simply by PTFO.  I cannot do that in BF3.  I need The Crew.  I can wash the buckets, but I cannot haul the water.

Anyway, I am not leaving BF:BC2 with a door-slam of disgust, but rather embracing BF3 (and perhaps even more so, DICE’s future games) with renewed gratitude.  I think now I better understand Kenny’s desire never to  return to Gears of War (original) MP.  It was awesome, but there are improvements that once experienced cannot be set aside for the sake of nostalgia.

10 Comments
  1. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    July 11, 2013 8:04 pm

    yeah I had a hard time adjusting at first. There’s no javelin and the tracer dart sucks sometimes but the homing rocket launcher works, and the LMG from the support class can mow down helicopters, so do snipers.

    but yes the maps are better for smaller platoons, and theres not many moments like in BF3 that you can get bored and nothing is happenning becuase theres not enough teamwork on the other side.

    On this an assault class or the snipers can turn the tide at any moment. Medics are not as neccesary as in BF3 since health is more forgiving. You can stay alive longer and do more.

    I still play it occasionaly especially since it’s easier without a squad.

  2. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    July 11, 2013 9:09 pm

    I just put more time to it with a full room of rush to boot! I have to say it has aged well. the pace is faster, since there’s no silencers except engineers you can pick out where everyone is shooting from very easily. The bullet damage is greater with magnum rounds, but you can move faster and there seems to be more cover than in BF3, and like I said before the health just regens very quickly. I definitely feel I can stay alive longer and its easier for me to sneak around and flank.

    Many maps in BF3 have way too many open areas, that are hard to sneak by or defeat vehicles.

    In BC2 for me its the other way around, if you hop in a tank you have two clases that can c4 you, and one that can lay down a huge field of mines, switch class and just wait for you to step on one. It just feels more infantry oriented than BF3.

    • July 12, 2013 12:16 am

      Glad you are enjoying it. I agree about the cover, which is often just in the form of topographical features. BF3 is much flatter and expansive. The BC2 buildings, however, don’t help much for cover as they can be easily destroyed, or in the case of the jungle huts, shot through. Thanks for the impressions!

  3. Johann Nishiki permalink
    July 12, 2013 3:31 am

    Great post!

    Must see video with tons of new info on BF4 features:

    • July 12, 2013 3:18 pm

      WOW! That vid is chalk full of info, and that is an incredible play through of Damavand Peak. It is like it is a montage, but there are only a few deaths in it. He 44 Magnumed the helo pilot! LOL

      Possibly three new gametypes “Playground”, “Obliteration”, and “Elimination”. The second two don’t sound so interesting, but “Playground” could have tremendous potential, especially for Machinima aficionados.

    • July 12, 2013 4:06 pm

      Johann!!! Thanks a ton for posting that video! It’s great to hear that DICE really is improving BF4 ten fold.

    • July 12, 2013 7:26 pm

      I love watching that guy.

      Here’s some good info on BF4 Recon class

  4. July 12, 2013 10:02 am

    Suns. Thanks for posting. You and I talked about this the other week. I was at Gamestop last week and almost picked up a copy. The one I have is scratched after a friend (now in the army), scratched it / unreadable.

    Even though it was cheap (like $7), I decided against it, because no one ever plays it (even for old times sake).

    As much as we enjoyed BCB2, I’m happy with BF3 and see no reason to go back (especially since I’ve already deleted the 100000 GB of Dice DLC….

    BTW: In case you didn’t know, BF3. You can delete some DLC without affecting anything

    If memory serves me: It’s Update 4 & 5, and also the “rent a server update”. Saves like 5 gig. Google it and you’ll see. I did it. Works.

    Suns: I should be able to play late both nights this weekend. What’s ur schedule looking like?

    • July 12, 2013 3:05 pm

      I can haz games!

      Thanks for the heads-up on deletable files! Found the info:

      Mandatory Files:
      Battlefield 3 Title Update (Auto-Download) – 201 MB
      Muiltiplayer Update 6 – 2.0 GB
      Minimum HDD space require to play Multiplayer: 2.2 GB

      DLC Specific files:
      End Game – 1.8 GB
      Aftermath – 1.6 GB
      Armored Kill – 1.6 GB
      Multiplayer Update 3 (Close Quarters) – 2.4 GB
      Battlefield 3 Update (Back to Karkand) – 2.1 GB
      HDD space required to play ALL the DLC: 9.5 GB

      Optional files for better performance:
      Battlefield 3 Disc 1 – 7.3 GB
      Battlefield 2 HD Content – 1.5 GB

      Old files you can delete:
      Multiplayer Update 5 – 1.8 GB
      Multiplayer Update 4 – 1.44 GB
      Rent-A-Server\E-sports-update – 1.02 GB
      Total recoverable space for deleting obsolete files: 4.26 GB

      https://help.ea.com/article/which-updates-are-necessary-to-play-battlefield-3
      http://answers.ea.com/t5/Battlefield-3/Can-I-delete-any-old-updates-for-battlefield-3/td-p/746608

    • July 12, 2013 4:08 pm

      You know, it kinda makes sense why each update is so large. They may include everything from the previous update in the newer one so that the older update becomes obsolete.

Comments are closed.

