Skip to content

Pacific Rim: Because It Is del Toro

July 8, 2013

This is my second post for this movie. If it were anyone else directing, I would chalk it up to just another “Transformers” flick. But this is del Toro, and as the director of the Hellboy movies, and Pan’s Labyrinth, I can’t help but expect just a little story under all that flash. In the end, however, even if it is just flash, it will still be better than Michael Bay‘s stuff because…del Toro.

Below are four featurettes for the movie. I enjoyed them, but it makes me wonder how much I would have enjoyed The Matrix had I seen featurettes of it before I saw it in the theater. I went into that like I did Raiders of the Lost Ark, knowing nothing at all. Both movies blew my socks off. My business socks off.

6 Comments
  1. July 8, 2013 12:43 am

    Sweetening the pot:

  2. rEDChief55 permalink*
    July 8, 2013 5:18 pm

    If you’re saying Pacific Rim will be above and beyond Transformers then that is a very bold statement.

    • Blankman permalink
      July 8, 2013 5:40 pm

      Transformers 2 & 3 were practically unwatchable imo. I really hope Del Toro can really offer another hit with Pacific Rim.

    • July 8, 2013 6:42 pm

      I am with Blank on this. In fact, even the 3GN finds the Transformer sequels tough to watch. When it comes to flash without substance, Michael Bay is hard to beat, but if you are hoping for even just a shred of story, look elsewhere. Pacific Rim may have that shred. Maybe not. We shall know soon.

  3. July 9, 2013 7:15 am

    Every transformer movie sucked beyond the first… which was in many ways disappointing. Fun fact: I went to that movie in an Optimus Prime costume and even wore a full mask, with built-in voice changer while ordering tickets… yeah I am totally not a nerd. 😉

    Regarding Pacific Rim, Del Toro is a genius. The first trailers left me with some concerns, but after reading reviews, this appears to be the kaiju movie many have been waiting for. I anticipate I will see this in the theatre, on the 80 ft screen, with a cold beer. And I skipped many “big” summer movies this year (Man of Steel, Star Trek 2 etc).

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    July 9, 2013 7:30 pm

    yeah but Hellboy 2 was a letdown. Blade 2 was fun but was a little over the top at times and then soap operaish on the dramatic moments. I don’t his action movies are anywhere near his other material quality wise. It’s a Del Toro action movie, it doesn’t say much.

Comments are closed.

