Skip to content

Impressions of the Games of E3

June 11, 2013

AreYouCrying

rED has created a comprehensive media page for all the major presentations, with links to many direct feed YouTubes. We can add more media in that thread. In the meantime, what are your thoughts?

Mine are as follows: there are a ton of great looking games – The Division being probably my second favorite – but every bit of video DICE showed of BF4 (SP and MP) was absolutely incredible, not just in visuals, but in gameplay potential because of the environmental interactivity, commander mode, and utilization of other tech including iPads and Android tablets. It is a game that simply cannot be played as intended on any current platform with the exception of recent PCs. Y’all know my love for Battlefield, but even at that these videos genuinely surprised me. It is a system seller for me. DICE wins all the marbles, candy, and women with Battlefield 4.

As for the systems themselves, while Sony managed some positive PR, the $400 PS4 is of far less interest to me than the $500 Xbox One, even with all its baggage: crazy high price, region/owner locks, availability here in Japan, the Kinect, and MS’ unrelenting and suffocating grab for control over the consumer and his/her schevty balls.

56 Comments
  1. June 11, 2013 3:39 am

    How is the Xbone preferable over the PS4? I just want to hear you rationale. PS4 is cheaper and more consumer-friendly. Bottom line.

    • June 11, 2013 4:26 am

      The PS4 is cheaper, and MS is going to have to deal with that or risk slipping behind. I don’t know yet if the PS4 is more user-friendly or not, however.

      A couple of years ago, I made a PS3 account so that I could use the machine at school and it was/is AWFUL. I hate the UI and the controllers (actually, the UI for the 360 has gotten pretty awful too, lately). PS4 allows game transference to friends, but I don’t do that here anyway (nor can I sell them here). Sony has lost all info on accounts not once but several times – so privacy is worse there than it is on the 360, and the fact is, here is a whole nation who doesn’t understand internet security, so I don’t see trusting them with more personal info to be any safer than anything that MS might gather.

      I don’t know the state of online gaming, but for the PS3 it was so bad, I have friends on my list that keep their 360s on to party chat while they play their PS3 games – on those very rare occasions that they actually want to play.

      Back to licensing, if MS really does follow through with their family gaming plan then that is something that even Steam doesn’t offer, and it will save me the price of the console in 6 months:

      “Give your family access to your entire games library anytime, anywhere: Xbox One will enable new forms of access for families. Up to ten members of your family can log in and play from your shared games library on any Xbox One. Just like today, a family member can play your copy of Forza Motorsport at a friend’s house. Only now, they will see not just Forza, but all of your shared games. You can always play your games, and any one of your family members can be playing from your shared library at a given time.”

      It still sounds like something that is too good to be true. But, taking them at their word, that is one heck of a lot more user-friendly than having to buy multiple copies of the same game.

      The region-free thing is the only enviable aspect of the PS3 (and PS4?) that I can think of.

      I have no interest in Sony. Owned but hated the original Playstation (played my N64 and Sega Saturn infinitely more). Didn’t even want the PS2 (nor did I ever own it). It isn’t a Japanese company issue, I just have no interest in it. For me it is either Xbone or PC.

      Comfortable controllers, party chat with my friends, lounging in my chair, games that I want to play, reasonable prices. The company that best provides for that, is the company that is most user-friendly.

    • June 11, 2013 5:16 am

      Wow 3Suns, I simply assumed you were being sarcastic regarding the choice of XB1 over the PS4 – specially considering that BF4 is coming out on everything. Even DRM/Indy/Kinect stuff aside, the PS4 just has more capable grunt than the XB1….

      Don’t get me wrong though, at the moment I’m probably not going to buy anything from Sony/Nintendo/Microsoft (didn’t even own a PS3 or Wii from the last gen). It’s really looking like I am pretty much set on PC now. With my friends jumping ship, and the fact that I am learning UDK/3D max in preparation for the Oculus Rift I ordered, I doubt very much I will be grabbing anything console wise for this gen. 😦

      Have to admit though, it’s hard to fathom why someone might choose the XB1 over the PS4…. Still reading through your post again, you definitely have your reasons. Knowing your setup, I can see why the family plan would appeal. Definitely no argument there. I also love the Xbox controllers too – hope the XB1’s work on PC!

      P.S. If you are keen on selling your used 360 games here in Japan, I would be very interested. I’ve been dying to give Red Dead another run through. 😀

    • June 11, 2013 5:26 am

      If you look at the PS4, it’s controller resembles as 360. Love that. And you’re correct about MS’s policy on games. However, that won’t be available at launch and there’s no official word as to when it will be. From my end, I love the pricing of the PS4 and feel that the online service has been improved dramatically. You’ve got a point with the security, to a degree. Where I’d disagree is that we live in a time when anything can be hacked. Microsoft has had security breaches, just not to the extent that Sony has. I also think we’re seeing a divergence in the consoles here. The Xbox One is a multimedia machine, whereas the PS4 is a gaming machine. Both offer pretty much the same thing, but in terms of multimedia and integrating multiple services, Xbox One is the clear winner. Also, they have Skype. Azure is something interesting, though most of it seems to be PR bullshit. The only real benefit I see is an increase in player count for games. Other features probably won’t be utilized unless a title is exclusive – http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-in-theory-can-xbox-one-cloud-transform-gaming

    • June 11, 2013 5:34 am

      Yes, it has indy (which I couldn’t care less about), DRM (which matters not to me – I can’t sell or trade my games here anyway and to sell them abroad would cost more for shipping that I would gain in price), and Kinect (…you got me there). Party chat and good networking are much more important to me than a couple extra processor cycles, or the other stuff I don’t care about.

      Anyway, you completely fail to persuade me why my reasons are inadequate. PC over Xbone, I completely understand for security and privacy reasons alone. PS4 over it, at best apples and oranges. At worst, a step down in every aspect of gaming that matters to me.

      EDIT: Ty and I were writing at the same time. Thanks for the heads up on that Cloud article. Yes, if you will notice, I have not been using “Cloud advantages” to argue my point. I will believe its benefits when I see them working and bringing a new experience – much like Nintendo’s gimmicks of late. One or two games may or may not benefit. The rest will just ignore it.

      I do however think that the MP gaming will be improved by the increased availability of servers, and suspect that the Client server will go the way of the dodo, even if most servers are funded by gamers a la BF3 options.

  2. June 11, 2013 5:52 am

    I kind of regret having mentioned the consoles at all, because this thread was supposed to be about the games.

    Does any one agree, at least to some extent, that BF4 looks awesome?! And what games turned your crank?

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 7:11 am

      BF4 building falling MP gameplay was insane, it looked only a better, nothing marginal (I do think i was on the wrong quality stream btw and changed it after, can’t remember it’s a blur) but it was super smooth at 60fps.
      Hopefully they bring in new guns, and the commander mode is actually helpful. One thing, if yuo’re on a tablet and youre playing on your console, how’s that tablet guy communicate? Or does he ride around in the chopper/tank while he’s got his tablet out barking orders.

      And is both consoles 64 players now?

      I have a theory that continually adding more people into a game doesn’t always mean more fun, 32 should be a good number, anymore and it’ll be so big there may as well be seperate games going ong. Same with graphics, I find that with more graphics power, it gets harder and harder to find those campers laying in a pile of rubble. It strains my eyes.

    • June 11, 2013 7:06 pm

      Not sure about the Commander mode, (possibly through Skype?) but yes 64 players on Xbox One and PS4.

      64 is perfect I think, Average. One thing I’ve noticed of late is that with the jump in performance, DICE will most likely be making some big ass maps. Now granted, I’m sure they’ll do a Close Quarters type thing where on the smaller maps they limit it to 32/24/16, but I can see 64 being the average (no pun intended).

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 7:12 pm

      Ohhh Grymmie you American jokester.

      I think BF4 with 64 be great not just average!
      Commander mode perhaps is supposed to be played by someone in game…

      Would love to see something similar for racing games. A buddy be able to dictate strategy. Show where cars are on the map. Split times, tires for pitstops!

      I thought the district looked like an MMO since they say PVP. What do you think?

    • June 11, 2013 7:20 pm

      That would be an amazing addition for rally car games definitely. One person has the map, writes notes down about the track, meanwhile the other person sees nothing but the car and the road in front of him. That would be sick, and very true to life.

      Are you referring to The Division? Or is The District another game?

      If you’re talking about Division, it’s being advertised as an MMORPG, but it’s essentially an MMO Squad Based Survival Third Person Shooter with RPG elements (most likely customization, etc).

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 7:26 pm

      Ya division sorry!

      That would be sweet for rally too! We should be making that.

      Sick, i just hope that the MMO doesn’t get restricted to a 4 man squad. I want to be able to run the full stranded.
      Grymm imagine that WoW style running around, raid some hide outs and do PVP!

    • June 11, 2013 7:29 pm

      Hahaha, that would be sooooo epic! The Stranded would without a doubt be one of the big dogs in that game. People would fear us across the world!

      From what I’ve seen it looks like you are only restricted to 4-man squads, but they’ve only released that one gameplay video, so practically all the details are still unknown right now.

      However, if that still is the case come launch, I’m sure we could have 8 people hop in a Skype call/party chat and communicate that way.

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 7:31 pm

      Haha ya stick together and such.
      I would see it hard to imagine 4 people and no kind of clan/group.

      Looks good!!!

    • June 11, 2013 7:02 pm

      I’d have to agree that BF4 is my #1, but The Division is a VERY, VERY close second. Those games are enough alone to justify me buying the console.

  3. June 11, 2013 6:28 am

    BF4 looks pretty, but I know Premium’s around the bend. So I certainly won’t be getting it at launch. Graphical fidelity is nice, but I’m absolutely in love with Rising Storm and Natural Selection 2, the former which looks like ass on quite a few maps. So it’s gameplay over anything else. I’m more excited about WHAT BF4 is doing, namely, the return of Commander mode. Honestly, what I’m MOST excited about from DICE is the new Battlefront. The trailer was pre-rendered bullshit (or appeared to be), but even if its just Battlefield with a Star Wars paint job, that has me most excited.

    In terms of Battlefield, I want the irreverent Bad Company. BF4 I feel will be more of a game that I wanted BF3 to be. And I don’t like the drab colors with blue tint. I loved the lush jungles and interesting vistas of Bad Company. From top to bottom, that was a Battlefield game that just had character. Lastly, and a good point for BF4, is the increased destructibility. THAT is awesome. That’s what I wanted in BF3 that I felt was lacking more than anything.

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 7:07 am

      Baxter and I were discussing Premium the other day, something that we both should have bought.
      It’s initial investment sucks, because you’re paying double the game price, but for all the map maps, and stats, guns, etc etc. It’s not that bad, and really, 59$ and 49$ for a game i’m going to spend days and weeks upon, there’s nothing cheaper in entertainment then that.

  4. Average permalink*
    June 11, 2013 6:59 am

    I watched all the press conferences, E3 and before.

    After the M$ conference yesterday, I was thinking, I’ll buy a PS4 after I get a Xbox One if they price it cheaply.

    $399 compared to $499 isn’t a big difference really, especially when everyones dropping 399, 299, 499 on new phones.

    If they can capture me with the PS4 UI, I’ll prob pick one up at a later date AND depending on where my friends are I’ll follow suit.

    BF4 looked unreal, Halo 4 trailer caught me by complete surprise.
    Destiny looked like CoD Aliens.
    TitanFall looked really fast paced and fun actually, I liked the speed and jumping around, a bit of parkouring with those jet packs.
    The Division looked INCREDIBLE, as did WatchDogs..

    New assassins I haven’t been overly excited about, but they showed more of it and it was better looking.

    God I’m forgetting so many games.
    Metal gear solid, looked quite good. Funniest thing in the E3 post show was someone said:
    Guy 1: “The Horse stealth really really…”
    Guy 2: “you dont like it?!”
    Guy 1: “No no, I loved it, it really concerned me that they didn’t give me the dimensions of the size of box that would fit on the horse”
    (For those of you who didn’t play the original MGS’s, stealth was you getting into a cardboard box, ANYWHERE, literally middle of the hallway in a nuclear super lab, no guard expected a thing, even when the box moved 6 feet down the hallway on his next pass.

  5. June 11, 2013 9:47 am

    I guess that just puts me in a minority. I’ve got an iPhone, but I only do that with my plan. It’s a 4S, payed $50.00 USD. A hundred dollar difference is huge to me. UI is probably the biggest argument I’d understand. And premium costs $40.00 to $50.00 USD. So you pay $70.00 USD for the game, plus another $50? Not worth it in my book. I’ll wait for a sale. I do that though as things are just different for me and my life. With a family, I can’t throw away truckloads of cash towards games. And I’ve gotten to a point where, unless I’m absolutely sure a game is going to deliver in every category I want, it’s not worth the full price of admission in my book. Most games just disappoint. But Battlefield, especially with 64 players, offers an experience you just can’t get in many games. I hope they bump the player count up in the next Halo game as well. The maps just keep getting bigger and bigger…

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 9:51 am

      Good point Ty.

      I will say I only buy about 1-2 games a year, so perhaps i’m in the minority for purchase price of games!

      Yea, I agree, 4v4 for competitive is good but they scale most maps up to 8v8 size for Halo particularly, need 8v8 maps and then use the same for 4v4 just divide the map up!

      One thing I NEVER understood was why BF3 didn’t reuse the maps it had for it’s smaller gametypes. I mean each map in BF3 could easily support 5-6 smaller maps for TDM and their small gametypes, more variety for the same amount of work! No brainer.

    • June 11, 2013 10:14 am

      I think the issue is multiplatform and dividing their assets. With BF4, it’ll all be equal. PC will be pretty much equivalent to consoles just slightly better visuals, which really doesn’t matter. What makes Battlefield amazing is the player count. And playing with 64 players in Rising Storm… man, once you get used to that, games with less than 64 players seem empty. lol. It’s great having more players. More chaos, more targets!

  6. June 11, 2013 10:55 am

    I didn’t see a clear list of games that were next gen only. So far Halo is the only one I am looking forward but since it doesn’t come out till another year it safe to say, I can happily wait on my 360, till the prices go down and the dust settles.

    The only real complaint about the PS3 was lack of players compared to the 360, but if the tables turn again for the next gen, that would certainly make me pick one system over the other. I guess we will see by November 2014, which console has the better install base, exclusives, and overall costs.

    But for now as long as I am can buy and play the new games coming up, I really don’t fret too much about the next gen.

  7. June 11, 2013 11:43 am

    My thoughts:

    BF4 and The Division set the standard for what we can expect next-gen on the consoles. Honestly better looking than I was even expecting! These are “launch-early life” games, and they already look outstanding.

    Even at the Xbox One price of $499, that caliber of visuals is a ridiculously good deal in comparison to getting a similar experience on PC. This will change relatively fast (which is why next-gen console releases are good things for PC gamers, because component prices are bound to fall)

    I found it interesting that Sony now charges to play games online, similar to the Xbox model.

    Microsoft’s biggest issue was that they failed to make any clear standings on any of the issues gamers had with their initial launch. Who ever is in charge of their conferences/PR is absolute shit.

    That being said, I think people are blowing the “xBone LOLZ” thing WAY out of proportion. I honestly feel that the WiiU is looking to the past, the PS4 is looking at the present and the Xbox One is looking to the future. You have to make difficult/risky decisions as a company in order to achieve innovation. Commonly, there is outcry from consumers (and enthusiast crowds), but this has always been the case in the past.

    PS4 made the best decision with their price point, and honestly it isn’t surprising. No increase in cost for a new “kinect” device, and they own/have been making BluRays for a while now.

    The decision for me to choose the Xbox One is quite easy honestly. My xbox 360 IS my living room device. I use it for many things beyond gaming, and the fast multi-task OS being offered IS something i find very cool. The smooth OS and fast switching between games/DVR/apps is honestly stunning. My PS3 is a dust-collector, and I will be selling it once I get the Xbox One, as it will be my new Blu-Ray player as well.

    I like turtles

    • June 11, 2013 12:53 pm

      I’ll be getting 1 – Xbox One for starters (likely at launch), and then a second after I see how things are working out,and what is in the “games stable”.

      Don’t know much about the tv you can watch on the new Xbox One, but if it is good, I can actually save some money by eliminating my cable bill. That’s $70 per month – “minus” – whatever it costs to watch TV on the new Xbox. Either way, there should be some savings…

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 1:11 pm

      You sir, still need a cable box to input into the Xbox One.
      Unless you use other services for cable from the xbox itself.

    • June 11, 2013 1:25 pm

      I am hoping more television companies bring “apps” to the XBL marketplace, to replace the traditional TV models. I don’t even use my Comcast Cable box because the UI and interface is so frustrating (and their live content doesn’t interest me these days).

    • June 11, 2013 3:29 pm

      @Kenai – nothing’s confirmed for TV services I’ve seen. My understanding is that it will integrate with your cable box. However, there have been rumors M$ is trying to broker a deal or package with cable companies. So who knows?

    • June 11, 2013 3:25 pm

      @zoso – It makes perfect sense that they opted to charge for online services as they can put that towards building/improving their online infrastructure and make profit. Microsoft made $500 MILLION in subscriptions last year. If you want to compete, there’s somethings you just have to adopt.

  8. June 11, 2013 12:52 pm

    PS: Is xbox one sold out everywhere?

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 1:12 pm

      huh? Is it sold out anywhere?

    • June 11, 2013 1:24 pm

      Amazon, Best Buy, Gamestop from what i can tell are sold out of preorders for launch consoles… or is it just Day 1 additions? The only available pre-orders I can find are for December 2013

  9. rEDChief55 permalink*
    June 11, 2013 1:07 pm

    Worth pointing out: The PS4 no used game policy (which I would like) is only for first party games. Third Party publishers will dictate DRM policies, just like on Xbox One.
    http://www.gametrailers.com/videos/ulnvnz/playstation-4-e3-2013–jack-tretton-drops-the-mic–stream-
    Skip to 3:30

    So to make the no used game restrictions argument, you must be referring to first party games only. On the topic of first party games, it wasn’t even close. Xbox games are ones I will actually play. Maybe it’s because they are North American games (shooters, action) compared to Sony-Japanese games (RPG, adventure, fantasy). Fact is that, for me, I wouldn’t play the Sony first party games. Sure I would like less game restrictions and a cheaper console price, but if I am not interested in the games then that’s a moot point.

    My favorites:

    #1) The Division was a pleasant surprise. Looking forward to this the most. Could talk about this game all day.

    #2) Battlefield 4. BF3 lacked destructibility severely and had a small player count on consoles. This looks to be rectified this time around.

    #3) Ryse. I believe this was the first game where the presentation started and I thought that it was CG until the camera snapped behind the character and all of the sudden we were watching live gameplay (same thing happened with a few others including The Division). The gory nature of combat is also nice.

    #4) Watch Dogs. This would be higher except we pretty much already knew what to expect from this game. It didn’t have the surprise or shock factor since this was announced/shown off last year. Still very excited about this.

    #5 Dead Rising 3. Removing the over the top humor from this series was a great choice. This game is finally scary and it needed to be.This would be higher up on my list, but there are indications that this game’s multiplayer capabilities will be pretty limited. Hopefully that isn’t the case.

    • Average permalink*
      June 11, 2013 1:15 pm

      Hey rED, where did you see the DRM on non-first party?

      Division, want more gameplay. Ryse had too many quick time events, but was stunning.
      And the watch dog demo reminded me so much of GTA.

      Is there just the 1 BF4 MP video?

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      June 11, 2013 1:22 pm

      Hey, I’ve edited my post to link the video about DRM.

      I would like more gameplay from the Division as well, but what we’ve seen so far is pretty good.

      The Ryse demo was a bit misleading. The developers shared that they cut the combat time down for the purposes of demo-ing the game. So literally ALL we saw were quicktime events, it will not be like that in the real game. Each individual battle will actually be a battle, not an easy single button kill.

      Watch Dogs has a lot of parallels with GTA no doubt. The shooting, open world, stealing shit…but the thing about this game I like is that the hacking abilities don’t just change how you play, but how you think. Approaching an enemy stronghold, for instance, will be two totally different styles from GTA and Watch Dogs.

      There’s the MP demo, the MP trailer, and the Commander Mode trailer. I haven’t watched the last 2 so I don’t know if there’s any overlap.

    • June 11, 2013 1:22 pm

      Great Dev breakdown of the tech for Ryse. You car tear cloth LOL

      http://www.ign.com/videos/2013/06/11/ryse-gameplay-demo-ign-live-e3-2013

    • June 11, 2013 6:01 pm

      “So to make the no used game restrictions argument, you must be referring to first party games only.”

      Nope, it’s referring to the hardware platform itself. The XB1 restricts everything by design, right out of the box. Even the developers do not have the choice (based on the info. released so far of course).

      Sony would be shooting themselves in the foot if they created restrictions in relation to online passes, micro transactions, or any other modern business model, but allowing developers to choose the model that best suits their gamers will not only keep more people making the games happy, but also more people playing the games happy. Did we not learn anything from SimCity?

      Anyway, enough of the hardware related shit. The dust will settle, and by then it will be clear that both companies are twisted information whores after more than our money. 😀

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      June 12, 2013 12:28 am

      Yeah I went back and you’re right in terms of Xbox One only allowing you to give the game out ONCE and to someone who’s been on your friends list for 30 days. I wish those limitations weren’t there.

      I just thought it was worth clearing up the message. PS4 can potentially have used game restrictions for third party games, it isn’t a console-wide policy.

  10. June 11, 2013 1:42 pm

    OMG forza footage has me HAWT AND BOTHERED.

    http://www.ign.com/videos/2013/06/11/forza-5-gameplay-demo-ign-live-e3-2013

  11. June 11, 2013 3:27 pm

    The Division looked amazing. Certainly unexpected but what I would want in terms of visual fidelity for next-gen. BF4, of course, looks stunning. And seeing a whole building come down… that’s what I wanted in BF3.

    • June 11, 2013 4:12 pm

      Loving what I’ve seen of The Division! Open world?! RPG?!!

      Forget DayZ, this looks Spectacular!

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      June 12, 2013 12:22 am

      I wouldn’t exactly forget DayZ. It’s going to be a long time before it’s ready so it deserves to be put on the back burner for awhile, but I definitely wouldn’t write it off. The Division SEEMS as if it’ll be a nice dose of a DayZ fix for the console crowd. Still holding out hope DayZ will come to consoles in a couple years time.

  12. June 11, 2013 6:55 pm

    Zos and Average, good to hear from you and some great insights. Nice list rED.

    Average and ty, you mentioned money and I have kind of come into that situation myself this past 6 months. I was relieved that I didn’t have to buy A:CM, but then I didn’t even have the freedom to put it towards GoW:J. I am thinking that I am going to have to start really planning ahead, and I can no longer afford to get games that I will only play for 20 hours or so. The titles I buy have to be 100+hour games if I am going to be paying full retail prices. (e.g., 297 hours BF:BC2, 280 hours BF3, probably 500+ for Gears 1) Those are the games I am actively seeking now. The District looks like it could entertain for 100+, BF4 for 300+.

    • June 11, 2013 9:43 pm

      @Suns. Yeah, that’s where I am. I’ve just become cheap as hell. With Premium for Battlefield, and digital goods being tangible at best, I try to pay $30.00 USD or less for a game. I think about it in terms of games. For $1500 USD, you can have three copies of BF3 and 3 copies of BF4 for you and the boys. It’s just how I look at things now. We even started doing a good bit of our shopping at Dollar General. It’s the same shit at Wal-Mart or wherever, but half or two thirds the price. Ridiculous. My wife was even giving me hell about internet (and understandably so) when we move back to GA. It’ll cost us $55.00 USD a month. Right now, we pay $75 for internet and cable. And both speeds are roughly 20 Mbps DL, 2 Mbps Upload. The problem is the cable company down in GA. I looked at prices. And DSL isn’t even comparable for our gaming streaming needs. It would cost us $100.00 USD a MONTH to have cable bundled in for GA. And that’s only standard! No DVR, no premium channels. And then these assholes wonder why piracy is so rampant. Instances like this make me fear the future if we give up our digital rights. Some businesses offer good value. Amazon and Netflix are perfect examples. But some want to drain you dry. And that worries me!

  13. June 11, 2013 11:59 pm

    Heads-up. BF3 Close Quarters DLC is free during E3. Grab it if you don’t have it. It is outstanding. Also Double XP for those who care.

  14. June 12, 2013 5:17 am

    Hey Suns, I know you wanted to focus on the games, but as I was reading your reasoning for dismissing the PS4, I couldnt help but notice that most of it was based on the past. And while the past is helpful, you cannot truly judge a future product upon a company’s past history. It is a pre-conceived bias, which is the bread and butter of fanboys the world over.

    Personally, I am reserving judgement until all information is publically available. I don’t watch E3, because I don’t believe that hype is helpful. The only videos I have watched so far are the Battlefield 4 videos (and Plants vs. Zombies Garden Warfare, as my 7 year old son is all into zombies), but they are pre-alpha gameplay. It could end up being a drastically different product. I really hope it doesn’t, but there is no guarantee. Let’s not forget the lessons of Brink and Aliens: Colonial Marines, or even the Battlefield 3 ’’Open Beta’’, which caused someone I know to cancel his very cheap pre-orders, if I’m recalling this correctly.

    • June 12, 2013 6:00 am

      Great point Herandar. My thoughts exactly. But it’s also more of a numbers game from my end.

  15. June 12, 2013 7:46 pm

    Pre-ordered my Xbox One on Amazon. Can cancel if need be, I am going to try to get one pre-ordered at Best Buy in PDX, OR for no sales tax (cost of a game).

    I am also selling my PS3 (as Xbox One will be my primary Blu-Ray), one of our Xbox’s and some games leading up to the purchase.

    In terms of games:

    Final list of my “Best 3 of E3”:

    1) The Division (PVP to be determined. If there are only certain moments of PVP, then this is NO DayZ. I am hoping there is always danger in wondering the streets of the city).
    2) Forza 5 (still hot and bothered. Every other racing game can GTFO)
    3) BF4 (single player was beyond beautiful, multiplayer looked intense and fresh)

    • June 12, 2013 8:52 pm

      It’s good to see Amazon is still taking Day One Pre-orders, just got myself one as well since MS refuses to let me pay them directly for the console. Also got free 2 day shipping with my student prime membership!

  16. June 12, 2013 9:32 pm

    @Herandar

    First, neither you nor Blankman will ever let me live that Brink fiasco down. lol Cheers! Yes, I learned lessons from Brink and A:CM and the BF3 demo. Each of them cost me money. The lessons from Brink and A:CM were that Splash Damage and Gearbox willingly mislead their customers via media and in developer posting and comments. The BF3 demo, on the other hand, taught me that I can give DICE some room, even if they appear to be blowing it.

    I am guilty of much emotion in my writing and of swinging like a pendulum back and forth on opinions. I need to repeat myself in this: don’t ever base your entertainment expense decisions on what I say, no matter how excited I might be about something.

    I hear your point about the “bread and butter of fanboys”. I think, however, you would more accurately call me a “hater” of this or that, than a “fanboy” of any system. If I come across as a fanboy of MS, then I am communicating very badly.

    Before I continue though, I am curious, have I written anywhere what system I will buy or when I will buy it? Because I truly have not made any decisions.* I have just spoken out against the fanboy talk that Sony “won” the E3, and given my reasons for liking the One over the PS4 – and most of those reasons have been needs and gaming preference related – completely independent of what every platform offers.** In fact, I am still willing to give Valve until the end of E3 to make some announcements about a partnership for the “Living Room PC”.***

    Now, specifically for Sony:
    Most of my judgment of the upcoming PS4 is indeed based on the past or current situation (i.e., the PS3), including, admittedly, my dislike for the Sony controller which they have shown to be at least “softer looking” for the PS4. I would be an idiot, however, if I didn’t consider a company’s track record. Over the years, I have caught Sony in many outright lies, including: their offering of open hardware for the Linux community, and their promise to launch the PS3 at the same time as MS’ 360 – which like Gabe Newell’s lie about the release of HL2 in Fall of 2003 – was an absolute impossibility. It showed me the company has no problems lying to their customers’ faces now, for the future later. That means that I can take nothing they say at face value. Even a year after launch, I don’t know if they will suddenly change their policy on any issue as they did with the firmware locking out Linux users.

    Surprisingly, MS with their crazy annual XBL fee, their “premium DLC” and, and their utter hardware failures, have never lied to me. In fact, when my hardware did fail, they actually extended the warranty to cover my issues. Similarly, after I purchased 4 XBL subscriptions, they offered the Family Pack reducing the cost by 50% per year (and putting the excess towards the Family Pack time). On my own coin, in 6+ years of gaming, I have had to replace one system, but it was a risk I was aware of before I bought my first machine, and it has ended up being an incredibly cheap form of entertainment. (For comparison, I have had to replace 4+ media players in the same amount of time at $100+ a piece).

    So, when Microsoft makes a claim or states a policy about a future product, I can expect that things will probably be that, or better (because most of their announcements are awful). When Sony says something, it means absolutely nothing. They have proven again and again that they will do as they like, when they want to.

    *I was telling the Party yesterday that I might not even be buying BF4 at all because I don’t want the gimped version for the 360, and I almost certainly will not have the cash to buy any new system (PC included) this fall.

    **I need to play sitting in comfort with a comfortable controller, have instant, seemless, effortless voice access to my gang of friends regardless of what I or they are playing, and have access to the games I want to play, regardless of how awesome any other given platform’s library might be.

    ***Valve proves to be almost as untruthful as Sony as in the example above and in their multiple announcements over several years about support for TF2 on the 360. I say “partnerships” because I have given up any fantasy that they might actually commission the production of a machine themselves.

  17. Johann Nishiki permalink
    June 13, 2013 5:49 am

    Great breakdown video of BF4 MP:

    • June 13, 2013 3:16 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up, Johann. I’ve added it to the BF4 page.

    • June 13, 2013 4:14 pm

      Saw mp the other day, but this guy’s commentary is great.

      I’m starting to think I’ll hold off on getting a launch Xbox, and pick it up when The Division launches. I’ll pick up Bf4 then…

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 13, 2013 5:16 pm

      My thoughts exactly. The Division is the only game that I look forward to playing. Also, the XB1 will most likely support Japan & Asia by then since it won’t at launch.

    • June 13, 2013 6:38 pm

      Personally prefer Levelcap.

  18. rEDChief55 permalink*
    June 13, 2013 3:41 pm

    Here’s brand new gameplay of Payday 2 from E3 with developer commentary.

    (youtube version edit by ‘Suns)

    http://www.gamespot.com/e3/payday-2-developer-demo-e3-2013-6410175/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

  19. June 15, 2013 9:31 pm

    Sony fanboys hurting hard right now.

Comments are closed.

