Skip to content

Payday 2

May 11, 2013
tags: ,
by

rED has been vocally anticipating this one for a while, but somehow it has managed to slip almost completely under my radar. With a little checking, I was able to confirm that Payday 2 will be an XBLA release, which means it will most likely fit the impulse spending budget and will also be digital for those who hate swapping out discs. The scheduled release is summer 2013.

“…the elevator pitch for the first Payday game was ‘It’s Left4Dead with cops instead of zombies'” Classic! This one, of course, isn’t just 4 player co-op, but 4 player, class-based co-op. More features described in the videos below.

And from the April 24th VG42/7 article.

With rumors flying about the Xbox “Fusion” hitting shelves at $499.99, that’s FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS, I think there is going to be lots of time to play a few more games on the good ‘ole 360.

25 Comments
  1. May 11, 2013 9:42 am

    This has potential. Been following this one for a while. If the new 360 is $500, consider Steam Box alternatives or building a PC. I will CROWD FUND you, boy!

  2. May 11, 2013 9:43 am

    Also, you can now like posts on my blog. Working on where you may be able to log in with this WordPress profile and/or comment. Experiment!

  3. May 11, 2013 9:44 am

    And by like, I mean with your WordPress profile here!

  4. Blankman permalink*
    May 11, 2013 3:44 pm

    Very amped to play Payday 2! When I think of this game, I immediately picture Heat & Point Break heist scenes & gun battles with the Police. Cannot wait to do co-op with the “crew!”

    BTW: Did you notice how the developer that was being interviewed tried to avoid eye contact with the female interviewer? She was definitely easy on the eyes! He probably popped a woody while she interviewed him. Ha!

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      May 12, 2013 12:12 pm

      Don’t forget the Dark Knight

    • Blankman permalink
      May 12, 2013 6:04 pm

      Oh damn, how could I forget one of my fav superhero flicks?!?

  5. Blankman permalink
    May 12, 2013 8:13 pm

    Well, rED was on the right track when he guessed that Payday 2 was going to hit around August. According to GameStop, they’ve slated a release day of August 13th for $39.99. It has been confirmed for XBLA, so that price point would make it the most expensive digitally distributed Arcade title to date on MS’ service. Regardless, I’m sold!

    • May 12, 2013 8:17 pm

      Thanks for the info! If y’all are in, I am definitely there. I want to see more of the class-based stuff, but I am sure it will be solid.

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      May 12, 2013 11:45 pm

      Also said it was too much content to be $20 😉 I am in as well. Too much goodness here

    • May 13, 2013 7:54 pm

      I’m so happy I showed this game to all of you.

  6. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 13, 2013 9:08 pm

    You son of a bitch.

  7. May 13, 2013 9:09 pm

    Grymm liked this before it was cool

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      May 13, 2013 9:11 pm

      I liked this before it was Grymm

    • May 14, 2013 9:17 pm

      I Grymmed before it was Grymmie Gram.

  8. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 14, 2013 11:26 am

    haha looks like it IS too much game to be digital only (Like I said :))
    They will also be releasing a retail version of the game which is great news for those of us with limited hard drive space!

    http://www.gamer4eva.com/2013/05/payday-2-to-get-retail-edition-for-xbox.html

    • Blankman permalink
      May 14, 2013 7:06 pm

      Over thirty missions! Nice! Check out this article about the customizations that will be available in the sequel.

      OT: The new Gears Judgment ‘Dreadnought’ Overrun map is free for a “limited time” (two weeks) according to MS, so d/l it here. It’s only 40kb which means that it’s an unlock key & the content is already on the disc. Ridiculous. D/L it even if you don’t have the game yet. As long as it’s in your account history, you’re set.

    • May 14, 2013 9:16 pm

      HOLY FUCK MY MIND IS BEING BANGED ON SO MANY ACCORDS FROM ALL THIS GOODNESS!!!

      EDIT (COLON) CUSTOMIZABLE MMMMMMAAAASSSSSKKKKSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!

  9. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 14, 2013 10:45 pm

    I don’t think there will be customizable masks in the sense that you can add layers like Black Ops emblem creator. I think you can just unlock new ones like you would with weapon skins. BUT there will be different suit types. I like that. I am suits.

  10. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 14, 2013 11:09 pm

    Other than the Patriotic mask seen in all the promo pictures, here are some of the other masks that have been teased so far from the creative director’s twitter….







    • May 15, 2013 12:51 am

      I look forward to making masks our new banner.

      (and thanks for the heads-up, Kenny.)

    • Blankman permalink
      May 15, 2013 9:24 am

      The majority of those masks look pretty cool. I can picture Suns in that Rising Sun pig mask! Gotta represent his adopted peeps, right? That Oni (demon) mask is fierce. Time to get all Yakuza on somebody’s a$$! Ha!

      As rED has already suggested, I think that the masks are preset unlockable masks that can be purchased in the game’s black market, & the customization aspect is simply picking which one to don on your character. Wouldn’t it have been cool if you could perhaps customize a mask based on the goalie mask of your favorite hockey team? How cool would that be?!? Regardless, PD2 is shaping up to be everyone’s cops & robbers childhood pastime with the exception that we only want to play the criminals!

      As PD2 gains traction, I wouldn’t doubt the usual knucklehead “news” programs/channels to sensationalize & try to put the kibosh on this game. They’ll sensationalize the glorification of crime & cop killing to get viewership. I can see it already.

      BTW: Overkill Software was founded by the Anderrson brothers who were owners of the now defunct studio, Grin. Overkill was purchased by Starbreeze Studios (Chronicles of Riddick & The Darkness) last year. BF:BC2 & BF3’s lead designer, David Goldfarb, left EA to be the lead designer & game director for PD2.

    • May 15, 2013 1:11 pm

      I wanna Darth Vader Mask!

  11. May 15, 2013 1:46 pm

    Alright, looks like we are basically ALL on board now. I don’t have Twitter or Facebook accounts, nor do I frequent the forums, so I am countin’ on my Bras to keep us all posted with breaking news.

    It is time The Stranded were able to collectively anticipate the heck out of a game again. Just send me links to my e-mail if you don’t have time to make posts. WOOT!

  12. May 15, 2013 2:11 pm

    Also, to Kenny’s point about the Rising Sun mask, and simultaneously to his point about the social backlash: the Japanese character on the top of his mask 福 means “lucky/abundant/blessed”, and the characters on the left of the chin 罪人 mean “con/guilty party/sinner”.

    I love it when they use real language. (Sometimes artists don’t.)

    • May 15, 2013 10:09 pm

      That’s really awesome that the characters are actually relevant to the mask rather than just straight up gibberish.

Comments are closed.

