Skip to content

Battlefield 4 “Fishing In Baku” (17min)

March 26, 2013

11 Comments
  1. Average permalink*
    March 27, 2013 3:19 am

    Fastest 17 mins ever.

  2. March 27, 2013 7:06 am

    As someone who still has not taken the single player disc out of the case of BF3, my response is; meh.

    • Average permalink*
      March 27, 2013 7:58 am

      SP was meh, but how can this be MEH! This may be SP, but it’ll carry over to MP and it is gorgeous (albeit on PC of course) but still this video was wicked.

    • March 27, 2013 8:59 am

      Easy. Graphics do not really impress me. I am curious about the motion sensor trigger thing he used a few times.

      For the record, this is what I am most concerned about/looking forward to:

      *Full, Bad Company 2+ destructability.

      *64 player matches on the consoles. (MAG did more on the PS3, so it can be done, but I am guessing the physics was much more simplistic.)

      I do not think 64 players will be on current consoles, so I will probably be playing BF3 well into 2014, if not 2015.

  3. March 27, 2013 1:38 pm

    I almost was waiting for a Rick Roll after the intro.

  4. March 27, 2013 4:15 pm

    Herandar, I agree completely with the “features” you want from BF4 – it is exactly what I was saying to 3GN last night.

    As for graphics, I can no longer say that they don’t matter. I really only had two problems with Brink.
    1. The netcode was so poorly done for the 360, we couldn’t play together against humans.
    2. The animations were dirt awful, especially considering the games main feature was parkour movement; and the graphics overall were grainy or smudged compared to the PC version. The architecture was spectacular (unparalleled before and after – and has even been copied in BlOps2), but this only exacerbated the fact that the rendering engine was horrible.

    As time and money conspire to limit my gaming experiences, graphics, animation, and sound take on a greater significance. Of course, none of that means anything if the gameplay isn’t fun, but a lack of fun games is not an issue. In which case, give me the best of everything. BF3 has probably the best animation and sound of any game right now. It is really hard, within the same genre, to go from that to something less.

    Back to BF4, like you, I am “Meh” about this video *if* DICE doesn’t do something to increase the player count and destructability. BF3 would be SO much more if it addressed these problems. End Game is great, but especially playing conquest, the maps are simply too large for the player population.

    P.S. I enjoyed the campaign for BF3, and was almost finished before I lost my save somehow.

  5. March 28, 2013 5:28 am

    Back on that: As a non-premium member, should I pick up End Game? Heard CTF almost always descends into a camp fest around either flag. Monaco is higher on my personal priority list, and I will get that first, if I do get End Game.

    I personally do not need to be able to see individual sweat droplets to immerse myself in a game. Current generation graphics are more than enough for my tastes. The first FPS I played was Faceball 2000 on the SNES.

  6. March 28, 2013 7:42 am

    They need to give up on SP. Wasted talent. It looks gorgeous but I want BF3 destruct ability. Premium? Ugh. Thanks EA. If I get it, I’ll wait on a sale. 64 player count has been confirmed for next-gen consoles and graphical fidelity should be close to this. EA needs to stop shooting for theCoD demographic. This am entirely different beast. Embrace the strengths and uniqueness of Battlefield!

  7. March 28, 2013 12:00 pm

    Herandar, CTF never ends in a camp fest when you rock with Grymmie, Johann, Kenai, and I. Not joking. We win, and we do it with style and usually on motorcycles with some shouting and lots of laughter.

    Having said that, CTF is CTF with its strengths and weaknesses, and even when you play it in the BF3 universe that doesn’t change. It is kind of weird, really. What I used to think were Halo 2 strategies were actually generic CTF strats.

    Thanks for the info on next-gen, Ty. DICE/EA’s gimping of their own game due to bandwidth concerns was some of the biggest fakery this gen. You wanna know who has the hamsters running their connection? Just look at the PC guys. Console gamers actually care about their connections because they are almost always playing Client/Host. PC gamers are always playing on dedicated servers so they don’t care about their connections. BF3 is all hosted on dedicated servers so it makes no sense whatsoever that BF3 had a limited player count.

  8. March 28, 2013 1:55 pm

    Yeah, but should I get End Game? Especially if some are now enamored with GOW:J…

    I understand what Ty is saying, but its not going to happen. EA wants to be King of the FPS, and each iteration of BF is going to be an attempt to lure COD players to jump ship. The marketing push will be aimed squarely at COD kids. Heck, according to the story on Battlefieldo, there were prominent COD youtubers invited to the BF4 reveal event and might be giving them exclusive content to post. Funnily enough, I got a COD tenth prestiger to convert with BF3.

    • March 28, 2013 2:49 pm

      I think holding off on End Game until after you have had your fun with Monaco is smart thinking. After that, we will see who is still playing End Game and then you will be able to make an informed decision, at least as regards this community’s participation.

Comments are closed.

