Skip to content

Defiance

March 9, 2013

Until this morning, I had never even heard of this game/show.  PAR has a lengthy article on it and, while extremely skeptical (I am thinking of the forbidden numbers here), I am intrigued.

It’s also crazy ambitious, blending the best elements of third-person shooters, MMOs, RPGs, while at the same time crossing between mediums; players will be able to see the impact from the TV show on the game world, and vice versa. …

…despite these occasional hiccups, Defiance surprised me. A game that does a good job of merging traditional RPG elements like loot, leveling up, and a skill tree with an action-heavy genre like a third-person shooter is the exception, not the norm. Defiance‘s systems don’t feel like a copy of anything else, though it clearly borrows from the likes of Borderlands and Trion’s own Rift.

This is much more than a video game using a SyFy show as a promotional gimmick; it’s not always perfect, but it’s fun, and I look forward to seeing more. Defiance – the game – releases April 2, and the show premieres April 15.

Defiance YouTube Channel and the site for VonBachIndustries, the fictional gun manufacturer.

At the very least, Trion Worlds seems to understand that the Borderlands’ uncustomizable-disposable gun system is rubbish (one of two deal breakers for me with that game).

As for the TV show, I am very interested in seeing what it has to offer. I am a sucker for sci-fi shows, especially if they might be aping Firefly, and they take the time and use the resources to create and incorporate fictional languages and cultures.

7 Comments
  1. March 9, 2013 4:14 pm

    The more I dig, the more interested I become about the show and to the extent that the game is tied to it, the game. Having said that, I can imagine that the problems with this game, especially for the 360 with its barriers for updating, will be truly horrific along the lines of last weeks SimCity and last months A:CM release.

    This could be the perfect game to buy digitally, after the dust has settled, the major bugs are ironed out, and a level of quality and pleasure has been ensured.

    • March 9, 2013 5:34 pm

      And on PC Suns. Peeeee SEEEA! lol. Hopefully ya’ll won’t hate me. I refuse to give up until everyone is frolicking about with joy in Natural Selection 2. 😉

    • Blankman permalink
      March 10, 2013 10:26 pm

      Check out what they can do on the PC what they can’t do on the current gen consoles! Crystal Dynamics utilized hair physics program TressFX on the latest Tomb Raider game. After watching the vid, I must say that I was and am impressed.

  2. Blankman permalink
    March 10, 2013 10:22 am

    There’s a Defiance advert running on the XBL dashboard panels since Friday. They are apparently employing the same approach that THQ did for their lukewarm reception of Red Faction: Armageddon on the SyFy channel. Having the television show do the marketing for the game is not necessarily a new thing, but it hasn’t been fully utilized by the games industry. When I first saw the show trailer, it looked like a mix of Mad Max fighting the bugs from Starship Troopers. I don’t know what to make of the game though.

    BTW: LOL @ the ‘Forbidden Numbers’, Suns! That was the only good thing that came out of A:CM. Also, a bit of bad news from XBL. MS has chosen to discontinue the Gold Family Pass @ $100. Apparently, enough subscribers have switched to Gold status & greed finally reared its’ ugly head again. 😦

  3. March 11, 2013 5:43 am

    No problem about the PC floggin’, Ty. Your persistence is taking on humorous proportions! 😉 (And when I wrote the post, I knew that if there were a version that would experience the most growth and the quickest patch service, it is on the PC. No doubt.) Finally, I like the flurry of posts you have going at your own site, and I am especially pleased with the fact that though we both cover a lot of games, movies, and music, our posts have almost zero overlap. Very cool!

    Kenny, yes, the “Forbidden Numbers!” Bwahahahahaha Reminds me of “getting Molyneuxed” (which also came from PA).

    By the way, how does Tomb Raider compare to the Naughty Dog games?

    As for the Family Gold Pass, that is a HUGE disappointment and check on the CON side (pun intended) of the pro vs con list for the stay-with-consoles chart. I can hardly believe what I am reading. I think that as long as we don’t cancel our auto-renewal (which is almost impossible to do anyway) we will continue to enjoy the benefits.

    Finally, in the spirit of Kenny’s awesome “I drink your milkshake!”, I just caught up on industry news and I saw that Mike Capps got the boot from his advisory role at Epic Games. The first thing that popped into my mind was the scene from What About Bob? when the old man and woman in the boat watch Leo’s summer house (their dream house) up in flames, “BURN! haHAHA BURN! HAhahHA! BURN!” (4:45)

    • Blankman permalink
      March 11, 2013 12:06 pm

      As in regards to Crystal Dynamic’s Tomb Raider comparison against Naughty Dog’s Uncharted series, I’m planning a review for the site. Stay tuned! 😀

      OT: Holy sh!t, did you guys see that the “Steam Box” Piston is going to cost almost $1K?!? Not even on my radar…

    • March 11, 2013 1:33 pm

      I was hoping you would review the game, but I didn’t want to pressure you into writing. SWEET!

      Yeah, it is a “modular” solution that doesn’t solve any problems at all. It is a marketing mistake for Valve to even allow them to call it a “Steam Box”.

Comments are closed.

