Skip to content

Columbia: A Modern Day Icarus?

January 28, 2013

It is interesting that each of 3GN has their own favorite genre.  Johann is almost exclusively MPvs, with a little MPco-op (e.g., Borderlands 2) thrown in to change things up a bit.  Tim is all about complex MPco-op, with considerable endurance and patience for SP gaming on the hardest level if the story/world catches his interest (e.g., Mass Effect 2 and 3 and B:AA).  Cornie is eclectic.  In a single gaming session, it isn’t uncommon  to see him start with Minecraft, switch to CoDx, then to Borderlands, over to RDR, and then back to Minecraft or something, but one of his favorites is the BioShock series, of which neither of his brothers have played more than a couple of levels.  Fascinating stuff.  There’s probably some sort of psychological study in there somewhere.

Anyway, at Cornie’s request, I pre-ordered BioShock Infinite a long time ago, when it was announced to be released last February.  Of course, that day came and went.  Cash was handed over for a present, but the pre-order was not canceled.  Now, the game is on the cusp of release and with that special day, Irrational Games is pulling all the stops.  The trailer above is a brilliant marketing move as it provides the kind of back story for Columbia that one wishes we received for Rapture.  Well done, Irrational!  No doubt a professional storyteller is at the helm of your big ship!  Heads-up from PAR.

14 Comments
  1. January 29, 2013 5:54 am

    Looks like a hoot. I’m still enjoying picking my way little by little through Far Cry 3.

    What it the consensus on Gears of War Judgement? Anyone picking it up? Wait and see?

    P.S. Played some DayZ last night on my new pc. Sweet. I was able to turn all the settings to very high. I’m SO wonky with the pc controls, that I eventually switched back to playing Far Cry. Xbox gaming is SO much easier (and immersive).

    • Average permalink*
      January 31, 2013 7:43 am

      When did you buy a PC?! What’d you pick up?

    • Average permalink*
      February 1, 2013 3:40 am

      Not too bad of a machine, Blair (BBaxta) keeps trying to get me into Steam as he’s got a boatload of games over there.
      Maybe in the future, for now the box serves my purposes, though very much in need of some new tittles. Sad to say even H4 is not holding my attention, bored of it… :S Can’t believe I said it.

    • February 1, 2013 11:18 am

      I agree with Haylow 4 average. I may even sell it….

  2. January 29, 2013 12:56 pm

    I loved how Irrational went about doing this trailer. They did a really good job recreating those classic alien-type documentaries from the 80s. So stoked for this game, it’s going to be incredible.

  3. January 29, 2013 2:21 pm

    No GoW Judgement for me, not until that puppy is in the $10 bin (which shouldn’t be more than a couple of months after release) and even then, I may just let it go by me altogether.

    A:CM, Monaco and what I already have on the shelf until next fall, though Cornie will be getting BioShock for his birthday so it will be in the house.

    • Average permalink*
      January 31, 2013 7:44 am

      I haven’t seen a single thing on GOW Judgement, it’s class based from what I remember in the initial interviews?

  4. January 31, 2013 10:36 pm

    What, there’s more!

    And to answer Average’s question above, yes, there are “classes” in Judgement, but not in the BF3/TF2 sense. That is, they are mostly meaningless as far as I know.

  5. Average permalink*
    February 1, 2013 3:44 am

    Btw, suns related to your initial post, BBaxta lent me Skyrim and Assassins Creed 3, I made it through AC3, wasn’t a bad game but it felt artificially extended. You had to walk somewhere, wait for loading, watch a 30 second cutscene or less, load again, back to walking around, load cutscene, load world, do action/mission objective.

    Skyrim though, I didn’t make it past the training mission, I got out of the tunnel, walked to the first town, talked to the first person and turned it off, 30 mins or less. How did everyone make it through? I heard it’s very very very good!

    And ambient chill tune for Grymmie and Mike.
    https://soundcloud.com/genericmeds/plot-for-terminus

    • February 1, 2013 11:28 am

      Skyrim’s a tough one. You have to be a fan of deep open world RPG’s to really enjoy it. Skyrim wasn’t nearly as good as the other Elder Scroll games because Bethesda tried to cater to the non-Elder Scroll fans rather than their more loyal fans. I haven’t even finished the game before I sold it. Just couldn’t hold my attention. The Elder Scrolls MMO, though looks promising and I’m looking forward to see how that turns out.

      That track you linked is awesome. Loved the minimal feel to it. Almost sounds like a lite version of an idm track. Dude needs to put up a download link for it!

      Also, Average. Hate and I are working on some chilled Liquid Dubstep tracks atm. We just keep piling up the workload without releasing anything haha, but we have at least 11+ tracks that we will release eventually.

    • Herandar permalink
      February 3, 2013 7:44 am

      I used to be an RPG gamer back in the day. I just found a web archive of the question and answer section of a long-defunct gaming site where I created a minor controversy among the rather small population of readers by stating that the artwork of Yoshitako Amano sucks. (11/24/98 Celebrate the Contradiction. In the same column, someone asks if the upcoming Dreamcast would be HD-compatible. With over fourteen years of hindsight, the response is quite funny in how incorrect it is.)

      My PS1 library is almost exclusively JRPG. It was really the main thing that I played. And then I just stopped. Not sure if it was coincidental or related to having kids, but by the time I got Live and could play online with other people, I just could not get into RPGs. I tried with a couple current games, but they never hooked me. I haven’t played a main sequence Final Fantasy game since FFIX, but this is mostly due to never getting a PS2.

      One of the first games I picked up when I got the 360 was a used copy of Morrowind. It just looked bad to me, (especially compared to the first Assassin’s Creed) and when I finally did put an afternoon into it, I wandered the wilderness, finding herbs (to sell, eventually, maybe?)

      I did rent Skyrim for free one night, and figured I give it a try, but I spent most of my time sawing wood at the mill, or doing other menial tasks. I grew up on grinding, I guess, so it is what I default to. I can make it through the Assassin’s Creed games, though.

    • February 3, 2013 3:18 pm

      “I spent most of my time sawing wood at the mill”.

      That is hilarious. Perhaps it shows a need to slow down and take it easy. The year that Mario 64 came out, I spent probably 3 or 4 hours swimming in one of the first water levels, looking for coins and stars. Work was really stressful, and I found it incredibly therapeutic.

    • February 1, 2013 7:51 pm

      Yeah, there are many benefits to playing on PC, including shorter load times, and no loading at all if you are using a Solid state drive.

      Cool song! Thanks!

Comments are closed.

