Skip to content

Guillermo del Toro’s Pacific Rim Q&A

December 13, 2012

First, the trailer:

This is what Guillermo del Toro left The Hobbit for. Apparently, Pacific Rim is del Toro’s Star Wars. Actually, having watched his films, I kind of get the feeling that all of his movies are his Star Wars. Pretty funny interview with a fantastic director.

And for those going to see The Hobbit, know that it is apparently slow, but there are those that are happy for it (spoiler free):

“THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY is long, full of fat, and I loved every moment. Whether or not you’re passionate about these movies makes a difference; if you’re like me, you’ll happily spend hours in this world. If not, perhaps you’ll feel the length more acutely. If THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY is bloated, it’s bloated in the way you feel after Thanksgiving dinner, spending time with old friends, enjoying the company and laughing at every story. I anticipate that the next two films will feel much the same to me, and I’m happy that I get to spend time in this wonderful world again.”  Via Aicn.

That may as well have been written by Kenai.

One other thing, Django Unchained is getting unreservedly rave reviews. Were I living in North America, I would be skipping everything, perhaps even school, to see it. Because and because, but not because.

2 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    December 13, 2012 10:51 pm

    Del Toro’s Pacific Rim does look impressive, but it’s essentially Ultraman though; granted the CGI and effects are sweet. Guillermo loved Portal’s GlaDOS’ voice so much, that he asked Valve if he could use it for this flick. Fat ass Newell & Falischek were tripping over each other to reply with an emphatic “YES!”

    I don’t blame Del Toro for bailing on The Hobbit to get this flick made. He sunk two years of his life down in New Zealand while The Hobbit was in litigation limbo. With Del Toro being severely overweight, two years is a lot to ask of a fat man. 😉

    • December 14, 2012 2:38 am

      LOL I don’t blame him. I was feelin’ sorry for his fat ass.

Comments are closed.

