Skip to content

Battlefield 3: Aftermath – All Kinds of Awesome 2

December 5, 2012

After a rocky start with XBL disconnecting us, we got in and played for almost 3 hours. Scavenger is frantic and a lot of fun. I didn’t want to quit to change to a Conquest server. I think that within a couple of weeks, however, if one doesn’t play it regularly, one will get handled by those that do. Map and gun-spawn location knowledge are king, and I will be very surprised if those who play that list exclusively don’t become unstoppable. In the meantime, while everyone is running around with their heads cut off, it is a blast.

The maps feel very fresh. It is as they bragged in their blog. There is a difference between natural disaster destruction and war destruction, and the combination of both makes for great routes, cover, and scenery. There is plenty of verticality in the maps as well, so my Close Quarters “parkour” skill came in handy as I leapt over railings and down entire flights of stairs. Conquest is great, and/but the bases are far enough apart that a single talented squad cannot ensure the win. We lost twice. 😉 It will be a thrill to rock 8+ Stranded deep, and have all the enemy base belong to us. We ran out of time without even getting to RUSH, and I am curious to know where the bases will be and how it will play out. Very different I suspect. That is tomorrow nights assignment, and we will choose to accept it.

Speaking of which, there are lots of new “Assignments” so it is always fun at the end of the round watching the various progress bars fill up. Johann is well on his way to unlocking the Rambo dog tags. When he does, and if he decides to rock them, I think I will play against him and then chase him around the map with my knife. Also, I heard a new audio byte tonight. As per usual, it was army talk and sensitivities prevent me from repeating it here, but I will say that I burst out laughing. 237 hours in, and the audio is still fresh. Well done, DICE.

I contemplated making a compare and contrast slide show of the game summaries from Halo 4 and BF3. Let’s just say I did better tonight playing BF3 than I did this past weekend playing Halo 4. It makes me realize that playing Halo 4 MPvs is an exercise in humiliation. However, I will gladly place that, or any other game in the tray to play with my bros, but dang, if I don’t feel better about myself, in a personal-best sort of way, when I finish an evening of Battlefield.

You know, what DICE needs to do for BF4, is bring back the “Onslaught Mode” they released (and most foolishly charged for) for BF:BC2, and allow us introduce friends to the maps and unlock our weapons. And with that, I must sign off. Lookin’ forward to tomorrow and trying RUSH.

Hit the jump for Kenai’s first impressions (posted in a comment earlier in the day).

EDIT:  DICE must do something about their DLC and MP update file sizes.  It now takes the game minutes for its initial load, and our 60GB drives are darn near full.  It is irresponsible on their part.

From Kenai:

Just played the new maps for a solid hour.

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

The room I was in rotated between conquest and scavenger. How fun!

Frantic is the word for Scavenger (it’s conquest without vehicles, no load outs, and only a pistol each time you spawn). Such a fresh,fun, new way to play. Every time you find a weapon, it’s like a gift from heaven.

Characters are dirty, bandaged. Buildings toppled. Streets are cracked and overthrown.

BF3 (as a whole now) with this map pack / modes feels complete.

Finished product is here at last. Gamers rejoice.

Bedtime for Bonzo. More later…

8 Comments
  1. December 5, 2012 5:57 am

    With the downloaded (2) BF3 discs and all the updates and map packs. I have 24 GB dedicated just to this ONE Game! Why does Xbox even sell a 4GB system?! Not to mention it took over an hour to download the 1.7gb update and then the 1.5gb map pack.

    With that rant finished, I will say one more thing.

    I have really been enjoying Black Ops II (whilst waiting for the BF3 new maps). I still plan on playing BLOPSII on a regular basis (especially looking forward to digging into Zombie mode with some of you). However, after playing BF3 new maps in all its “Freshness”, I have a new infusion of the Battlefield franchises Awesomeness!!

    To take our most endearing American custom into my analogy.

    Thanksgiving Day seating arrangements.

    “Infinity Ward and Treyarch, you guys are still (and likely forevermore) at the kiddie table. Fill your plates and go in the next room, and try not to make too much noise.”

    “Okay, THAT commotion is over… Now, where were we?… Oh yes… Dice, can you pass the gravy and cranberry sauce? Thanks.”

  2. December 5, 2012 1:57 pm

    What time are you thinking of hopping on Suns?

    • December 5, 2012 2:03 pm

      Sometime after 6pm our time. (That would put it into the early morning for you. lol) Can you make it? ❤

    • December 5, 2012 4:03 pm

      Hmmm, I’ll see if I can wake up early enough, lol. Or I may just stay up 😉

  3. December 7, 2012 2:12 pm

    I dont have premium access. Nooooooooooo. Have to wait til 18th.

    • December 7, 2012 2:13 pm

      Nooooooooooooooo. whyyyyyyyyyyyy meeeeeeeeee

    • December 7, 2012 4:02 pm

      Wait it out. We will be there for you, and will have intimate map knowledge so as to lead you where it is safe and the hunting is good. These maps are keepers! At least as good as any BF map pack yet.

Comments are closed.

