Skip to content

Halo 4: Take The Plunge!

November 1, 2012

Not only has 343 far surpassed any expectations of what a Halo title should be, they’ve also gone and created a Halo game that is miles above any that’s come before it.   Destructoid

Halo 4 is getting rave reviews and is doing considerably better than AC3.  I find it amusing both that I had confidence this would be more entertaining than Bungie’s own work, and that indeed, that is the way it is being received.  What is this trend of creators struggling with their own creation?  Is it kind of like parents messing up their own children? Can’t see the forest for the trees?  Too close to the problem?

Penny Arcade, in their review, “Halo 4: This isn’t Bungie’s Halo anymore – it’s better”  provides some solid reasons for their praise:

The new emphasis on story and character aren’t the only updates; 343 has made major shifts in approaching the game’s cinematics and set-pieces. Naughty Dog has set a high bar for character interaction by having real, flesh and blood actors move about and interact with one another on constructed sets, as in a film. Halo 4 introduces this production technique to the Halo franchise with impressive results.

Character movements are natural and feel weighted, while realistic facial expressions add a new dimension to the emotion of a scene. The motion capture actors aren’t the characters’ voice actors, but it seems that the two have complemented each other superbly. There is a scene where a superior officer orders Chief to give up Cortana after she has an emotional outburst, and you can feel the tension in the room. There is a sense of pathos and fear to the game, especially in Cortana’s voice acting and motion capture, that we haven’t seen in past games. Halo 4 is better for it.

Gamers win!

20 Comments
  1. November 1, 2012 3:07 am

    I don’t want this in the post proper, so I am putting it here. This kind of shows me that Joseph Staten doesn’t tell stories that I want to hear. While much of the campaign level design in Halo:CE was boring to me, the story was ok, and the first two Nylund books were outstanding. However, starting with Halo 2, and the Arbiter etc. it just became a pretentious yawn fest for me.

    I am not saying that I personally will like this better, but what I am hearing is that there is more substance in H4 than in the Bungie games, and that suggests that it stands a better chance of holding my attention.

  2. Average permalink*
    November 1, 2012 3:27 am

    Ohh shit this is good sounding…
    Johann! See you next week! (when does it arrive for you?)

  3. November 1, 2012 5:27 am

    A 91 average?! A bunch of 100’s!!

    I get more excited about Halo 4 as each day of new info passes. “Forward into Dawn” is a nice “time killer”, The Halo OPs is a fresh idea. New MP modes / lobby is a “Finally!” Even Halo Waypoint is worth checking into now. Bring on the Game!

    As you know Suns, I just love the Halo Universe. The enemies! (Who doesn’t LOVE killing Grunts?!) Also, as you mentioned. the main hook for me (too) was reading the Eric Nyland books.

    I’ve already got my copy ordered, and am ready for Midnight! We maybe not midnight, but for sure I’ll pick it up after I vote on Tuesday.

    Thanks for Posting Suns

    Oh… After reading the P.A. article/recommendation (and to kill some time).. I just bought on my Ipad: Halo: Cryptum: Book One of the Forerunner Saga

    Here’s a good review. I also just finished watching the IGN review (that guy was bursting in Love with H4).

  4. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    November 1, 2012 6:33 am

    Yeah but that’s mainly SP. I don’t think I am going to touch the SP in a long time. I think the first thing I am going to do is open up forge, and then play grifball.

  5. November 1, 2012 11:04 am

    Kenai, you are most welcome, and I am excited for all the happy gamers here. And yes, the books sound good. I think you are in for a treat. Let us know what you thought.

    Average, Johann will be receiving it probably a week after launch – regular air mail from Hong Kong. Even if it came sooner, he has three departmental exams on the 10th and 11th, so he wouldn’t even be cracking the seal before then anyway. His plans not mine. Whew!

    Frenik, Griffball?! You bust me up!

    And PA has their MP review up – looks like they are liking that more, too!

    http://penny-arcade.com/report/editorial-article/halo-4-multiplayer-is-more-bang-for-your-buck

    • Average permalink*
      November 1, 2012 11:39 am

      True that is not to long!Headshot those exams Johann!
      Haven’t heard of the new book, I’ll look into it, thanks! I’ve loved the novels.

      Kenai, you know where to find me.
      As for SP, I’m likely gonna be on MP for the first few days as everyone will be on, will play SP in the off times.
      Forward unto Dawn was not to bad either, I actually though it was pretty entertaining.

    • FrenkoFrenik permalink
      November 1, 2012 2:45 pm

      yeah! for the new arena and stuff! I am not doing the midnight release thing, since I am going to Target and get the $10 in gift cards. Also I am not doing the SP to get acquainted with the controls, so yeah I would start Halo 4 with Grifball and infection, and once I get the controls, speed, etc. then go for TDM, BTB, etc.

      OT: Amazon just put Battlefield 3: Premium Edition @ $40. It’s tempting. However my time with Medal of Honor is making me think twice. Thanks to the horrid reviews which were mainly about the SP, which probably means that game will be around $20-30 in just a few months. The MP is very underrated IMO, its a lot like the Operation Metro Battles in BF3, the only thing is that they need to address and iron out the kinks in spawn camping etc.

      But I am keeping an eye MoH in the next two months, especially if the last batch of DLC for BF3 doesn’t pan out. I think it can be a good game to fall back to, after Halo and BO 2 hit their ceilings.

  6. Blankman permalink*
    November 1, 2012 12:56 pm

    (clears throat, cue Michael Corleone voice) Just when I thought I was out…

    • November 1, 2012 1:45 pm

      Come on Wing Man… You remember how much fun we had playing 4 player co-op on Halo 3. 🙂

      Jumpin' In

    • November 1, 2012 3:15 pm

      Following The Bros

  7. November 1, 2012 2:43 pm

    I’ll be late to the party as usual… I’m going to wait ’till the game is $30 to $40. Until then, I’m going to play Bailey’s copy. lol. Besides, I have too many other games I’m playing on PC and limited game time at the moment. We shall see though… If I’m blown away, I’ll just go out and buy it. Co-op is my bread and butter though and Spartan Ops looks fantastic.

  8. November 1, 2012 3:37 pm

    What’s up with all these pictures in the comments? lol

    Off-topic, but not really. Just wanted to drop this in here 😉

    Capture Card Order Enabled

    • November 1, 2012 4:42 pm

      Grymmie, I am the culprit regarding the pictures. I was killing myself laughing as I edited them in.

      And awesome on the Capture card! WOOO!!!

    • Average permalink*
      November 1, 2012 5:43 pm

      The pictures of us jumping and swimming in the koolaid?

    • November 2, 2012 12:16 am

      If you look closely you will see that I am also “jumping in”..backwards. I haven’t pre-ordered yet, but my will is no longer steel. It looks totally awesome!

    • Average permalink*
      November 2, 2012 3:45 am

      Haha Mike! I was going to comment that you had mixed up the pictures and should be the one watching Johann jump off the cliff from the dock!
      Prefer that you are jumping in backwards instead!

  9. November 2, 2012 10:53 am

    Tycho from Penny Arcade blogged:

    I told you that I would never take a job at 343 Industries, because their task was impossible; it’s all the more startling, then, that they managed to accomplish it.

    It’s the best Halo campaign of the series, I don’t think there’s really going to be much of a debate there. Because the human brain is a Goddamned, stupid anachronism and barely up the fucking task, if Halo 4 had simply been as good as the previous games it would have been a failure. It is, in actual fact, a game that will make you give a shit about Halo. I had more narrative buy-in after the first ten minutes than any other game in the series managed to generate by the end.

    When Bungie checked one of these things in, their games were “Halo” virtually by definition. That wasn’t the case for this team. They had to earn it. And by God, they did.

    EDIT: DONE – I pre-ordered that puppy. Brace yourself for a lot of dead Spartan in your MP as I follow yo’ asses around, hootin’ and hollerin’.

    • Average permalink*
      November 2, 2012 12:27 pm

      Made my day, you’ve now become:

      Dive

  10. November 2, 2012 1:48 pm

    Ahaa haa!! Let the good times keep rollin!

    Suns, I think you need to change the post title to “Halo 4 – take the plunge!”

    Btw: Games all weekend!

    • November 2, 2012 3:54 pm

      Great idea! I didn’t change the URL so there is no problem, with a title change. WOOT!!

Comments are closed.

