Skip to content

Original IP: Fuse

October 22, 2012

I posted about this game back in January, under its original title Overstrike. As I mentioned then, its creator Insomniac Games, has gone platform agnostic (something that all of Sony’s exclusive developers should do). Surprisingly, their first project is not some sequel to Resistance or Rachet and Clank, but this completely new, and rather fresh IP. Fuse is a third person, four player, class-based co-op, cover-based action shooter that looks smoother and more compelling than Mass Effect 3, faster than Dead Space 2, more intelligent than most sci-fi movies, as delightfully gory as Gears of War 3, and as teamwork rewarding as Battlefield.

The September announce trailer is above, but the Penny Arcade recommended must-see, 18 minute walkthrough video is embedded after the jump. It is smart marketing on EA’s part. New IPs are a hard sell, and this detailed walkthrough is exactly what publishers need to do to capture gamers attention and dollars.

Here is the video in its original, higher quality format (recommended over the YouTube above).

And the original Overstrike video.

13 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink
    October 22, 2012 10:59 pm

    Total meh for me.

  2. October 23, 2012 12:58 am

    I found the 18 minute walkthrough to be very interesting. Did you watch that, or just the more generic announcement trailer? It struck a chord with me this morning because I thought their sci-fi stuff was better thought-out than that of most games in this genre, and second, they seem to be taking a lot of what is good in recent games and putting it into Fuse – without bringing over the stuff I don’t like or have patience for.

    • Blankman permalink
      October 23, 2012 11:05 pm

      I watched everything including the Gametrailers episode with Geoff Keighley on Spike TV. Complete & utter meh. Remember that just because PA seems interested in it, doesn’t mean I’m trading the family cow for some “magic” beans. 😉

    • October 23, 2012 11:15 pm

      “magic beans” heh heh! LOL 😀

  3. October 23, 2012 6:38 am

    I need to check the walkthrough out. I wrote about it a few weeks back,

    http://www.saityrus.com/?p=2189

    • October 23, 2012 8:12 pm

      Ty, thanks for the heads-up on that post. I think that as you and Blankman say, it appeared so “meh” to me too (at the time) that I immediately forgot about your article.

      The 18 minute walkthrough (and PA’s endorsement) made me see the game in a different light. However, I completely understand why it is either getting “Meh” or no comment at all. There really is no special “hook” to the game. Every aspect of it is generic, though it does look polished and to have many of the best features of good teamwork based shooters.

  4. October 24, 2012 5:43 am

    I watched the walkthrough yesterday and still felt a bit “Meh…”

    Not that we wouldn’t have fun playing this together, but it depends on the price and replayability. The reason I was “meh…” was because the combat didn’t really feel innovative. All these features seem just a variation of games we already play. meaning, “point, shoot, but instead of a typical gun kill, they animations have “special effects”. They seemed to put a lot of love into this game, so I am open minded. Please keep us posted when the time comes and maybe we’ll have a fresh look / perspective.

    However, after watching some of the latest Halo 4 videos, I AM getting excited about that game. Weekly missions? I don’t fully understand that, but it sounds fun.

  5. October 24, 2012 6:59 am

    Looks like EA is trying to take a page out of the Borderlands book. I’ll keep an eye on this game, but I think it’ll just flop like Syndicate did. Not saying I wouldn’t enjoy it. I love the futuristic-style cyberpunk thing so style-wise this game is right up my alley. Looks interesting though, that’s for sure.

  6. October 24, 2012 5:16 pm

    ha ha I love you guys!

    I will be backing off this one. I have neither time nor money for more games, so I definitely don’t want to pimp a $60 game that gets even a single “Meh”. While you may never hear the end of my pimping the XBLA Monaco – for which I wouldn’t even feel bad if someone bought on my recommendation but didn’t like – there is no way I want another Stink Brink on my hands. LMAO!

    • Blankman permalink
      October 24, 2012 5:51 pm

      Unfortunately, that epic failure of Brink will forever be associated with your name, Suns. It will be passed down through the annals of The Stranded to future generations of gamers. They will shudder as that tale is told to them. I can see those young, enthusiastic gamers running for buckets & porcelain thrones due to the repulsive reactions that will overtake their bodies. 😦

    • October 25, 2012 3:25 am

      lol

    • October 24, 2012 7:50 pm

      Yes, the “stink” of Brink can’t be washed off.

  7. November 11, 2012 6:13 pm

    Just for the record, Brink is what got me here. Not that I’m a shining paragon of activity or even frequent attendance…

Comments are closed.

