Skip to content

The Time Has Come

October 4, 2012
by

So a few months ago I posted about an idea I had for The Stranded and myself. After meticulously researching through different capture setups I had my sights set on the “Hippopotamus” HD PVR 2. That is, until I stumbled onto Roxio’s newest edition of the Roxio Game Capture HD Pro. And after comparing the two side by side, I think I’m going to go with the Game Capture HD Pro. It’s easy to set up, comes with a surprisingly good video editor, you can share videos directly to Youtube, and most importantly imo, you can live stream directly to Twitch.tv through the software that is included, which I plan on doing a lot.

The PVR 2 is priced at $158 on Amazon while the Roxio is $131. The next thing I’ll have to figure out is how to record everyone’s voices as well as mine. I’ll be getting the Turtle Beach X12 so I’m hoping there’s some way that will make it possible.

Since I’ll be getting this through Amazon, I figured it would be easiest to just send Amazon Credit to my account. Again, I don’t want anybody to feel like they need to donate any money if they don’t want.

Here is a link to send Amazon Credit.
My Amazon email is jrizz3601[at]gmail[dot]com

16 Comments
  1. October 4, 2012 4:01 pm

    Looks good, Grymmie!

  2. October 5, 2012 10:45 am

    I still like mine a lot. I don’t mind component that much anymore and the fact that I can look at the videos I recorded very easily on my TV instead of on the computer means I can correct stuff on the fly, and redo videos right away.

    Eventually I will move on from recording random crap, onto more serious videos, and the good thing of not using a computer is that whenever I install an internal hard drive it will free up the USB spot to transfer files to a computer and rendering clips at the same time I am recording more clips.

    The output of videos compared to how it was using a computer a few years ago is night and day. Heck this morning I was able to stich together all the clips of me blowing up the Mountain in Minecraft last night.

  3. rEDChief55 permalink*
    October 6, 2012 11:31 am

    I’m in as well obviously

  4. October 6, 2012 4:26 pm

    I support this Kickstarter

  5. October 7, 2012 12:50 pm

    I love video capturing. Not only for making videos but because I could watch a video I made an re-adjust. Which was perfect for when doing a TNT Cannon for Minecraft.

    I did this in under 3 min., uploading from my external drive to youtube, and stitched together on the youtube video editor.

    • October 9, 2012 8:35 am

      Frenik, the Roxio still allows you to play on your TV/Monitor while it captures to your computer. Time isn’t an issue with me with recording and editing, either. And most importantly the Roxio can encode in full 1080p. It records in 720p and then upscales to 1080 so I’ll be able to get the full HD that I originally wanted.

    • October 9, 2012 9:50 am

      That’s not what I mean. I can replay back all the videos from the internal or external/thumb drive to the TV. I sometimes do this while waiting for maps to load, etc. I can also transfer files and delete files this way, so by the time I want to upload directly from the external drive to youtube I can just select all files and take it from there.

      In the Roxio If you want to watch the videos, snap pictures, all of that you have to go back to the computer and do that.

      The output thing and upscaling is not a biggie for me. I find it a bit of overkill to stretch my videos (which texts do not look that good anyways), so that it says it’s 1080p, and have bigger file sizes to upload. I upload about 20-30 videos a week now, so time is an issue because Youtube doesn’t care if I have a 16mb upload. If it wants to be slow in uploading it will be slow. So I can’t imagine uploading a 40min video that’s 1080p.

      Much less I can’t imagine uploading that amount of videos from the same computer I am using to capture. Must be a monster rig to be able to do that without frame rate loss at 1080p. Or live stream at that output.

      but still mine does not do HDMI. I hate that. I am still looking for one that does everything I can do now so comfortably with HDMI.

    • October 9, 2012 3:46 pm

      It’s not much of an inconvenience since the laptop will be right next to me. While the upscaling may not be a big deal for you, that was my biggest feature in finding a viable capture card.

      I should have included a sample video of what the upscaling looks like. Every video I’ve seen looks like direct feed from the Xbox, no blurriness or fuzzyness as I’ve seen in a few of your videos you’ve posted. Here’s two videos as an example of the upscale:

      I only plan on uploading 1-3 MAYBE even more videos a week so like I said, time isn’t an issue, and I don’t plan on uploading a 40 minute video all at once.

      It’s only possible to stream at 720p, and I’ve read what specs are required and I meet them, so I plan on doing that. And I don’t know if you knew, but the Roxio does HDMI and Composite. So much for there not being Capture Cards using HDMI, huh? lol

    • October 10, 2012 6:43 am

      It’s ok Grymm you would not understand my point until you actually start making videos and how long it takes to capture, edit, render and then upload.

      but anyways the end point is the same, being able to one day have multiple perspective of one game night. Like this:


      and no I didn’t think there were capture cards with HDMI and/or composite. You got me there.

    • October 10, 2012 11:32 am

      Ah yeah forgot to add these ones…




      and the co-op with Johann

      but yeah that’s the beauty of video capturing those who weren’t there can at least glance at some of the videos, if the want to see what went on last weekend. The process for me is so simple its not hard to keep at it for every day for every gaming session. That was my point.

    • October 10, 2012 2:11 pm

      Frenik, I’ve captured and edited videos before lol. It’s not like I’m new to this process at all.

  6. October 7, 2012 3:14 pm

    Just wanted to say thank you again to Suns, Zos and Chief who threw in a few bucks. I appreciate the help guys!

    • October 8, 2012 3:32 pm

      Grymmie, it was just a gesture. You are most welcome!

      Much love!

  7. October 11, 2012 12:05 am

    Great news everyone!!! Looks like with my new Turtle Beach X12 I WILL be able to record game audio, my voice, AND everyone else’s voice!!! WHOOOO! Can’t explain how stoked I am! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. October 24, 2012 5:50 am

    Just wanted to say thanks again to everyone that sent some money my way, everyone here is truly an awesome person! And big news, I may be able to get this capture card soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can’t wait to start streaming/capturing our BF3 sessions!

    • October 24, 2012 4:54 pm

      Can’t wait to start watching!

Comments are closed.

