Skip to content

Fresh Tomatoes: Looper, End of Watch, Pitch Perfect, and ParaNorman

September 25, 2012

For those who are looking to score points with your special other, there are some solid flicks in the theaters right now.


Looper 92% fresh.

More after the jump.


End of Watch 84% fresh.


Pitch Perfect (for the ladies especially) 83% fresh.


ParaNorman cartoon Zombies! 87% fresh.

And the bonus Lawless, which we covered here. 65% fresh. I just started the book and I cannot put it down – the only reason I am writing this now, is because I jumped online to tell you to go see it and discovered there are a whole bunch of others you should see.

17 Comments
  1. 3Suns permalink*
    September 25, 2012 11:44 pm

    Also, The Cabin In the Woods, 91% fresh,is out on DVD, so I suspect it might be available on NetFlix now. I have been wanting to see that one since I first heard about it.

    • October 1, 2012 12:00 pm

      I was also excited to watch it – and when I did – well, disappointed was just one of the feelings I had for it 😦

  2. September 26, 2012 5:31 am

    Suns, Liv and I saw Paranorman on our “daddy date”.

    I recommend it, but not highly. It was great graphics and characters, but the story was pretty weak. This is a film I would recommend people check out from the library (don’t spend money on it….)

    That said, I am looking forward to Adam Sandler’s next movie (Hotel Transylvania)

    • 3Suns permalink*
      September 26, 2012 5:16 pm

      Thanks for the info, Kenai.

      And, under the writing and direction of others, animations are often the only safe place to enjoy a favorite has-been comedian. LOL

    • Blankman permalink*
      September 27, 2012 10:58 pm

      The main problem about Hotel Transylvania is that it involves Adam Sandler. That schtick of his is sooo dated that he’s irrelevant. If he didn’t own his own production company, that dude would be living out of a cardboard refrigerator box! Can you tell that I can’t stand that mofo?

    • September 28, 2012 11:16 am

      LOL Blank and Suns. You are SO right.

      Sandler has gone the way of the “HAS been comedians before him”

      “Cartoon only zone” (Ala – Eddie Murphy, Chris Rock, Ray Ramano…..)

    • September 28, 2012 3:17 pm

      Well dude, if he keeps making money with that schtick he can’t really be “has been”. Jack and Jill was horrible even on his standards and still barely broke even. “Just go with it” made over 200 million. I don’t think he is very funny, but he fills a void in his brand of comedy. It’s like Medea but for a different crowd.

    • Herandar permalink
      September 29, 2012 9:55 am

      Heh, I was actually interested in Hotel Transylvania until I saw Kenai’s post and learned that Adam Sandler is in it.

  3. September 29, 2012 4:08 pm

    OK, I finally have time to look it up and post about it.

    Red Letter Media reviewed Jack and Jill (short version embedded below) and pointed out that Adam Sandler was basically making the movie just to make money via product placement and to provide a vehicle for some of his non-star friends to make a film debut. The review is scathing and with plenty of evidence to back up their claims. (Start at 3:53)

    It is so bad, that if Mr. Sandler were more intelligent, I would consider it an inside joke of the caliber of Andy Kaufman.

    • October 1, 2012 4:52 pm

      Great video Suns. I feel less naive too.

    • October 1, 2012 5:09 pm

      Kenai, there was a scene in that movie where Andy (played by Jim) is at a restaurant with Danny DeVito. Andy has a piece of rice stuck to his face. Danny DeVito turns away for a minute, and when he turns back, the piece of rice is stuck on the other side of Andy’s face. Andy doesn’t say a word. You don’t know if it was intentional or not. It was one of the funniest scenes I have ever seen in any movie. His genius was in never letting the joke finish. …I gotta watch that show again.

    • October 2, 2012 5:17 am

      Last night, I ended up watching a bunch of Andy youtube videos and reading his bio on wiki. I never gave him much thought before (basically because all I thought he did was “Latka”). Now I see how diverse he actually was. His Elvis stuff. His wrestling stuff. Of course “Mighty Mouse” LOL! He was definitely a comedic artist / genius. With that said, he was also a comedian that wasn’t always funny. He made people uncomfortable, and many of his “Jokes” had no punchline. I’m sure I could spend a lot more time trying to understand and appreciate him, but I am not going to do that. My conclusion is that he is like a certain kind of music. Jazz is how I would describe him. Nice in small doses. Perfect in certain occasions, but for most of us, Jazz can become annoying quite quickly

  4. September 30, 2012 12:56 pm

    43 million debut for Hotel Transilvania.

    http://news.yahoo.com/hotel-transylvania-checks-43m-debut-154646517–finance.html

  5. October 1, 2012 8:03 am

    Saw Looper last night… it was essentially like watching an incredible ice skating performance, where the skater faceplants 3/4 into the performance.

    Seriously, the last portion of the movie was THAT bad and unoriginal. The movie starts off amazing, and slowly descends from there :(.

    Cabin in the Woods was a much better flick.

    • October 1, 2012 3:40 pm

      LMAO at your analogy. Dang, it was looking like it might be a lot of fun.

      And thanks for the impressions on Cabin, Grymmie! Shoot! Nothin’ but mediocre. Even Lawless was just barely fresh.

  6. October 7, 2012 8:21 am

    Loaded up the family and saw Hotel Transylvania at the drive-In last night. It was very… kinetic. I saw at the end credits that the director was Genndy Tartakovsky (Dexter’s Lab, Samurai Jack), and then it made perfect sense. Thankfully, though it stars Adam Sandler, it is not an Adam Sandler movie. The story was focused, if a bit trite, and, since it is an animated kid’s film not made by Pixar, there is a musical number at the end (which bothers me to no end, but focus groups, whatever…)

    More importantly, my kids loved it. We invited our kids’ friends, and they declined because it had monsters in it, but it really isn’t even remotely scary. I recommend it for those with kids. It certainly held my children’s attention.

    • October 7, 2012 12:50 pm

      Thanks for the impressions, Herandar. 😀

Comments are closed.

