Skip to content

Humble Bundle 6: In Anticipation of a SteamBox

September 18, 2012

I want to first clarify that when I say “SteamBox”, I am not holding my breath for Valve to drop the hardware. It might just have to be the Poor Man’s Big Picture Edition. Regardless, Humble Bundle 6 may well be the bulging-est sack of games they have released yet. They should just drop the false humility and start thumping their chests. For just above the $5.65 average, you can score 6 top notch Indie games and 5 of their soundtracks. It is completely nuts, and in anticipation of someday owning a SteamBox, and then immediately having a great “Arcade” library to play through, this one is a no-brainer. I didn’t even ask permission (Boys, don’t tell Mom).

Individual game vids after the jump.


3 Comments
  1. September 19, 2012 1:07 pm

    I think I’ll be picking this up, but I already own Torchlight. Anyone want my code when I get it?

    • September 19, 2012 2:13 pm

      If you’re patient I’ll be doing a give-away in a month or so.

  2. September 26, 2012 9:23 am

    While an aggressively marketed and supported Steam Box may restore some heft to PC gaming in its rivalry with the consoles, it might also mean the platform ends up eating consoles’ leftovers more often. Everyone loathes shitty console ports to the PC. Who knows what platform a developer will be building for primarily, or if a Steam Box offers enough incentive to build a version of their game for it specifically (or even exclusively). It may create new incentive to deliver games to the PC platform but it does not assure they will be PC-game quality. Shitty console ports may be fine for the newcomers served by the Steam Box’s launch. If the mainstream PC gamer is dragged along, they’ll be infuriated.

Comments are closed.

