Skip to content

Taking ‘The Stranded’ to the Next Level

August 23, 2012
by

Before you continue reading this post, make sure to check out Suns’ mini-preview of the movie “Lawless” below. Tom Hardy is flawless like usual in the trailer. Can’t say I’m surprised. Hell, he may even give Jason Statham a run for his money in my book. Speaking of Tom Hardy, I recommend anyone who enjoys his work to check out a movie called “Warrior” if you haven’t. In short, it’s a great drama about a broken family and two brothers who live two completely different lives. Great acting, and Tom Hardy is just an absolute beast in that movie.

Anyway, to the point of this post.

Recently, rED and I have discovered a little game called DayZ. After a few days of watching videos/streams we would keep saying how awesome it would be to roll with a group and record our endeavors and all the crazy things that would happen. And as I little backstory, prior to us watching these videos, a few weeks ago I mentioned my interest in creating something called “Let’s Plays.” Basically, all it is, is just someone playing through a game and commenting while they play. It’s mainly for humor sake, but you can do it however you would like, as long as it’s entertaining on some level (not necessarily humorous) it would work.

So, this then led to us talking about all the crazy moments that happen when we play with our crew on our beloved Xbox. Have it be Battlefield, Gears, Mass Effect, even Dead Rising 2. I’m not sure if many of you will recall this, but during Gearheads’ youth I would record our Friday Night Fragfests and post (mostly lengthy) highlight videos. They could range anywhere from 10-20 minutes long. I originally got the idea because I have always been fascinated with movie production. Recording, editing, all of it. And after that put out a product that anyone could watch and enjoy. That is my true passion, to entertain. And lately, I’ve have that fire rekindled with my recent discovery of Let’s Plays. It inspired me to dust off the cobwebs and give it another shot. Not necessarily Let’s Plays exclusively, but even Strategy Videos, machinimas, Live Streams of our games, anything and everything really.

So, this is what I ask of everyone. And I can not stress this enough, please, PLEASE don’t think of this as something mandatory. This is strictly voluntary, and if you can’t do this or don’t feel comfortable, I completely understand. So, anyway. rED and I have been looking at Capture setups/cards to buy. I would be the one to buy it, and we have been eyeballing a few prospects that could work. We’re trying to get a card that can capture in full HD because come on, these games are frikkin’ beautiful. And with the help of Blankman he showed me an internal card that you put into your CPU that records in full 1080p. Only catch is that I only own a laptop and can not install said card into it. I have been planning on buying a new gaming PC, but that may not be for a little while, at least. We have found a hardware Capture device, but after some research it looks like it can only record at 720p. Sure, it is HD, but if I can I would like to go with the full 1080.

The other reason for this post is that the Internal Capture card Blank linked me is $200 on Amazon and the Hardware card is ~$160. However, there is another Internal card from the same company that makes the card Blank linked to me for $140. So far, it seems like that will be the one I go with. It records in full 1080p HD and is $50 less. They both have HDMI inputs, so the only extra additional purchase I would really need to makes is an HDMI splitter and I’ll be good to go right out of the box with no hassle.

So, what I ask is if anyone could pitch in to help purchase whichever Capture card we eventually decide on it would be greatly appreciated. It would essentially be a community purchase seeing as I primarily plan on using it to promote the community and our awesomeness. Recalling on some of our more intense and humorous moments in BF3 alone was validation enough to go through with this. Another thing that I’ve been planning on doing would be video reviews and things along those lines. And with a Capture setup I could do a review series or something along those lines. The possibilities are endless, pretty much. I have big plans cooking up in my noggin even now. I will link to the 3 different Capture setups so that you guys can have a gander yourself and decide on whichever one you think is best. Again, this may not be for a good while just yet since I would have to get a new PC to be able to install the card. That is if we decide on one of the Internal cards.

Thanks for your time reading this, folks. Look forward to hearing your thoughts on this.

AverMedia Game Broadcaster HD C127 (Internal Card – $130)

AverMedia Live Gamer HD C985 (Internal Card – $205)

AverMedia AverTV HD DVR C874 (External Hardware – $140)

26 Comments
  1. 3Suns permalink*
    August 23, 2012 12:43 pm

    Grymmie (Giggles), your community gaming vids were a big hit back in the day, and your time, energy, and enthusiasm have always been greatly appreciated. This is a no brainer. Of course, yes. πŸ˜€

    Hopefully Zos can provide some additional guidance for the purchase. If not, I am sure any HD capture card will due as well as the next. If Amazon gift cards work, that would be great because it is the easiest way to support the cause. Decide on what you want, and then let us know what you need. We can at least ease some of the pain, I am sure. πŸ˜‰

    • August 23, 2012 1:21 pm

      Oh my…. After doing a quick google search this is what came up. L-OH-FUCKING-L!!!

      http://www.veoh.com/watch/v868124fcMpEq5K?h1=FFF+-+7.20.07

      EDIT: Found another! And I thought these were lost forever.

      http://gamevideos.1up.com/video/id/13352

    • boxinleprechaun permalink
      August 23, 2012 8:19 pm

      Hey grymm, is it weird I still have both of those saved on my old computer? ahahah (ps. been lurking for awhile, finally figured out my password again!)

      edit: Just saw Polandstyle’s name in the video. Right in the feels, I miss him. RIP

    • August 23, 2012 8:38 pm

      No, it’s fucking awesome is what it is. Missed you, man. Nice to see your name pop up πŸ™‚

      And yea, agreed about Poland. I was laughing quite a bit seeing him mow people down with that Saw. That was his go to weapon. RIP Buddy.

    • Kenai 91 permalink
      August 23, 2012 3:27 pm

      Right on!

      I’ll throw a lil cash at this project. These are things that we’ll not only enjoy participating in making, but years later watching when we’re old and gray. Oh wait, I’m already old n gray…

  2. August 23, 2012 4:13 pm

    I’d be down to help get the ball rolling. Those old videos were AWESOME. I can’t wait for “the next game” that everyone plays together.

    PS: DayZ is unbelievable. An entire new game, and a new story every time you play.

  3. August 23, 2012 4:16 pm

    PPS: Today marks the end of the summer quarter. Wedding in 3 weeks!

    ❀

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 24, 2012 12:36 am

      rED, that looks extremely slick!

      And Numb, thanks for the input!

  4. August 23, 2012 11:34 pm

    Hey guys. I use the AVerMedia Live Gamer HD card. The quality that it records is amazing. I always record a 1080p it only supports up to 30fps although their website is misleading. I’d definitely recommended it. If you want to have a look at it here is my channel, I’ve also done a full unboxing too. http://www.youtube.com/thenumbuk

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      August 24, 2012 12:35 am

      Thanks for the heads up! The quality does look top notch and amazing. Btw you’re unboxing videos were great, the one of the Locust head was the best

    • NumbuK permalink
      August 24, 2012 12:53 am

      Thank you very much. I’ve got a lot more to come, I never thought people would be bothered seeing parts of my collection till I saw others doing unboxings.

  5. August 24, 2012 10:46 am

    I bought the Avermedia Game Capture HD. I do not want to use a computer for recording, and it seemed simple to use. I have a 1T external I don’t use, so that gives me room to record, plus it’s $140 in Newegg.

    I had done videos before an quite frankly the whole set-up of capturing through a computer and rendering, if you don’t have a top of the line set-up can be a pain in the ass. More importantly I never sat through and watched all the videos I did, I had a huge backlog and became overwhelmed by it.

    The game capture promises to be user friendly enough to be used on the tv to check out videos. So that should ease up the proccess of selecting which video to edit and upload.

    Full HD is awesome until it clusterf**ks your hard drive with massive amount of data moved, etc. Unless you have several drives to back up and render, I would stay away from it.

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      August 24, 2012 12:27 pm

      How do you like you setup? I was pondering that one as well since it doesn’t require a PC to capture…but I read various reviews about it stopping unexpectedly or lagging. How has your experience been with it?

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 24, 2012 3:39 pm

      It actually says that it records in 1080i (720p?). Aside from what rED wrote above, my only concern would be that it doesn’t use the easy HDMI, but there must be other models.

    • August 24, 2012 4:24 pm

      Doubt it. It is pretty much like a start up video capture device in their lineup for console players. IMO I don’t foresee any HDMI device for consoles, given the legal troubles of it being able to record anything.

      My expectations on it are quite low for now. All I care about is that it beats recording your tv with a camcorder, or spending too much time rendering on a computer just to see a video.

    • August 24, 2012 4:08 pm

      It’s not here yet. Waiting for delivery but will let you know how it goes. It should be here Saturday or Monday.

  6. 3Suns permalink*
    August 27, 2012 5:52 pm

    Grymmie, let us know when you have decided on a product, and what that product is.

  7. August 29, 2012 5:21 pm

    This is an example of the blah blah blah (Avermedia Game Capture HD)

  8. August 29, 2012 5:49 pm

    • August 29, 2012 5:52 pm

      this one is 720p

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 29, 2012 8:19 pm

      The 720 is very pretty. Thanks for the demo, Frenik.

  9. August 30, 2012 9:44 am

    Place holder from a video I am uploading:

    It’s on 720 actual game footage not just the menu.

    Also Mass Effect is down to $20 in GS. Adding to my sentiment games do not deserve full price purchase, even though I love it and it’s what I am playing now. 6 months after release to save $40 on a purchase, and get the advantage of it being patched and DLC, is much much better than getting it on release.

Comments are closed.

