Skip to content

Undead Labs: State of Decay

August 21, 2012

Undead Labs have finally announced the name of their game, State of Decay, and offered a glimpse of the gameplay.

I assume that the dirty camera lens frustratingly obscuring view of the world at the beginning of the video, is only used for the purpose of this video, and is not representative of the way we will see the game in action. The rest of the gameplay shown seems pretty typical zombie fare. The video doesn’t show off or explain the game’s selling features which are many of the things that are driving DayZ popularity, including the permanence of death, need for eating and rest etc..

This video seems to be another marketing mistake, a missed opportunity. Then again, I am starting to think now (post-Brink) that “marketing mistakes” aren’t actually mistakes, but indicative of the true state of the game. The good news is that we will be able to try it on XBL before we commit to it (if they don’t offer a free demo, then they deserve it if people don’t bite).

4 Comments
  1. August 21, 2012 6:49 pm

    I have this in the hopper for Thursday! Was hoping to surprise you! I thought it was PC only though. There’s a post over at Joystiq.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 21, 2012 7:36 pm

      Yes, I have been following this one for years now, and in fact, the PC version was only just recently announced. I have the RSS feed linked above and so as soon as Undead Labs posted about the video and game name, I was all over it. Woot!

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      August 21, 2012 10:31 pm

      when will you be on XBL next to discuss?

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 22, 2012 2:11 am

      How about tomorrow (Thursday for me). I was just about to join you and Johann today, and then got called away for supper. lol

      BTW, upon re-watching the video, I see more interesting things going on than I did in my first viewing.

Comments are closed.

