Skip to content

For Kenny: Sleeping Dogs

August 14, 2012

I love it that, even though I don’t always have the time or inclination (i.e., energy) to play certain games, Kenny does, and will eventually get to a game if it is good enough. As much as he doesn’t enjoy the GTA series (and neither do I), I cannot see him playing this game without repeatedly muttering “badass” while he progresses. Sleeping Dogs appears to be a monster of a game (with some polish issues), and may well provide the changes and tweaks needed to progress the sandbox genre.

More videos after the jump.

3 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink*
    August 14, 2012 9:21 pm

    I guess this is why many reviewers have called this game… er, a sleeper hit. 😉 Razor & I were just speaking about the positive reviews after school today. However, it’s GTA-type genre is a turn-off for me.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 15, 2012 2:28 am

      But you played through RDR, and that was sandbox open world gaming. For GTA, more than the open world gameplay, it was the “morality” that was a problem, right? This is different from GTA in that you are an undercover cop, not some amoral immigrant or ex-gang member. My impression was that that aspect was more limited in the criminal freedoms you could exercise.

  2. August 15, 2012 3:01 am

    yeah but for that there’s L.A. Noire. I wouldn’t call it a sleeper hit yet. See what made GTA, RDR, Max Payne and L.A. Noire stand out from the rest is the use of narrative sometimes even better than in movies.

    Now I keep reading that this one is more polished on the action side of things, but the narrative is not as great, and that’s where I think it will be it’s downfall.

    Most games that are open world, take Batman Arkham City for instance, really need that draw of the narrative to make it a payoff for finishing the game.

    and that was my biggest gripe with Skyrim, even though it had a decent plot and it seemed like a sustainable narrative, the main quest doesn’t really payoff at the end and is just like any other side mission.

    I used to be a fan of open world games, but there are so many. It’s really tiring, especially when they all go down with the stupid fetch or orb collecting syndrome. Just using trivial quest to extend game time and completion percentages.

Comments are closed.

