Skip to content

DayZ: “The First Truly ‘Next Gen’ Game Experience”

August 11, 2012

We are predominantly 360 gamers and it is only noteworthy (or cheap) PC games that get written about here. DayZ appears to be both. A free “multiplayer open world survival horror video game” mod for Arma II utilizing the Real Virtuality 3 game engine, also used by governments around the world for military training, DayZ (official site) has now surpassed one million unique gamers, and has those of our community who have played it, singing its praises. While you certainly wouldn’t know it to look at it, hearing the stories, or “watercooler” moments as they are sometimes called, has us enviously hoping for a console port announcement. Until that day comes, just know that the average “life” in this ultra-realistic, persistent zombie world, is forty nine minutes and morality isn’t just some contrived feature in the game. It is fight to survive and, shit got real.

The people at Undead Labs must be shaking their heads. Beat to launch by a mod.

21 Comments
  1. August 12, 2012 6:05 pm

    DayZ is now releasing a stand-alone product. They want to update it like Minecraft, so it’ll be interesting to see where it goes.

  2. August 14, 2012 5:57 am

    I really, really want to get this game. The problem that I have is A) Don’t know if my pc is capable of playing it well B) Don’t have a community to play with C) Don’t know how to configure a controller (don’t want to use mouse / keyboard). D) Don’t want to use my little laptop screen and don’t know how to hook my pc up to my 60″ & stereo.

    Please come to Xbox!

  3. August 14, 2012 9:08 am

    So I caved and bought Arma2 yesterday. Very first thing that happens in the game after I spawn is find 2 dead bodies stocked with an AK, Revolver, bandages, morphine and some other awesome gear. Of course that was after I died twice before that, lol.

    I do plan on recording some gameplay and making some videos if you guys would be interested in watching them.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 14, 2012 9:56 am

      Sweet!

      Of course we want to see it!

    • August 14, 2012 4:24 pm

      Ok, coolio. I streamed some footage last night for rED. Sadly, I couldn’t make it the best of quality and it’s a bit choppy because of my shit CPU.

      I cut a 5 minute clip of the footage to show what happens when you play Day Z and enter one of the bigger cities.

      http://www.twitch.tv/gigglesgrymm/b/328642005

      I may just record from the computer rather than stream so it’s a smoother video. Or, I may just have to wait until I get a new PC.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 15, 2012 6:54 am

      LMAO at your five minute adventure. That game is crazy. (Looks awesome!)

    • August 15, 2012 6:07 am

      Just watched your vids. I am seriously thinking about buying this, but only want to play if I can team up with guys like you, Joey and Zoso. Have you played together yet?

      Also, what about the questions I put in the comments above? Can I map a Xbox controller? What about voice chat? Can I just use a wired phone/headset?

    • August 16, 2012 2:08 pm

      I’ve been playing with Joey since I got the game. I’m not entirely sure if you can map an Xbox controller since I haven’t tried. It can probably be done, but you would most likely be hindered in the game because they’re so many key bindings that you use on the keyboard. As long as you have a headset that has a microphone or usb cable you can hook it up to your computer and use that.

  4. August 17, 2012 7:44 am

    LOL. Sign me Up!

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    August 17, 2012 1:19 pm

    You know, I jump into party and all I hear is “I watched 3 hours yesterday” and so on. I think this is THE most watched game that has ever been released!

    • Kenai 91 permalink
      August 17, 2012 5:57 pm

      Suns, you are SO right. I am way addicted to watching this on YouTube. I’ve found a few groups that are very entertaining. One group has 4000+ watching them stream live. That same group has 200k views on their latest YouTube episode #28, after only being uploaded 2 days.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 18, 2012 5:00 am

      Give us a linky, Kenai!

      And “we did” @ rED below! So good you got the 60GB drive!

  6. rEDChief55 permalink*
    August 17, 2012 7:08 pm

    lets play bf3?

  7. August 18, 2012 3:20 pm

    Early build of the game, but this is what can be done in DayZ. This may be the most innovative title to come out in the past 10+ years.

    • August 19, 2012 6:58 am

      And if anyone is interested, my twitch.tv channel is here. Any of my streams will be recorded there. Granted, quality is shit and it’s not the smoothest of videos, but it’s better than nothing, right?

      My latest 2.5 hour video is when I ran from the Northwest Airfield to the Northeast Airstrip (roughly 7km; map is here – just look at the top to find the field/strip). Only to die just before reaching the NE Airfield. Oh, how DayZ punishes us so. You can see I had some pretty awesome gear 😦

      Also, I’ve recently found out that Bohemia is still selling the full scale physical map for $15. You can bet your sweet candy ass that I’ll be picking that bad boy up, hanging it up and adding pins to my current location, popular loot spots, vehicle spawns and all the goodies.

    • Kenai 91 permalink
      August 21, 2012 7:15 am

      Can you transfer this to YouTube? Can’t watch on this channel with my iPad. Btw, thinking about picking up Dayz this weekend.

  8. August 22, 2012 6:40 am

    I can see what I can do Kenai. I’ll try editing it down to a few minutes. Nothing too crazy happened, just the terrible luck of running for 2 and a half hours and dying right when I reach my destination, haha.

  9. rEDChief55 permalink*
    August 22, 2012 1:08 pm

    Here’s an interview about the future of Day Z, the standalone game, and new features to come.

    http://www.pcgamer.com/2012/08/21/interview-the-standalone-future-of-dayz-and-what-it-means-for-players/

    ALSO: the author of this article has done several live streams of Day Z gameplay. He’s very knowledgeable about the game, provides great insight, has direct contact with the Day Z devs, AND makes his livestreams interesting by getting into hectic situations. Definitely recommend checking out his videos on the PC Gamer channel on Twitch.tv

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 22, 2012 3:38 pm

      rED, thanks for the heads-up on this. So, are you going to be getting a new graphics card now?

      I will try to jump online this afternoon (2pm JST).

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      August 22, 2012 5:09 pm

      Negative, I only have a laptop and the card can’t be upgraded without putting in a whole new CPU. I’ll play this one patiently and play the absolute finished product when it comes to consoles. All indications are that it will indeed be brought over to the xbox so until then I have to remain a spectator only. If something comes up where I need a new laptop then I’ll look for one with a good graphics card, but that’s far down the road.

      Hopefully the “copy cat” games will be on Xbox and can surpass the game in quality…although the Day Z creator has a really great developer mentality that will help bring Day Z to the top of these games I think

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 22, 2012 6:05 pm

      Understood, and sounds good!

Comments are closed.

