Skip to content

The Hobbit – Video log #8 (last production and comic con)

July 23, 2012

I have been thoroughly enjoying these Peter Jackson video logs.   This is #8 and the final “production log.  There will be others, but they will be post production.

Just finished watching and once again; I Love it!!   Really grateful that Peter is putting these together.  He knows that even the production of this movie is special, and is purposefully allowing US to share as much as possible in what they are experiencing.

7 Comments
  1. 3Suns permalink*
    July 24, 2012 5:13 am

    I was saying to Kenny the other day that the President of the United States of America (and all supporting staff) probably do not have a more complex and demanding job than that of which Peter (and supporting staff) has done twice, though admittedly there is no comparing the implications of the two jobs. The scale of this (and LoTR) production is just staggering. I really don’t understand how it can be organized. At one point, they show the guy running out with a cart of extension cords, and you just know that there were probably several semi-trailers full of those carts alone. It is our generation’s “pyramids”.

    Semi-OT As a rational optimist, I have to point out the fact that this “film” was shot in digital form which saved 22+ million feet of cellulose. That is a lot of oil for other purposes. Savin’ the earth one film at a time, baby!

    Finally, Kenai, you commented about the books the other day. They are slow, but they are very beautifully written. My only regret about these wonderful movies is that generations henceforth will think the same thing as you thought, and not bother to read them (or start and quit before they finish them). That is a tragedy. The books are indeed “better than the movies” even though they are apples and oranges. The first time I finished reading the LoTR trilogy, I found myself speaking as characters in the book, such was the impact.

    Finally, I have been wanting to mention that I have the Rob Inglis unabridged audio copy of LoTR and I am again going through it, for the third time in about a year. I listen to it in my commute to and from work. It is absolutely FANTASTIC. Cheers!

    (This is the Weathertop encounter.) Here is the channel with the whole book in YouTubes.

  2. July 24, 2012 10:26 am

    Suns, Since I posted the comments earlier, I have continued to read the book. Currently in Lothlorien. I must say at this point that I am enjoying “both” the movie AND the book. They both highlight certain things, both have their strengths and weaknesses. btw: I Love audio books, but only listen to them occasionally because I have only a 15 minute commute to work.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      July 24, 2012 1:54 pm

      Kenai, my trip is between 15 and 20 minutes one way. That gives me at least 30 minutes of listening.

      Good to hear you are still reading. I understand the criticism completely, but understanding it doesn’t take the sting away from it. I want young boys and girls to read those books! 😉

  3. July 24, 2012 1:51 pm

    OT: Left for Dead 2 is on Games on Demand for $30, the DLC plans are starting to sound true. Also Gears of War 3 is on GOD as well for $30. As well as Portal 2.

  4. Kenai 91 permalink
    July 31, 2012 5:06 pm

    Been on camping vacation since last Wednesday. Lot’s of juicy stuff here to catch up on!

    Saw that “the Hobbit” will now be a trilogy!!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      July 31, 2012 5:16 pm

      Welcome back!

      Yes, the Hobbit being a trilogy is great if they actually write it and direct it that way, bad if they just take what they have and stretch it into three instead of just two films.

Comments are closed.

